We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Muri Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muri Shores
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Had 10 days here at the end of November. Brilliant location right on the beach, Muri beach is our preferred location in Rarotonga, had 10 trips over the last 15 years for holidays or work. Spotlessly clean and modern, only built this year. Good internet reception via the Telecom wifi but you do pay for it. Owners very friendly and helpful. No laundry but there is a service available. Even though close to Sails (bar/restaurant) noise was not a problem. Great option for couples, if back on our own definitely would return here. Thankyou Krystina & Eugene

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastroGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
77
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have visited the Cook Islands several times over the last 28 years, so I was aware of the absolutely superb location of this property. When it comes to Rarotonga and Muri Beach you cannot get any better! The huts are less than a year old and very well appointed. You will find everything you need in the kitchen to prepare a quick breakfast or a nice meal. The bed is actually comfortable even for a picky sleeper like me. The bathroom is spacious and super clean. Our favourite was the patio, where we had every meal during our 2 week stay. You can just relax there and watch all that is happening on Muri beach, from the paddle boarders and sailors to the outrigger race practices. While you can see all that is happening the huts are slightly set back, so that there is still a sense of privacy and quite.
Perhaps one of the best things about this property are the owners Krystina and Eugene. From my first inquiry, throughout the booking process Krystina was always prompt to replay to my queries. Once we arrived we treated more than fairly by the property owners. They picked us up from the airport and transferred us to our hut immediately. The whole time we were there we felt more like treasured house guests of a very hospitable Cook Island family than paying guests. They were really concerned for our well being and did all they could to make sure we had a great time! I can only commend them for their kind and warm hospitality as well as their attention to detail when they furnished the huts!
Another bonus of the location is the proximity to the 2 times weekly food market right behind the property. You can just meander over and have your choice of honest and homemade food prepared by Cook Island families, all at a very reasonable cost! There you can either mingle with locals or other tourists or you can just pick up whatever you like and walk back to your hut and enjoy your dinner on your own private patio in peace and quite enjoying the incredible views of the Muri Lagoon.
We found we did not even need to rent a scooter or car as we could easily walk all over Muri, with just minutes to the bakery and 2 little convenience stores, or just hop on the bus if we wanted to go into town.
In closing I have to agree with the other reviewers that I fear that once the secret is out how fantastic these huts are, that we may never get another chance to obtain quick booking!

Room Tip: With only 2 huts to chose from either one will be just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretagetsaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Not only is Muri Shores exactly what you see in the pictures, which is very important some places can be very deceiving, but is set in prime location. Right next door to a delicious restaurant and a Kayak hire shop and across the road from a scooter and car hire place. These bungalows are absolutely beautiful. Perfect for a couple's getaway, they are clean, trendy, private, and you literally step of the deck walk 5-8 seconds and your are in the clear blue waters of Muri. Krystina and Eugine (owners) are very respectful they knew we were on holiday to relax and did not bother us, if we needed anything they were only a phone call away and were more than happy to help, especially when our plane got delayed, Krystina was right there to help us.
We without a doubt will be back to stay at Muri Shores, thank you for making my first trip out of my country the very best.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanaka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We recently visited Rarotonga (myself and my fiancé) and stayed at Muri Shores. This was my fourth time here and my fiancés first, I have to say that Muri Shores is awesome! Great location right on the white sandy beach and lagoon, and in the heart of the beautiful Muri Beach area. There are restaruants, cafes, hotel bars/restaurants, scooter/car hire, and a whole heap of water sports from Kite surfing and Diving to Paddleboarding right on your door step.

It was brand new and spotlessly really clean with all you could need from a studio unit. Your hosts Kristina and her partner are so lovely and nothing is too much trouble. They made us feel so at home and we just didnt want to leave! I almost dont want to say how good it was as Im worried next time we come it will be fully booked!! But wouldnt want others to miss out on it, truly the pick of the bunch!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissiRoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have recently spent 8 nights here and I can't recommend it highly enough. Krystina and her Mum Mii made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation is very new, and they welcomed any feedback - in fact in the end we were scared to mention anything as the next day it would turn up! The bures are practical, stylish and tasteful but not so much that we didn't feel totally relaxed and comfortable. We were able to make our own breakfast and lunch in the well furbished kitchen, and even managed a meal one evening when we were sick of going out. Also look out for the Thursday night market right next door as they have some delicious food as another option to eating out. We spent a lot of time on the deck as it was a great size and we were provided with lovely comfortable recliners (which sometimes ended up with us lying on them on the beach!) and a good sized outdoor table and chairs. And of course the view of the lagoon is amazing! Being able to step off the deck and onto the beach is just luxury. Lots of people asked us about our bures and we showed several through, so hope it doesn't get so popular that we won't be able to get in next time we come - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Muri Shores is absolute beachfront overlooking the beautiful crystal clear pool of water that is Muri lagoon. The photos tell it all....

We stayed for 9 nights in August and were based here for our first trip to Rarotonga.
Very clean, good amenities and helpful welcoming friendly hosts (couldn't have been better).
Waking up to that view was quite a start to the morning and the outdoor balcony is great for the entire day. Be it breakfast under cover, sunbathing or cocktails per-dinner!
So much nicer to have this intimate experience rather than staying at a hotel / resort complex.
And with a view like this at far less the cost! Why would you?!

Also located well for lagoon tours (located a stroll away), scooter higher, cash machine, two good cafes (2 mins walk) and the well known Pacific Resort. It was good not to be stuck in the middle of nowhere...

Would recommend wading across to the larger motu (lagoon island) at low tide and enjoy the scenic view back to the mainland with its towering peaks. Also a good place to escape prevailing winds. You may even be offered a fruit platter from the locals as we were on our last day. Take some $ for a cheap beach massage.

Restaurants try: Rickshaw (cute, authentic and the best nearby) and 'The Sands' at Tikitaveka Beach - best on the Island with its European influence (Swiss chef) and lagoon front location.
Sails Restaurant is right next door.... a popular spot for weddings.

At the end of the day it's the Islands natural beauty that is the real attraction. That lagoon is idyllic!

Enjoy your stay. We most certainly did!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muri hotels
0.2 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
471 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
0.3 mi away
Nautilus Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Shores

Property: Muri Shores
Address: Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Shores is absolute beachfront situated in the heart of Muri on one of the most prime beachfront locations that Rarotonga has to offer. The brand new accommodation consists of two fully self-contained studio villas at a total size of 55 sq meters offering a kitchen fit with modern amenities, a bathroom and bedroom that allows you to awake to the mesmerizing sunrise and magnificent views of Muri lagoon...the only lagoon on Rarotonga surrounded by mini islets. Our greatest feature is indeed our large semi exposed veranda offering you the flexibility to sit back and relax in the shade or move out into the sun to capture the warmth of paradise on your skin...all in the comfort of your own private studio. Muri Shore studio villas is located on the eastern side of Rarotonga and is a few steps away from the pristine waters of Muri. Facilities within a 2 minute walk are: restaurants, convenient stores, vehicle hire, lagoon cruise and water equipment hire, cafes, beauty salons, pharmacy. We look forward to welcoming you to our shores ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Muri Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Shores Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing