We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place And People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Place And People”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at the sister resort Te Manava and came to Pacific for activities, food and drinks. The people were great and very helpful with everything from shuttles through special requests.We took a garden tour with Blair and found him to be a great guy who knows his stuff when it comes to green gardening. The gardens in both resorts are kept immaculate. We took a snorkeling trip on the Moana Roa with Captain Awesome/Amazing whichever or both. Great trip with an excellent guy and we saw lots of interesting sea life. The coconut show was good considering the young guys were thrown in the deep end and we had a real laugh. Then there was the food and drinks which were both excellent. They made us feel like family and nothing was to much to request. Thanks to Billie & Komera we'll miss your smiles and laughter. On our anniversary I asked the team to arrange a secret special dinner for my wife and I which they did with an amazing setup on the beach in our own cabana with fairy lights and our own waitress. They also arranged a Hawaiian serenade that was a nice surprise for both of us. Again a special thanks to Komera our waitress she was awesome. Finally congratulations to Greg Stanaway for running such great resorts. We will return!!!!

Room Tip: This is the place to come if you want to keep yourself or kids occupied with lots to do and all equi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    313
    77
    34
    24
See reviews for
435
447
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Pacific Resort. The first time we stayed our children were small and now returning with them as teenagers we still had a great time here and loved the facilities. It is in a great location being right on the picturesque turquoise blue Muri lagoon and the facilities are great from free hireage of kayaks snorkel goggles and flippers for swimming in the lagoon. Whenever we needed clean towels etc no sooner had I hung up the phone a friendly face would appear at the door with our request. Room service was great and so handy having restaurant and bar in the resort. The rooms and grounds are very clean and immaculate and staff very friendly, would highly recommend Pacific Resort to families and couples.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonja A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our first family holiday in resort style accommodation instead of moving and backpacking so we were not sure how we would go. However have nothing but praise and superlatives for our 8 day stay. Room was absolutely marvelous, plenty of room, clean, tidy practical and functional. Restaurant and seaside bar (sandals and Barefoot) were great and have the best staff we have ever dealt with. Great menu and loved the fresh seafood. All the staff were great, friendly and very helpful. Location on Muri beach was excellent. Our 12 year old loved the opportunity to try kayaking, snorkeling, stand up paddling, windsurfing and exploring. We also got in some diving and exploring of the island. Highly recommended and we will do it again sometime. Swimming pool nearly outside our room was a bonus. Summary: Loved the place, the food, the people, everything. They also have late checkout (handy when you flight homer leave at 1.30am.) and they also have transport to and from airport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My family and i have just spent 10 days at this resort. I can not say enough about how fantastic our holiday here was. Perfect stress free white sandy beach for the children. awesome being able to wade over to another island with the kids. Eat your dinner with your feet in the sand. This place felt like an adult resort but had a great family atmosphere. The Beach Hut crew were super cool with the kids for kids club. All of the staff were so friendly esp our favourite waitress Billie. She was superb and always catered to all we needed as a family. Make sure you catch up with her when you go. The rooms were great and had everything we needed. Very sad to leave as it was the best stressful free family holiday i have ever had with the kids aged 6 and 8. Thank you so very much Pacific Resort. You are our new destination and we will be back!

Room Tip: We had the Garden Suite. A balcony to use for your drinks after the kids go to bed! Good size tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank huminbird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Pacific Resort

Hotel is clean, tidy and most of the staff are welcoming and friendly. We got off to a rocky start with some of the service (asked to be moved away from a table of loud and noisy family of 10... Only to be told that all the other empty tables (5+) away from the group were booked...we managed to find a table in a different area - we ate our dinner and had a few drinks all the while no one occupied those empty tables... anyway that was a minor issue and didn't ruin our night.

The beach hut crew are very friendly and only too happy to help give advice, we loved paddle boarding everyday - only disappointment is that they charge $10NZD per hour per board... Got a bit expensive over 5 days. The kayaking was rather difficult as they are basic with no back support straps... However they are free to use.

Being the only 4 star property on muri beach that is child friendly means the resort is taken over by loud children (not the resorts fault, but worth noting if you were after a relaxing holiday).

Tini (not sure if that's the spelling of her name) was extremely helpful when making bookings through reception.

Billie providing endless entertainment in the restaurant and bar - such a good vibe and personality to have.

Tip: don't bother hiring scooter from Avis, Anna who was the service agent was the most rudest I've ever come across - while telling us that you can only hire scooters from her if we had a motorbike licence was an absolute joke. We discovered that the keys to the scooters were locked in the duty managers office who wasn't starting for another hour! We ended up hiring from the place next door for cheaper.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Col E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Hands down, Muri beach is the best on Rarotonga. We stayed here on a family vacation besore heading off to Aitutaki. Food was great. Only downside is that the rooms are now starting to show their age....

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famishedtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Beautifully kept garden setting of resort. Swimming, snorkelling kayaks at your fingertips. Staff lovely esp. Beach Hut and reception. Daily cleaning if rooms to high standard . Restaurant food delicious but let down by slow and unresponsive service.Overall, a great resort in excellent location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank booboo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
5.5 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Property: Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#3 Spa Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique … Pacific Resort Rarotonga, superbly situated on 5.5 acres of manicured beachfront, our 4-star full service authentic boutique resort, offering an intimate collection of just 64 rooms, suites and villas. Each room is tastefully decorated in a contemporary Polynesian style overlooking either the flourishing tropical gardens or the gorgeous white sands of Muri Beach and lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing