We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous resort right on Muri Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Pukekohe, New Zealand
1 review
“Gorgeous resort right on Muri Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This resort is a fantastic choice, absolute beachfront, suited to couples and families. Great range of rooms to choose from, Premium Garden rooms are very spacious with plenty of room, through to the beachfront villas for families which have a small kitchen and also very spacious. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Food choice was great and it was lovely to sit in sandals restaurant with the sand between your toes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Would definitely recommend this resort for your next Rarotonga holiday.

Room Tip: The beachfront villas are perfect for families and couples, bottom floor perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 851Lisa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    302
    76
    34
    24
See reviews for
416
433
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We talked to one of the locals, born and spent their whole life there. She said,"if you haven't been to Muri you haven't been to Rarotonga. This is a beautiful destination and for our money the best part of the island.
The Pacific Resort is a great spot so close to the beach with great food and a great staff. We spent two weeks there in November and had a wonderful relaxing time. We would return in a heart beat.

Room Tip: We chose one of the separate units which made it more private, quiet and away from the pool area but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortyandsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at Pacific Resort for 9 days at the end of May 2014. We stayed in villa 500 which was very modern & lovely with 2 double bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen & lounge. All fully air-conditioned. The resort was fabulous, the staff were all very friendly & helpful and the activities available were great. We enjoyed kayaking & snorkelling in the lagoon, laying in the bean chairs and loungers along the beach & by the pool, the barefoot bar cocktails were wonderful and the restaurant at the resort was beautiful too. We hired scooters to get around which our teenage children loved but there is a bus that goes past the gate every half hour or so. We all felt very safe every where on the island. One of the highlights was Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruise in the glass bottom boat. Those guys are hilarious, a total MUST do in Rarotonga, also the Te Vara Nui cultural evening a few doors down from Pacific Resort was absolutely fabulous. Would definatel stay again at Pacific Resort

Room Tip: The family villa was quiet & private, and beautifully surrounded with shrubery & fragrant tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerrily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our family of 3 (2 adults and our 6-year old son) had a wonderful 10 days staying at the beautiful Pacific resort in stunning Muri beach. The resort itself is lovely and set in tropical gardens, and Muri lagoon is paradise. The sandals barefoot bar is perfect for pre dinner cocktails - it is wonderful to sit with your feet in the sand, a cocktail in your hand and the lovely view of the lagoon islands in front of you.

We stayed part of the time in a premium family room which was modern and very comfortable with lots of space and a small kitchenette. It was by the pool which was great for pool access and privacy but was a bit noisy because it was close to the road. We then moved to Villa 300 which was wonderful and really made our trip! The villa has a full kitchen and lounge, and large bedroom downstairs, and then a bedroom with high ceilings and ensuite upstairs, and a great sitting/bbq area outside. I think it would also be great to stay in the suites on the beach, but we thought the villa was fantastic - very quiet and private and set amongst the lovely gardens.

The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and kind. We were really impressed with how nice everyone was, and my son was a great fan of the guys at the beach hut and kids club.

We made a lot of use of the complimentary kayaks and snorkelling gear, and even tried stand up paddle boarding. We also went out on the glass bottom boat for a snorkelling trip to the Fruits of Rarotonga which has a lot more fish than in the lagoon close to the resort and the islands.

We were happy with the continental breakfast buffet, and if you are after good coffee, you can order that for extra (plunger coffee is free). We ate one night at the sandals restaurant and found the food excellent. There are lots of good alternative eating options also within walking distance of the Pacific. The best coffee is at LBV cafe. The night markets are also great (and cheap) for dinner, and a great chance to try the local food. Fresh fish is everywhere, and the ika mata is fabulous.

Our son loved the kids club - especially kayaking over to the motu, crab races and sand castle competitions. One day when the weather wasn't so good, the guys at the kids club taught the kids Cook Island Maori and dancing and the kids put on a lovely show for us.

We also did the cross island walk - they mean it when they say it is a strenuous walk and not suitable for kids, but it was great and a good break from the beach. Apparently the view from the top is amazing. Unfortunately the day we went, it was covered in cloud. Oh well - we will just have to be back to do it again.

One thing to be aware of if you don't like dogs: they wander around free in Rarotonga, including on the beach (and even try to get into your kayak!). All the dogs we came across were very friendly and placid, but it could be a bit off-putting if you are afraid of dogs.

I would definitely stay at the Pacific Resort again. Thanks to everyone there who made our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are quieter. The gardens villas are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodsie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

my wife and i spent a week here june 2014. we stayed in one of the premium beach front rooms which was perfect. the facilities and staff were excellent .raro is an island that is the way a tropical island is meant to be, relaxed , friendly and enchanting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Need somewhere to work and play in Rarotonga. Look no further.
AND if you come to the Cook Islands to do nothing, there is hardly anywhere better. Just check-in and stay. Everything is on tap or really close by.
I was contracted to provide training to some trades on the Island and decided to encourage my wife along for a mixed business and pleasure trip.
Pacific Resort has it all. Our beachfront suite looked over the lagoon and nearby motu to the reef and we woke to magnificent sunrises and sipped cocktails in peace as the moon rose.
The service is great all day even in the water or on a sunlounger on the beach, from flat whites, to local Kiva beer and well made cocktails. And the Ika Mata at lunch, one of the best.
Good facilities for small groups for training and meetings, and only a few minutes on the anti-clockwise bus to town if you feel the need, BUT why bother.
The only let down is the snorkeling in the immediate location in the lagoon. But if you walk/swim/kayak to the motus, you will find reasonable spots on the outer side, and just a few minutes on the clock-wise bus a great spot awaits.
Ten years since our first stay here. Wish we hadn't tried the others now. We know what we missed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Pacific Resort Rarotonga offers an excellent place to stay in the Muri Beach/Lagoon area. The staff are wonderful! The accommodations are very nice. Suite 100 is fantastic. We will definitely stay here again upon our next visit to the Cook Islands.

Room Tip: Suite 100 is excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.4 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
5.5 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
7.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Resort Rarotonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Resort Rarotonga

Property: Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Address: Muri Beach, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#3 Spa Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pacific Resort Rarotonga 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authentic Boutique….Rarotonga’s leading full-service authentic boutique resort is nestled discreetly in one of the world’s most spellbinding spots. Stretching one kilometre along the south-eastern coast of Rarotonga, Muri beach is laden with glorious white sand, fringed by palm trees and lapped by the gentle waters of a shallow, safe lagoon. This boutique resort offers a perfect blend of modern comforts and traditional island hospitality. A place where simple, lazy days meet luxurious evenings. And where the friendly, gracious staff meet your every request. Dining at the resort is a fine experience. Be tempted by succulent fresh seafood, Pacific and international dishes, or be summoned by beating drums to an authentic Cook Islands feast.No matter how you choose to fill your days and nights at this breathtakingly beautiful place that is Pacific Resort Rarotonga, one thing is certain. You’ll leave feeling rested, restored and renewed. And above all, determined to return. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Resort Rarotonga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Hotel Muri
Pacific Hotel Rarotonga
Pacific Hotel Muri
Raratonga
Pacific Resort Rarotonga Muri, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing