We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT NIGHT OUT”

Over-Water Night Show & Dinner
Book In Advance
More Info
US$78.44*
and up
Spectacular Over Water Night Show with Buffet Dinner at Muri Beach
Ranked #5 of 11 things to do in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“GREAT NIGHT OUT”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

As a cultural dinner show this was a most enjoyable night out. Very good production and excellent local cast. The food in buffet style was good and included in the ticket but drinks bought separately were more expensive than the local bars. The included transport was also fun.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank marsandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    59
    12
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food & show”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We went to the Te Vara Nui Overwater Dinner and show mid December 2013. You have a choice of two tours. You can do a village experience, dinner and show or you can just do dinner and the show. As it was a recreated village we opted for just the dinner and show. Whichever tour you do, pick up and drop off from your resort is included.
The village had beautiful water features and well-manicured grounds. The staff were friendlier and warmer than other places that we had been to.
The buffet was the best meal we experienced during our stay on Rarotonga. The meal alone is worth the admission price.
During dinner a local musician backed by an electronic keyboard sang songs. We felt it would have been much more authentic if he had sang with a live local band. The show itself was performed to a live band.
Although traditional costumes were worn by the dancers the lights and sound effects were over the top and took away the authentic feel.
The female dancers were beautiful and mesmerizing to watch. The male dancers
The fire breathers were the highlight of the show but were not on for long enough.
We much preferred the dancing from the Edgewater Resort Island night. Although the Te Vara Nui dancers appeared happy while performing, the Edgewater island night’s performance was filled with more gusto and a faster tempo. You really felt like you were watching what would happened at a traditional village feast and not just a show.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Makzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overwater Dinner & Show”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Fantastic night with fabulous food & entertainment
The Dancing was spectacular and really highlighted the wonderful culture of the Cool Islands
Highly recommended

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gedareje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTE MUST DO!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the village tour beforehand and then the amazing dinner and over water show afterwards. This combined attraction will give you a real insight into Rartonga's culture and heritage. Can't recommend it highly enough. Essential!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boscombe74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must-do show”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We did the cultural show before the Over-Water show and Dinner, and I would recommend that you do both and they are very well done. The dancing and the venue were excellent, and the food was also very good. A great night out!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Over-Water Night Show & Dinner also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Over-Water Night Show & Dinner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing