We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, secure and in a great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vara's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vara's
Ranked #15 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean, secure and in a great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

We stayed in both a double room and a dorm here recently, after moving from Rarotonga Backpackers. Vara's was everything RB was not - clean, tidy and safe.

Both rooms in which we stayed were absolutely spotless, as were the kitchens, showers and toilets. Staff at reception were really helpful and there's a safe in which they'll store your valuables free of charge. There's also the small matter of the location - you're right on Muri Beach, the best on the island. Some of the best snorkeling is only a few minutes walk down the beach at Fruits of Rarotonga too.

For the money, I reckon this place is hard to beat on the Cook Islands.

  • Liked — Clean. Great Location. Good staff. Safe for valuables.
  • Disliked — Not much.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tom020681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    64
    15
    14
    6
See reviews for
14
54
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay of Islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2008

We have just returned from 11 nights at Vara's and had a great stay in the most beautiful location with amazing sunrise views and motu (islands) that you can walk, swim or kayak to in a few minutes. Vara's is a very relaxed place with a variety of accommodation to suit every budget (my partner said if they were any more relaxed they would grind to a halt). We were met at the airport on arrival at 1.00am and taken to Vara's by the lovely Lily with a running commentary on the way. We had chosen a Beach Studio which meant we had our own bathroom & kitchen facilities. The beach studios are relatively private and well appointed for the price of $120 per night. The only negative comments we would make are we had to ask repeatedly for clean towels and for the bathroom to be cleaned a couple of times but it was only a matter of asking & it was done. The advertised "Laundry" was tub only for use by guests. Everything else was sent away for laundering so we found the laundry along the road about 1km towards town & took it there ourselves, cheaper. There are great restaurants & the best bistro with great cheap steaks $11 & kebabs $8 nearby. The bus goes past twice an hour. Motor scooters for hire on site are really cheap. All in all a great stay in a great place. Staff were all so friendly & helpful.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank BayofIslandsPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
telford Shropshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

Paradise!!! nice beach great lagoon but you need your own evening entertainment.

Not much to do at night really, some nights every1 goes into town, keep ya ears open. A portable DVD player would be good as they do not have any TV or anything. Pack of cards, books, magazines, board games, bug spray etc…these are a must. As once the sun is gone theres nowt to do what so ever.

BIG TIP – sun doesn’t last long on varas beach and its windy…..get walk across the lagoon to other side of island… water doesn’t go over your head so balance belongings on your head or just grab a canoe to get yourself over there. (you wont regret it)
I don’t recommend the hills unless your with a loved one or family.
Singles stay down on the beach!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank magtot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

We liked it but can see why the other reviewers mightn't if they are single backpackers. It's not really what I would describe as a backpacker place and is a bit more upmarket. (The grounds are much larger than Rarotonga backpackers so you have a little more in the way of privacy).

The rooms were quite nice. We had no view but it was clean and basic. Basic kitchen stuff allowed us to cook ourselves and there are a few cafes and restuarants within 10-20 mins walk.

Nice pool on the beach and Murri Beach is the best beach on the island. Excellent snorkelling not far out.

  • Liked — Close to great beach and private
  • Disliked — No view (but you get what you pay for!)
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank David-Sydney_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2007

myself and my partner stayed here for 10 nights. we stopped in a beach house which was 10 secs walk from muri lagoon (though we didnt manage to get a sea view). we originally wanted a beach hut but as they were fuly booked we got $20 oer night knocked off the original price!. we wouldnt recommend the hillside accom as its quite a trek up the hill and very dark at night if you have no torch!.
our studio was lovely, a nice clean kitchen area with gas cooker and fridge. the bed was huge and very comfy. plenty of wardrobe space. the bathroom was just a loo, shower (best shower i have had in backpackers, really powerful and you get constant hot water in the studio whereas in the dorms ad huts they are solar powered heaters) and a lttle sink but its all you need!
the cleaner came everyday with fresh linen and towels apart from sundays which i think is good.
we had a balcony with lovely mountain views and palm trees and a place to sit and relax outside.
the communal area is nice but very quiet, i didnt find this backpackers very lively, and if it rains there is only a few books to read and no tv.
the office people are very helpful but a bit ditzy, and the office is only open for a few hrs a day, you gotta time it right!
the decking has sunloungers over looking the lagoon and there is a little hut hiring out snorkel equipment next door though you can find other cheaper options along the beach front nearby.
the best place definately for location, peace, and relaxation. would definately return here. a prime location.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, value for money
  • Disliked — cant think of anything
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aptalkush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2007

Please read all the below before chosing were to stay, i'm not biased just telling you exactly how i saw it when staying in both backpackers.
Ok this is the best advice you will hear when chosing were to stay. Its between Rarotonga backpackers and Vara's and from personnally spending 2 weeks in both. Rarotonga bac'packers wins hands down no contest. Vara's only advantage is the better beach but thats it. If it rains or is cloudy be prepared to be bored out of your minds. First major difference for all people who like a hot shower Vara runs off solar panel so you only get hot water between 1pm and 4pm no hot showers in morning or in evening absoulutly ridiculous were Rara B'packers runs off GAS and has piping hot showers 24 hrs a day. Vara 's is only set up top make money offering no FREE services for bored bacpackers at night i.e pool table, table tennis, TV DVD, board games, book exchange, darts,hammocks, swimming pool all of these you get free in Raratongas, Vara's absoulutly nothing offered, BBQ night (actually run by hostel in raraotongas by owner Paul not in Varas who send you up to the bar up the beach) there is no connection or real care in Varas its all to set up.Raratongas has real life and social feel and the set up of rooms and social area perfect, Vara you will just see lonely single people walking around aimlesley while groups sticktogether, horribly boring place. They use the beach as its only real advantage over the easily the best place raratongas backpackers trust me on this as i never normally write these reviews. Raro has a good beach but has much more coral in it but if you just walk up to the beach resort (8 mins along beach) it has the best snorkling on the island. Any questions mail me and i'll answer with complete honesty.

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — boredom when it rains and at noght
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank joeglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotorua
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2007

che ka wiz a wow wow! Varas is some luxuary accomodation for the budget types. we had this spacious bungelow up on the hillside - named after vara's miss cook island daughter. talk about glamour haha
but we had good views from the room and a real cool guy named anton - looking out for us. We had no problems at all and the staff were always proactive about helping us out.
ACTUALLY talking with the staff was one of the most interesting things to do. gettin some real deal insight into the island goss ....
and they are pretty comical - check out the photo of me and my supposed 'brother' the white dog.
papa ki is the MAN too. i send my love to him he is just such a good guy - to be honest they all are such neat ppl there. and the people is wat made our holiday so grand.
scooters, snorkels, volleyball, kayaks and some good ol local advice about the hot spots cant be beaten - so if ya want to make the most of raro -
VARAS is the place to be - and hopefully if you are lucky you may get to see the illusive'vara herself
ps plus its got the best location right by the island just out from the lagoon wher it is all at for sun tanning oooooo ya!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank holly0000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muri hotels
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.5 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.1 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vara's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vara's

Property: Vara's
Address: Muri Beach | P. O. Box 434, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vara’s Beach is the only budget accommodation set right on beautiful Muri Beach, the most popular and prime beach on Rarotonga. Famous for its perfect white beaches and small islands called “motus” that you can swim, kayak or walk out to. We offer budget style accommodation with lovely fully self-contained Beach Studios, Ensuite as well asTriple/double/single and Dorm rooms. Vara’s Beach is situated on the Eastern side of Rarotonga only 15 minutes drive from main town Avarua, with bus stop, bike rental, souvenir shop and a pharmacy at entrance. koka Lagoon Cruise is located on the property and offers the best Lagoon Curise on the island. Absolutely convenient to everything with bars, dive centers, sailing club, and much more only minutes stroll. Vara's Beach is the place for those looking for fun and excitement, or for those just wanting to relax and unwind and get away from it all. Meet and mingle with our friendly staff and make new friends... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vara`s Beach House Hotel Muri
Vara's Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing