We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avana Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Waitakere, Auckland NZ
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We ended up having the whole complex to ourselves for one week in January last year (08) - the 2nd week there were more people. There were 4 of us in total (2 couples in a 3 bedroom condo) and we had a blast.

Tony was very helpful as was Margaret when we locked ourselves out of the condo! ha

Also we left our mobile behind, flew back to NZ and Tony was kind enough to arrange for a family member there to fly home with it.

Thanks to all the Staff at Avana for making our trip worthwhile. We'll see you in October for our wedding ; )

  • Liked — The service, the pool, that it was quiet and the Jetty was fun
  • Disliked — That the beach isn't sandy
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peyroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    29
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
51
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2008

A great place; Awesome Location. Who needs a beach front location, YOU DO!
Nine nights in a one bedroom apartment for the three of us. Gorgeous pool; Airconditioning, & erverything you could want.. . Lovely and clean. Fridge freezer for the NZ brought goodies; Insect screened and lovely balcony.
The staff were excellent; , Tony was great, Margaret the housekeeper , lovely lady and she is a real treasure and Ilai the gardener, they are a great team. Ilai was awesome, very friendly and polite and showed the kids how to skin a coconut and gave them some tips for fishing off the jetty.
Balcony was a great place for the sunrise and early morning coffee, and on more than one occasion we were lucky enough to see hump back whales just outside the breakers. Watched the whole show: blow, surface, roll over to see the white belly, flipper in the air and then watch the glorious tail disappear into the water. Picture purrfect.

  • Liked — Location, Price, Facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing, it was great
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fleming_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

After staying at Avana Waterfront Apartments for the 2nd time, we felt we just had to write another review.
The staff are extremely helpful, going out of their way to help and inform us of what and where we should go and do. Their info was always bang on as well.
The weather was a bit windy for our 1st few days, but we just went to the other side of Raro for those days, where there was no wind.
The "sometimes" Tuesday night BBQ was fantastic. (Best BBQ fish we have ever had anywhere!)
A must do experience is the "Drums of our Forefathers" island night at Highland Paradise.
The apartment we had has just been refurbished and was absolutely spotless. Also, the supplies in the fridge were a big plus after arriving on the "redeye express".
We definitly give this location a huge "Thumbs Up". Extremely good value for your money as well.
Check their website and compare.
TWH

  • Liked — Fully Self Contained and Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TWHNorthland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We (Mum, Dad and 20 year old daughter) stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It has two levels with the bedrooms upstairs and lounge/kitchen downstairs. There is an upstairs balcony and a deck downstairs, equipped with outdoor furniture. It's right on the beach and the view is just amazing. It is quiet and peaceful and we couldn't have found better accommodation. Such a nice touch too, that on arrival there is bread, milk, butter and jam in the fridge and coffee and tea and a fruit bowl on the bench, so you don't have to rush out straight away to buy essentials. Avana Condos certainly was a big contributor to our overall fantastic Rarotonga experience.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Silvereye_Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

We stayed in a studio for 9 nights - cost us $900 in TOTAL which was fantastic value for great accommodation. Asked for upstairs studio which we received, which had fantastic views (all do though, they are all absolute beachfront!)

Extremely clean and very spacious studio. Everything very modern, bug proof, even given mozzie coils just in case. Nice modern bathroom, full kitchen with elements and dishwasher. Received a breakfast pack to start us off which was a huge help - included bread and condiments, as well as fruit, milk and juice.

Great selection of kayaks and snorkling gear, nice pool and area around that, great area for snorkling (when tide not running though as does get a little swift current!). Saw some really great fish just out from the condos - even sting rays! From the jetty you can look down and see heaps of fish also. Great place to kayak from at high tide around the motus and see all the fish swimming on by.

Very friendly management, had a $25 bbq for guests one night a week. Very relaxed and quiet accommodation (away from the main road so no traffic noise).

Fantastic facilities, and nicely set out, great views. Whilst not on a nice sandy beach it was a very quick walk to one and to Muri restaurants etc, and for half the price why not??!! What we saved on accommodation we used to go to Aututaki for a day-trip, so we ended up with fantastic accommodation and the day trip was the highlight of our stay.

Would highly recommend.

  • Liked — Great value, facilities, views, price
  • Disliked — no sandy beach right outside the door but for the price cannot complain!!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nzamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2008

this is amazing value.
Only NZ$500 for a week per person - and thats right on the waters edge -.great value.
We had to make our own beds but the linen was supplied twice a week.
The managers daughter ( 13 yrs) produced a great family poolside bbq as a $25 fundraiser for her trip to NZ.
Quaint .
And a nice experience.!
Apartments ( studio and two bedroom) are modern and spotless and the staff very friendly .Lots of kayaks and swimming.
We were a group of 7 and this was great choice.
We will be back.

  • Liked — the cleanliness /, location nd value
  • Disliked — We did not stay long enough
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank almaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2008

We stayed at the Avana Marina Condos (now called the Avana Waterfront Condos) for three days at the beginnng and three days at the end of our trip to the Cook Islands. In my opinion, the Avana condos are the best accommodations on the island. We had a wonderful time there and enjoyed swimming in the pool, cooking on the barbeque, fishing off the dock and paddling the kayaks across the channel to the motu for swimming and snorkeling. The condo itself was very comfortable with a fully outfitted kitchen and all the amenities we required for a very comfortable stay. The staff is great and really treated us like family. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the ocean breezes htat the Avana condos get due to their location right on the water provide a wonderful break to the humidity. Everything about the condos and property was perfect for our vacation. If you want a fantastic location, relaxed and comfortable accommodations and the ability to move in and feel that you're living on the island, the Avana condos are perfect for you. This is also the perfect place for families because there is a wonderful sandy beach which is raised above the water for the kids to play without worry and the pool is another fantastic ammenity. Finally, I'd like to comment on the excellent service. I left a case containing two iPods behind in the condo. I sent an e-mail and, in less than a week, had my iPods back with me in the states. Thanks to everyone for all of the trouble that they went to to return my things to me and thanks to Tony, Margaret, Jeff and Taylor for the fantastic service and hospitality. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
4.2 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
157 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avana Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avana Waterfront Apartments

Property: Avana Waterfront Apartments
Address: Kaireva Drive | Avana Lagoon, Muri 869, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avana Waterfront Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Absolute waterfront spacious & fully self contained apartment accommodation on a deep water harbour. All apartments & studios have unrivalled views from private decks across pristine Avana Harbour to an uninhabited islet with its beautiful sandy beaches. The private jetty is the departure point for local fishing charters as well as the start of your lagoon activities. Experience fish feeding, kayaking, snorkelling, and fishing. An ideal accommodation option for couples and families with teenagers who enjoy water sports and especially fishing! " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Avana Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avana Waterfront Apartments Hotel Muri
Avana Waterfront Apartments Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing