We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation at the end of our vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muri Beach Hideaway
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Reviewed 14 May 2013

After 10 days in Sydney, 3 days on other side of Raro and 3 days on Aitutaki and having to fly back home via LAX leaving at midnight, we just wanted 4 days relaxation by and on the beach. This place was almost perfect. We had a Lotus Bungalow, back from the beach. The room was large, as was its bathroom, kitchen and covered deck. The deck by the pool and at the beach was a great place to sit and look out over the lagoon, watching the sailing, kite surfing and fishing / paddle-board riding dogs. We used the kayaks which required some effort to get them back up the stairs (note: remove plug and empty any water before lifting).
Breakfast wasn't included but they supplied a litre of milk and juice, bottled water, instant coffee and sugar and we went foraging for ground coffee for the French Press, cereal from Mr Woo's(?) and daily muffins from the Deli Bakery across the road. It was within easy walking distance to a number of good restaurants (Sails especially for happy hour and Rickshaw), a takeaway fish and chips shop opposite Mr Woo's and once we took the bus downtown to Trader Jacks for a pizza at their bar.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach view but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

Have just returned from a short break stay at Muri Beach Hideaway. Having finished our 2 week adventure in New Zealand, this was a welcomed break to just do nothing but relax. It certainly lived up to expectations. We had a beach/pool view villa which had everything we needed. Vina the owner and Henry driver were both very helpful in terms of knowledge and ensuring we had everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. As mentioned in previous reviews, the free supply of snorkelling equipment, beach shoes, kayak, etc. kept costs down, and expect prices on the island to be dearer than mainland NZ. The closeness to the beach made is easily accessible and offerred wonderful views day and night. The island is approx. 20 miles in circumferance, easily accessible by bus and a good way to see the landscape. If you are a dog lover (which I am not!!!) be prepared as there are a number of these friendly canines dotted around the island expecially on the beach. Overall a very good choice of self catering accommodation which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Chummy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed in the bungalow closest to the ocean. It was fantastic. We were awoken every morning with the sunrise cresting over the ocean right outside our window. The deck provided a closeness to the beach, but offered privacy as well. You are literally steps away from the beach and ocean. The pool is a nice way to refresh, and is also private. The snorkeling and kayaks help too, as this would cost you $ to rent just down the beach. Overall we were extremely satisfied with staying here and would go back in an instant. It is perfect if you just want to relax and unwind with a good book or a beer (or both).

Room Tip: Pick the one closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tibotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Muri Beach Hideaway is simply the best place to stay in Rarotonga. It will exceed your expectations on all levels.

Hideaway offers superior and better value for money accommodation than the resorts (including the neighbouring Pacific Resort). At Hideaway you are right in the middle of everything that Rarotonga has to offer. You can simply step out of your bungalow onto the beach and stroll to the bars and restaurants that the major resorts offer - without paying exorbitant prices for a resort/Benidorm room looking into a garden.

We also enjoyed the sailing and windsurfing hire right at the door step for just $NZ10 per hour. In addition Hideaway has a fleet of canoes and snorkeling gear available for guests free of charge.

We loved our modern, authentic, private, spotlessly clean ocean front bungalow that had a swimming pool right beside. Importantly, the owner - Veena, is absolutely warm and lovely and goes out of her way to ensure that you enjoy your stay. We almost shed a tear when we said good bye.

We will definitely return to the Muri Beach Hideaway within the next 12 months.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fingalickingood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed at the Muri Beach Hillside bungalow, which was fantastic. Spacious rooms, bathroom, BBQ, laundry, great deck. Fresh Orange juice, milk and fruit was also put in the fridge by Vina, who was the perfect host and owner of the resort, absolutely brilliant!! The bungalows on the beach and the facilities were fantastic, great kayacks, snorkelling equipment available at anytime. Well worth the stay and i think the best for value on the cook islands.Muri beach is far better than anywehere else on the island, with the amazing lagoon, great snorkelling, restaurants. Buses stop right out front, which are 2 buses, clockwise and anti clockwise. Muri Beach Hideaway resort is well worth every penny and more, amazing hosts, facilities, people plus much more. What more could you ask for on a holiday

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We are 2 of 4 couples who have just returned from 6 nights at Muri Beach Hideaway .This property was exactly what we were looking for and it lived up to expecatations . The seperate bungalows are spacious and well appointed and in a beautiful garden setting . Conversely there is a barbecue which we used on a couple of nights to get together for a shared dinner . The property is very well located for cafes , bakery ,deli, convenience store and restaurants, scooter and car hire (and church if you wish !)
We snorkled out the front but other spots such as Fruits of Rarotonga are 3 minutes drive away
Vina our host was always most obliging and helpful . We felt there was a personal feeling which can be missing at the bigger resorts ..This proved to be a good idea as people from the other property, the "Maine Villa " also used the communal gear . You can however easily hire any of this gear from a neigbouring resort if the above doesnt work for you
For those who want to go on activities such as Catain Tamas or Koka snorkeling cruise or attend the Te Vara Nui Village Cutural Show / Dinner these are close near by (easy walking distance)
So in summary you get all the benefits of a smaller property while having the bigger resort activities nearby

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwifreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I went to Cook Islands with 5 friends and chose Muri Beach Hideaway. We stayed in the Hillside Villa which was a short walk away however we were able to use all the facilities. Vina the host is AMAZING!!! She is so happy and willing to help with anything! The deck chairs are a little weathered but the snorkeling equipment and kayaks were great! Its easy to kayak across to a nearby island and there is plenty of snorkelling right in front of the resort.
The hillside Villas dont have quite so many amenities as the poolside villas but if there is anything you need just ask Vina and she will get it for you.
Fantastic holiday and great location. Make sure you go to the general store its cheaper than the great big supermarket.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
3.6 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.5 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
0.2 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Hideaway

Address: PO Box 3092, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range: £164 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple yet luxurious accommodation in the Cook Islands, our traditional Polynesian Style Bungalows are set on one of Rarotonga's most beautiful beaches Muri Beach. With soft white sand and magnificent views of Muri Lagoon we offer everything that traveller’s hope for in a tropical escape to the Cook Islands: views of the morning sun above, and the finest restaurants and experiences in Rarotonga right at your doorstep. This little retreat known as the Hideaway, is truly hidden away and a place to kick back and relax while you indulge yourself in Cook Islands culture. Spoil yourself with a swim in the outdoor swimming pool, take a stroll along Muri beach, stretch out on your patio and inhale the scents of your garden’s tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hideaway Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Hideaway Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing