We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Muri Beach Hideaway
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Everything was as expected and more. The owners were absolutely lovely and friendly and left us to enjoy the tranquillity of the beautiful gardens in which the villas are situated whilst they did their duties. It makes for a very laidback and quite atmosphere which is what we were looking for. I enjoyed our chats with the lady of the house and she was a wealth of information about the Cook Islands. She went out of her way to help us when it looked like out flight to leave, was delayed and we may have had to stay another night. This was tremendously helpful since she knew people who worked for the airlines and found information about our flight that even our own airline service desk people were not able to tell us. There is only one way out by air and it pays to have someone who is in the know. So again a big thank-you to the lovely owners!

The villas were very clean and the whole property was very well maintained and tidy. Arriving in the dark of night not knowing what to expect, they had the lights on and it looked so inviting and was such a relief to find it was as good if not better then what we expected. They even put fruit in the bowl for us. There was coffee and tea and the kitchen is equipped to cook and prepare meals which I intended to do but didn't once since the local food was so good and not too expensive. The villas are of a group of 4 and not busy and if you wanted a swim in the pool or use the equipment (kayaking gear etc.) you pretty much had it to yourself. The property is on the beach-side of the road and therefore just a short walk to the beach which (our villa being least close to the beach) was about 1 minute away, for me; because I usually stopped to chat to the cat or the local colourful chickens. It would really take you about 10 seconds!

The Muri beach area was, I think the best location on the Island for being able to walk every day/night to lunch or dinner and therefore you would not need private transport. Muri beach has some very good places to eat and an excellent French bakery using tropical flavours that I wish I could find back home. We had the pleasure of eating out nearly every night for as little as $10 AUD at the park where they had markets and stalls selling home cooked meals. Our favourite was a lady cooking delicious island cuisine.

I have read people complain about the noise of the crowing roosters and yes they do crow pretty much al lot of the time. I think they give you about 5-6 hours of 'off time' at night just so they keep their heads. And they are everywhere. Not in plague proportions but you will see them. Even on top of the highest point of the Island we had a concerned rooster escort us. I happen to be a big animal lover and also own chickens so I was in my element admiring the pretty colours and watching their antics. Yes they are a little noisy on and off so you are warned but it is much better than say constant traffic noise or people yelling on the streets. I'd swap it if I could.

We used the local bus which stops right on the road the villas are situated on and for a reasonable fee you could get around the Island but after a few days we realised the day is limited to waiting for it and the fee is for a 'destination and return' trip. No whole day pass of unlimited travel were available to my knowledge. It's good if you're there for a short time and don't want to hire a car. Walk up the road and there were two vehicle hire places. We were keen to skin-dive in other beaches that had more to see than our side of Muri beach. If you swim or kayak out to the opposite small uninhabited Island there is more to see. And while Muri beach is beautiful I have read it is undergoing a bit of stress from polluted land water runoff etc of which the local authorities are trying to fix. I really, really hope they get this going with urgency because we went all the way to the Cook Island for a beach holiday in the tropics with no sharks or crocodiles and dangerous jellyfish to worry about (like back at home) and to have it destroyed by pollution would be such a shame; as is the problem everywhere, worldwide. However the beaches are very safe except for a few areas which can be located on the maps to take caution. And better snorkelling can be found not too far from the Muri beach area but you need to drive or catch a bus.

There would be only one reason I would not go back and that is the world is a big place with so much to see in such little time and I try not to re-visit too much. But for the relaxation value and great location of Muri beach Hideaway and the lovely helpful family who run it I would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I liked the rear villas by the back as it was more private and surrounded by gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H0lliDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at Hideaway and enjoyed the nice quiet time. Handy to shops for basics, night markets which were great. Rental bikes a must. Swimming and snorkling right on the doorstep. Nothing was too much trouble - sure we will be back

Room Tip: Now if we told you our room wouldnt be available when we want to go again! One with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights at this 2-bedroom villa within a 3 min motorcycle from the Muri Beach Hideaway Beach.

The property was in excellent condition...spacious, open and airy. Large sunny balcony to boot.

The manager (Vaina) was prompt in responding to our emails enquiries, providing us with the use of a conventional oven to bake a wedding cake (in another Muri Beach Hideaway property).

We would highly recommend staying here, and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. In fact we're planning the next trip already!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kozzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hillside, which was a great space - big, warm and well appointed. Would be an excellent family holiday. Muri is easily the best neighborhood on the island, and as long as you make the time to go and lie on the beach, I don't think it matters that you can't see it. The best part of staying here is Vina, the host. She bent over backwards to make sure our stay was perfect.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights at Muri Beach Hideaway's Maine Villa. The villa is very nice, spacious and modern. Closeness to bakery, shops and take-away shops is a pluss. 

As a home/accomodation it has only two problems. Firstly, there is no warderobe, chest of drawers or similar where you can put/hang your clothes. Secondly, the hot water supply doesn't really work. There is hardly ever enough for a hot shower, and for doing the dishes we had to heat extra water in the water kettle.

What is important to know though is that the house is not at the beach (3-5 min walk, across the road), and you can't either see or hear the sea. You need to put on clothes and bring all your beachstuff with you. If closeness to the beach is important to you, I would recommend staying somewhere else. The Titikaveka area has many nice beachfront houses for hire. The beach on that side is also wonderfull, and has sunset views. 

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We've just come back from a surprise trip to Raro to get engaged & we can't stop raving about The Hideaway! I've been to the island 3 times now & have stayed in a variety of accommodation - this being my fave so far. Vena and her family are wonderful hosts & full of relaxed laughter without being 'in your face'. Our bungalow was superbly clean (I can be quite fussy about these things) & there was complimentary milk, water & fruit, as well as all the necessary kitchen equipment. Our bed was changed each day and there were additional little touches that made the stay special. LOVED the free use of the kayaks and BBQ & being so close to cafes & shops - though the bungalows are set well back from the road so you feel like you're in paradise Inception. Would recommend going to the other side of the island for snorkling and sunset cocktails (Shipwreck Inn is especially good for this! Just be sure to call and make a booking). ProTip - bring some earplugs. The cockerels are pretty vocal all over the island!

Room Tip: The three 'VIEW' bungalows over look the garden, pool and beach and are a touch more private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Our stay at the Muri Beach Hideaway was absolute perfection.

We stayed in The Loft Villa 5 and found it to be spacious, clean and modern. We were surrounded by a lush green garden and made good use of our large verandah. The property itself was very well kept with lots of greenery about. It has 5 villas so you feel very private and away from everything/everyone else. Our Villa was attended to daily with just a quick clean, bed made etc and considering we were staying in a self contained Villa we found this to be very thoughtful and a great plus.

You are located right in the middle of Muri Beach so able to walk easily to all the facilities you require. The beach is just at your doorstep.
We made good use of the kayaks, reef shoes and snorkels supplied to us.

Vina is very friendly and helpful and made our stay at the Muri Beach Hideaway most memorable. She is always happy to help you with anything you need and great to have a chat to. Vina allowed us to check in early, check out late and to leave our luggage with her whilst we found our next accommodation. Very helpful and considerate.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 5 at the back with a garden view and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TalcaChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
3.6 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
521 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Hideaway

Address: PO Box 3092, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range: £167 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple yet luxurious accommodation in the Cook Islands, our traditional Polynesian Style Bungalows are set on one of Rarotonga's most beautiful beaches Muri Beach. With soft white sand and magnificent views of Muri Lagoon we offer everything that traveller’s hope for in a tropical escape to the Cook Islands: views of the morning sun above, and the finest restaurants and experiences in Rarotonga right at your doorstep. This little retreat known as the Hideaway, is truly hidden away and a place to kick back and relax while you indulge yourself in Cook Islands culture. Spoil yourself with a swim in the outdoor swimming pool, take a stroll along Muri beach, stretch out on your patio and inhale the scents of your garden’s tropical flowers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hideaway Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Hideaway Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing