We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Mum , Dad and two daughters staying for a seven day holiday from New Zealand
We found this hotel to be well presented, clean and tidy; a well kept and cared for hotel
The staff really made a difference; the staff at the beach hut were maybe the most helpful and most seen. Good choice from management to have personable and helpful staff out and about
Other staff were always out working in the gardens; always helpful and friendly
The use of daily media - a hotel newspaper - was delivered every evening and this gave various topics including a list of "in house" events for the next day ; there were lessons from the gardener at 10am , lessons on coconut gathering at 1pm then volleyball at 2pm , and so it went on; great fun for the whole family

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

The resort was very nice, and the staff could not have been more friendly, especially Billie in the Barefoot Bar & Restaurant. The room (premium garden bungalow) was very nice. The grounds were very attractive. The pool was often rather taken over by families with small kids, but the lagoon never felt crowded, and was spectacular. The food was rather expensive, though, and the menu rather limited. I think they should add more to the menu, and have regular daily specials, not just a special on what fish is in the Pacific Sizzler plate, fish and chips, fish burger or the game fish. There were, however, other places within walking distance that you could go to eat. Drinks were also very expensive - $NZ10 for a beer or glass of wine, $NZ18 for a cocktail and $NZ10 for a mocktail. Breakfasts were disappointing. The standard breakfast, included with our accommodation, provided only a choice of a couple of breakfast cereals, toast, fruit (limited selection) and slices of cheese, tomato or something that seemed to be Spam. Cooked breakfasts were available at additional cost, but at about $NZ18 each, they were expensive. Despite the disappointments of the food, I would still highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyalogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have just returned from Pacific Resort. First of all I was a little disappointed, as we chose basic cooking facilities over child-free when looking for a place and a microwave was listed in the amenities in the room we were looking at, but it didn't have one. The manager later offered to have one put in the room and I am sure if I had advised them earlier it would have happened sooner. The only other thing to complain about was that the kayak tour around the islands didn't take place and we were told that was because they were short staffed. We went on our own, which was not a problem. Anyway everything else was fantastic. The setting was absolutely lovely, with beautiful gardens and right on the beach. The room was a decent size, with a nice sitting area and a small decked area at the back. When the safe wouldn't work properly due to a flat battery someone came to fix it within about 5 minutes. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. The room was kept spotlessly clean. The food was also very good. We also had a great snorkelling cruise, which I had never done before. We would certainly go back and would recommend it to anyone. The only other suggestion is that darker curtains would have been good as we got woken up early by the beautiful sunlight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colleen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed at Pacific Resort in Oct which was fantastic, lovely tropical setting and brilliant staff. We had a standard room (open plan king size bed, small kitchenette, a couple large sitting chairs, tv, separate shower/toilet, outlook to tropical garden, small private outdoor area with two chairs and table) which was clean and tidy and attended to daily.
Staff were warm and happy to assist with any questions we had. We ate the tropical breakfast every morning which was fresh & plentiful. Also had numerous cocktails at happy hour with the friendly staff. One night also had meal at the resort which was as equally as good as anything you can find in restaurants of the same level in Christchurch, service was excellent too.
Holiday was a very relaxing one. Pleased we choose Pacific Resort after checking a few others out around the island, Pacific Resort certainly had that tropical island feel & it was just perfect especially as it was our first visit to a Pacific Is, already planning a return visit with the family.
Also very close to cafe's that made the best coffee, about 5 minute walk up the road to LBV & Delicious. Resort is also close to La Casita (Mexican) & The Rickshaw (Asian style street cafe) both had excellent food. Also highly recommend going to the Markets in town on the Saturday morning, excellent local fare. Also ate at Cafe Salsa in town, was very good.
Another good thing about Pacific Resort is there is an Avis rental desk right at reception so really easy to hire scooters or vehicle, you can get a temporary Rarotonga licence for $2, which gives you 24 hours to go and get your licence at police station, so you are instantly mobile. We recommend getting some wheels if you want to explore the island. The bus is fine but sometimes (well most times) its not on time. Bus is $8 return or $5 one way per person. You can hire a scooter for 3 days for $50.
Muri beach lagoon is also the best on the island after checking out different areas we were really pleased we got it right first time, was windy when we stayed & the resort has complimentary kayaks & snorkelling gear, you can just paddle (or walk) across the lagoon to the island where it is sheltered from the wind and have an amazing day sun bathing, relaxing or snorkelling.
Thumbs up, just do it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milnef1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Pacific Resort Rarotonga in October 2013 and absolutely loved it. The staff were amazing, facilities brilliant, food and beverages sensational and our lagoon view villa was perfect for our family of five! We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone with or without kids...although if you do have kids, it is fantastic as they are well catered for and the kids club staff are brilliant with them. Our room was huge with plenty of room for the whole family - a little dated but still stunning. The main bedroom upstairs has a beautiful view of the lagoon from the bed which was just amazing to wake up to each morning.

Room Tip: Our friends had a garden view villa which was more modern than our lagoon view but ours was definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqii P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is our second stay at Pacific Rarotonga. Things change and after 4 years we certainly felt a difference. The room was great we had a premium garden room which ad a large lounge area and bedroom little kitchen unit and a wonderful large bathroom with plenty of hot water. Our room was clean and comfy only suggestion move the TV into lounge area out of bedroom. We were close to beach so a good spot room 15. Bar service and ,meals was friendly and meals good value Billie certainly stood out and made everyone feel very welcome thank you. We did feel however that the service this time round in some other areas a little lacking. The new letter we received this time round was a little repetitive, last time it updated us on any weddings taking place and when the music etc would be turned off not this time.
The beach hut was supposed to offer a number of activities but when I turned up I got a 5min blurb then that was that. But all in all a clean spot close to some nice cafes and restaurants if you want to eat out of the resort and kid/ family friendly. If you are looking for a more secluded couples escape make the effort and head to the sister resort in Aitutaki instead.

Room Tip: rm 15 close to beach, big and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The beach restaurant at this hotel is open to the public and this is where we dropped in for lunch. The staff were friendly and welcoming and there was a wide range of dishes to choose from. The service was excellent and the view was fantastic. The dress code is whatever you happen to be wearing to the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DaleBbB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
4 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Muri
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range: £212 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique … Pacific Resort Rarotonga, superbly situated on 5.5 acres of manicured beachfront, our 4-star full service authentic boutique resort, offering an intimate collection of just 64 rooms, suites and villas. Each room is tastefully decorated in a contemporary Polynesian style overlooking either the flourishing tropical gardens or the gorgeous white sands of Muri Beach and lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing