We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family holiday”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We went for Easter with our 9 year old son. When we got home we asked him what the best part of the holiday was and he answered "the Kids Club at Pacific Resort"! It was great, and the people running the hotel were happy and friendly. Great time, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alec A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    313
    77
    34
    24
See reviews for
435
447
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This was our first trip to Rarotonga, and we were recommended to stay at the Pacific Resort. We were certainly pleased we followed this advice. The beach was beautiful, the staff were really nice and extremely helpful if we needed anything. Trying to think of a negative to be fair, but I cant think of a single one!!! Husband booked a fishing Charter through the front desk, with Captain Tama and caught a huge yellow fin Tuna.

We hired a car for the first 3 days which was great (they are available at the Resort itself). This allowed us to have a good look around.

Highly recommend - and WE'LL BE BACK!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimFaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Me and my partner have just came back from Rarotonga and went to the Pacific Resort Restaurant in Muri for dinner on our first evening. Firstly just to clarify, We were not staying at the resort itself but at another property further up the Lagoon however the beautiful setting and allure of the restaurant piqued our interest so ventured there for what we hoped would have been a beautiful evening.

The restaurant when we arrived was only a quarter full so we had no problem getting a table and our Matre D: "Paul" was very attentive to begin with, We were seated promptly and informed of the specials and ordered our drinks - No worries.

I ordered the fish, and my partner ordered the steak; Medium. Both dishes arrived however the steak was cold and despite this, it was well done and un-edible as the steak was supposed to be cooked to medium!. Not a major deal as she called the waitress over and they took the dish away.

The most disappointing factor that 15 minutes later she still had not received her dish so I signalled Paul over to investigate, A further 10 minutes later and her plate arrived just in time for me to sit there and watch her eat it with a full stomach. To his credit Paul did offer his apologises but no compensation was offered by means of discount or free drink and as my partner who works in a restaurant commented herself that where she works: "They would never dream of not offering anything to apologise for the inconvenience of firstly an incorrect order and secondly a total 40 minute wait for a burnt steak".

In addition for people travelling in the Cook Islands will find out, food and drink is expensive (Pacific Resort Restaurant charges for tap water!!) so when you chose a high quality and expensive restaurant such as the Pacific Resort Beach restaurant you do expect a certain quality of food and service and we were both left wanting by this experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steveedevonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Great venue, good food and amenities however the staff were a disappointment, not bad service but not amazing either.
Definitely the resort to go to on the island with the best swimming and great views.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah4Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We appreciated the warmth of the staff, proximity to lagoon and amenities. The landscaping around the resort is sensory experience - multiple hues of ginger, frangipani, bird of paradise & hibiscus provide an elegant backdrop & privacy screen; when not soaking up the white sand and turquoise waters out the front of the barefoot bar. Wherever we chose to plonk down, a staff member would pop up inquiring if we would like anything- in a most gracious manner. I like privacy & it was never intrusive. Thanks Greg, Billie, & Mona for an unforgettable anniversary & facilitating a fantastic visit with our family!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabula Rasa X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife, 1 year old son and I took a 1 week vacation to the Cook Islands and loved every moment. This place is very unique and worth the long flight form the US. It goes without saying that it is beautiful here but the people and culture are what made it special.

We stayed at the Pacific Resort Rarotonga for 6 days, we highly recommend staying here. We stayed in a premium Garden Suite near the pool, but still just a few hundred yards form the beach - the room was perfect, it had a comfortable bed, a private front and back patio, a large bathroom and a sitting area, flat screen TV. The size of the room was great and it was very updated.

The property is amazing, the bar, restaurant, and pool are all intertwined in a tropical garden that is all bordered by what we thought was the best beach on the island. The staff was especially helpful and friendly. Use of sea kayaks, and snorkel gear is free (which is great). The Pacific Resort Rarotonga exceeded all of our expectations.

The market down the road (walking distance) on Wednesday and Thursday nights was one of our favorite things. In the evening they had local food vendors and live music the food here was the best we had on the trip (and very affordable). Try the seafood chowder here, you will not regret it.

We rented a car from the hotel but realized that we would have been ok with just a half day rental. There is more than enough within walking distance of the hotel. Definitely go to the market downtown on Saturday morning (take the bus or a car it is about 10 miles from the hotel). Go to Johhny G's ice cream shop, the Mooring Fish Cafe for lunch, and if you want to Scuba dive or do a snorkel trip go see Steve at Pacific Divers across the street form the ice cream shop - all very close and walkable form the hotel.

Room Tip: Both the Premium Garden Suites and the Premium Family Rooms are gorgeous. Quiet, spacious, and updat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShawnFromPHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We didn't stay here but we did have dinner and it was amazing.
The service was incredible and the food was to die for.
There was no rush to get us out and the young lady on the guitar was really good.
Big thanks to the young Australian waitress you made our time here wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welshy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
5.5 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Property: Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#3 Spa Hotel in Muri
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique … Pacific Resort Rarotonga, superbly situated on 5.5 acres of manicured beachfront, our 4-star full service authentic boutique resort, offering an intimate collection of just 64 rooms, suites and villas. Each room is tastefully decorated in a contemporary Polynesian style overlooking either the flourishing tropical gardens or the gorgeous white sands of Muri Beach and lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing