We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is The Place”
Review of Sokala Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sokala Villas
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This Is The Place”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Sokala Villas is so very nice. Our bungalow had a large plunge pool, and looked over the Muri Lagoon. The amenities were great--a kitchenette, large rooms, comfortable shower. The kayaks are always available, and it is surprising how often you will decide to paddle out once you have tried it. The access to the Lagoon is fabulous. One of the most pleasant aspects of Sokala Villas is Lawrence. He is always gentlemanly, never obtrusive, and so often helpful. He is knowledgeable about Rarotonga and its history. His advice on restaurants is spot-on, and he was very helpful in many other matters.

Room Tip: Bungalow 2 was great for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
130
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just spent a week at Sokala Villas and would agree with all the other positive reviews on this site. We had a lovely time, our villa faced straight onto the most gorgeous lagoon and Lawrence and Susan are a brilliant team. The villas are slightly quirky, but in an utterly charming way and you cannot help being utterly carried away by the charm of the place. Only downside, having to leave!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jungle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Seriously, if you are thinking about booking, Just do it!

There are lot of great little places to stay on the Island, but this is hosted with warmth and great discretion.

The villas are fitted out in a quirky island way. Lots of wood and slightly odd artwork. Functional and pleasant would cover it.

The pool is lovely (could be cleaned a bit more vigorously) and the beach is soooo close and basically private! 5mins walk has you in the middle of Muri Beach with coffee, beer, breakfast, lunch and dinner, all on the beach. Bliss

We stayed in Villa 4 over 5 times during a 2-3 year period and would go back again if we had not had a baby. Unfortunately, they have a strict no children policy (although when we first started staying this was a positive thing!!!!)

We've recommended friends to stay here too, and they have also had a great time.

Room Tip: Villa 4 is the most private....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiwiNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said. Sokala Villas certainly met and exceeded our expectations. The accommodation itself was ideal for what we were looking for, comfortable with all the amenities we needed. A great barbecue which we used even on the rainy days! A fantastic welcome package of fruit, cereal and a bottle of bubbly. A very informative folder with lots of useful information that we used every day.

The decks looked out over the lagoon and with some jet lag affecting our sleep patterns we were up to see the sun rise over the lagoon on quite a few days. The sun beds were comfortable. Fresh linen and towels were provided regularly and if we needed anything else then nothing was too much trouble.

We had some pretty poor weather during our time there and Lawrance was always on hand to see if he could suggest or help out in anyway in case we were bored.

All in all if we ever go back to the Cooks, and I am sure we will, then we will definitely book in at Sokala again.

Room Tip: We were in villa 5, no pool but lots of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Outstanding cabins with breath taking views, the best place I have ever visited thus far, Lawrence and Susan , best team ever. From arrivals at 11 pm in the nite to our departures at2am, absolutely wonderful service. The beaches to the islands to the fab food, it was awesome and an experience that will be remembered for life. Also flew to aukutiki islands, speechless, now I know where God rests, I have been there. It's a magical place, thank you to all. I will return , thank you Sokala Villa's, u made my late brother in law , Jeeva , the happiest .

In loving memory of Jeeva.

Room Tip: Every cabin is absolutely fantastic, stunning views from all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
various
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I think the reviews here, both good and slightly grumbly ones, have it all covered - except the one 'poor' review - there are no apartments 'across the road'.
My take is that if you have an eye and need for 5 star detailing, you may find your eye wandering to the kitchen cabinets which need varnishing..OH NO! If like us, you went for the 'no maid service' discount and comparing 5 star prices elsewhere (x2 or x3) you'll probably find yourself able, on balance to overlook the need for a bit of superficial titivation here and there.
WHY HERE? Location: just outside of the more 'resorty' areas of Muri beach - but handy, so no vehicle needed to access day entertainments or a range of restaurants.
Small complex (of only 6) water-view - large villas with great decks -- not crammed in.
Quiet (except the roar of the sea breaking on the reef)
Privacy from passing beach foot traffic (often a problem at other beachfront villas) is well provided by the hedge planted on the beach directly in front of the deck - it does mean there is no beach to speak of but you have the lovely deck with the same view, or can wade/paddle the 50 meters to a beach or across to the islands.
Discrete, attentive staff.
No kids - completely off the road unlike many villas.
ON REQUEST: - i.e. not necessarily in the room - we requested in advance and got hairdryer, beachtowels, CD player and TV - but internet - takes 3 days to arrange or it's a 400m walk to the Telecom shop to get onto their wireless hotspot - which also will work at all sorts of
other places around the island. Note: No mobile data on the island at all.
PROVIDED:- Instant coffee, tea bags, welcome fruit bowl & sparkling wine, makeup remover/small shampoo/conditioner sachets.
BRING: Ground coffee (coffee plunger provided), pre-dinner tipple. Tissues & shower gel (might have been provided if I asked)
With lots of windows - even though they are curtained and have plants as screen - a light dressing gown allow you to wander freely! Material jandals/flip flops for stone floors
Mozzie spray for going out - but I had no issues with them at the villas.
Dog treats! The islands dogs are very friendly and know exactly how to adopt a tourist to the best effect. They will manipulate you for transport, food and a good time, then leave you feeling used :)

Room Tip: Beachfront provide the full island experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vailskiier22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I loved staying at Sokala Villas. Lawrence and his staff were friendly and helpful. Lawrence was very helpful with where to go and what to see.

He went out of his way to do a mercy dash from the villas to the airport with my rings that were left behind by mistake.

Our villa was clean and tidy and very private. It was a very relaxing week. There was a bottle of wine in the fridge for us on arrival and a wonderful bowl of fruit on the table.

Thanks
Kim and Pete

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
4.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
4.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokala Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokala Villas

Property: Sokala Villas
Address: Muri Lagoon, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sokala Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Sokala Villas Hotel Muri
Sokala Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing