We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good spot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is our second stay at Pacific Rarotonga. Things change and after 4 years we certainly felt a difference. The room was great we had a premium garden room which ad a large lounge area and bedroom little kitchen unit and a wonderful large bathroom with plenty of hot water. Our room was clean and comfy only suggestion move the TV into lounge area out of bedroom. We were close to beach so a good spot room 15. Bar service and ,meals was friendly and meals good value Billie certainly stood out and made everyone feel very welcome thank you. We did feel however that the service this time round in some other areas a little lacking. The new letter we received this time round was a little repetitive, last time it updated us on any weddings taking place and when the music etc would be turned off not this time.
The beach hut was supposed to offer a number of activities but when I turned up I got a 5min blurb then that was that. But all in all a clean spot close to some nice cafes and restaurants if you want to eat out of the resort and kid/ family friendly. If you are looking for a more secluded couples escape make the effort and head to the sister resort in Aitutaki instead.

Room Tip: rm 15 close to beach, big and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

654 - 660 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

The beach restaurant at this hotel is open to the public and this is where we dropped in for lunch. The staff were friendly and welcoming and there was a wide range of dishes to choose from. The service was excellent and the view was fantastic. The dress code is whatever you happen to be wearing to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DaleBbB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were looking for a place to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Pacifc Resort ticked all the boxes for us and more than met our expectations having initially reviewed this and others on-line before deciding. We also took into consideration comments from family and friends that had been to Rarotonga before. We were looking for some quite, privacy, beach and relaxtion without the hussle bussle of sme of the busy mainstream hotels.
We found staff and service at Pacific great. Room was excellent and well serviced. We were given the impression that 'nothing was a problem' and always with a smile and greeting.
The second level beach front room is the best choice (for us) with great view and privacy.
Breakfast buffet was fine and we found that most restaurants were of similar price for meals. yes they are a little more than perhaps NZ or Aus, but not unexpected due to cost of bringing in food from overseas. If you are happy with local produce its even better. We plannaed on spending abou $100(NZ)/2 adult each night and this came very close with entree man and a drink or two.
Take the chance to Hire a scooter and trip around the Island. Its great fun and yu can come and go at your lesiure. The tow buses that run on the hour each way will cost $5 one way or $8 return and there is only one stop rather than a segment cost, a scooter cost $50 for three days.
pacific. The Resort is onoy abot 15-20mins drive/scooter to town and is one of teh closer resorts to town. The Resort does not offer the romantic sun-set but does have great swimming for adults and children in the idealic lagoon, awesome snorkelling around Taakoka Island in waste-deep water and plenty to do....or nothing if your wish is too just chill out and relax.
All in all we will be back here.

Room Tip: Beach-font second level for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed here two years ago and again in October 2013 - I have to say that the first visit was much more impressive than the second.
We felt like the resort was just letting those little things that really make a big difference to guests slip and it is becoming more of your average family resort rather than something really special like it was two years ago and like it's sister resort in Aitutaki.

For example - most flights out of Rarotonga leave between 5pm and midnight and the hotel used to allow for automatic late check-out so guests could shower/nap prior to their airport pick-up. This visit we had to pay $250 and were told we could only stay until 6pm, despite our flight leaving at 1am and knowing that no one would be checking into that room, nor would it be cleaned, until the following day.

Also, despite booking nearly nine months ahead of our arrival, our two parties didn't get rooms anywhere near each other - in fact, you could say they were at opposite ends of the resort. Despite expressing our dissatisfaction with this and also with the quality of one room we were told nothing could be done unless we were wiling to take a room with no view at the back of the resort with no reduction in the tariff. The bathrooms in some of the beachfront rooms are well in need of a re-vamp and our shower/mirror had mould growing in the grout,etc. whereas the other party, who paid the same tariff, had a beautiful large open planned modern bathroom in a room that fronted directly onto the sand.

That said, it is the most beautiful location on Rarotonga - the beach is literally like a giant swimming pool, where the water is crystal clear and clean and the sand is soft and white. The staff were extremely friendly at all times, even when delivering the bad news about the late check out! In particular, Billie in the restaurant was so happy an efficient waitress (so much so that she waded out into the water to show people the happy hour menu!)

The food at the resort is amazing - we worked our way through the menu and we were not disappointed once. Happy hour was very nice, too!

This place would be perfect for families - parents can sit on the beach with a cold drink and kids can play in the water right at their feet. If you are looking for a romantic getaway for two then I wouldn't recommend it as much as I would have if you asked me two years ago.

If I go back to Rarotonga I think I will stay at their sister resort, Te Manava, owned by the same hotel chain, where the 'luxury' that we became accustomed to in Pacific Resort Aitutaki might be matched.

Room Tip: Beachfront suite 13 and 14 are the best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lesles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our initial experience with the Pacific Resort was less than stellar. However, we explained to manager Annie that our family of six was housed in beachfront units that were not together and that it was not what we had reserved six months prior. She truly made a grand effort to please us and make it right. Make it right she did!! This is a wonderful family resort with many many things to do. We would definitely go there again. The luau was fantastic [it was my 70th Birthday celebration.]

Room Tip: We would recommend the beachfront suites or one of the individual homes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tahotart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have just had a week in the Cook Islands. Three nights Pacific Raro / 2 nights Pacific Aitutaki / 2 nights Pacific Raro. First stay was in a garden unit which was good but lacked any wow factor. Rooms were clean but needed updating and we were in the room at the back of the resort backing onto the road. Second stay here in a beachfront room was fantastic. Muri beach is the best spot on the island, the lagoon amazing for swimming and all water sports. We just loved the beach view and being where it all happened. Staff are great and made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: go the beachront rooms you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Carly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A truly amazing and beautiful place to stay. Staff are so friendly and helpful.
I stayed in a beachfront room, which was totally amazing. Room was very clean and tidy and of high standard.
I loved being right on the Lagoon, If I go back to Raro this would definitely be where I stay again.
Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.8 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
5.5 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#3 Spa Hotel in Muri
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
Price Range: £219 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique … Pacific Resort Rarotonga, superbly situated on 5.5 acres of manicured beachfront, our 4-star full service authentic boutique resort, offering an intimate collection of just 64 rooms, suites and villas. Each room is tastefully decorated in a contemporary Polynesian style overlooking either the flourishing tropical gardens or the gorgeous white sands of Muri Beach and lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing