We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, peaceful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avana Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

We had a lovely 10 day holiday at Avana Apartments.
Our 2 bedroom apartment was really good value for my husband & I & our 7 year old.
It had everything we needed with plenty of space for us all. The bathroom & kitchen were a little dated but we paid a very low rate so got very good value for $'s. It isn't flashy but definitely the best value on the island with views to die for. Nicer & much more private than some of the other expensive resort's we looked at.
We arrived at the end of the NZ school holidays so had the run of the place - we had the beautiful pool to ourselves whenever we felt like a dip (other than Reuben bringing little Tegan for a dip which our little girl really enjoyed) & we never had to battle for a lounger like the other resort holidays we have been on.
Reuben (owner) was very friendly & gave us plenty of local snorkelling tips & info on the island.
Desiree (manager) was great & our daughter really enjoyed having her as a babysitter. We felt very happy to leave her in Desiree's capable hands.
We would definitely consider another trip to Rarotonga & would happily stay at Avana again.
Thank you so much for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D_Traveller_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    28
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

we were very impressed with the location, hospitality and our accommodation. we were impressed with the friendlyness of the staff and felt very welcomed. we appreciated the knowledge that was given to us in regards to the dangers of the water currents and the stonefish abundance. our accommodation was excellent!!!! the housekeeping was very much appreciated. who wants to go on holidays and do housework!!!! we actually felt special. thankyou to all that made our stay so enjoyable. our beds were very comfortable as 1 of us has a chronic back problem. cleanliness of our apartment was outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnaandtom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Quiet, peaceful apartments, had a huge studio- at least twice size of normal hotel room, away from hustle of main road. Picked up for deep sea fishing from thier own pier , 10 minute walk to Muri Beach restaurant and cafes or a short drive to the fantastic south coast beaches

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorklerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2010

We booked and paid deposits over six months ago, and had booked three apartments for a wedding in March 2010. Avana cancelled our booking in December, stating that they were no longer taking bookings for stays less than one month. I work in the accommodation industry and believe they had an obligation to honour existing bookings. I found the whole process very unprofessional. They did repay the deposit, LESS bank fees. It has taken us a lot of time and money to re-book alternative accommodation for our group. I personally find it interesting that travellers may only stay in Rarotonga for 30 days without having a Visa, so I can only assume Avana has taken a large long stay group booking. I believe that is called " chasing the dollar". I could be wrong, but fail to see how it would benefit their occupancy by having a minimum one month stay policy. There was also not much in the way of an apology or any kind of effort to help us find alternative accommodation.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AvanaWA, Owner at Avana Waterfront Apartments, responded to this review, 7 October 2010
while we can understand the reviewer being upset at her bookings being cancelled, there were good reasons for the cancellation, in particular our concern at the standard of maintenance of the two bedroom apartments (bar apartment 6) being below that required for the tourist market. Because of this a decision was made in November 09 to terminate management, and commence a maintenance program, renting to long term tenants at substantially reduced rentals in the interim. The decision to cancel this and other bookings was made knowing that the reviewer had 4 months to find alternative accomodation, and that the booking was in the off season for accomodation in Rarotonga, so that this process should not have been difficult.
In March 2010, the month for her booking, we had 1 unit occupied, so the reviewer has reached the wrong conclusion as to the reason for cancelling.
It is unfortunate that the managers were not more helpful in the process and if there are any costs the reviewer feels should be refunded, we are happy to discuss this with them.

We completed the major maintenance items and reopened the property for tourist bookings on May 16th.2010

Reuben Tylor
Director
Avana Waterfront Apartments Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otaki Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

Our family consisting of myself, husband, 20 yr old daughter and 19 yr old son stayed in a 3 bedroom waterfront apartment for 8 days. The apartment was 2 storey (we were at the end closest to the swimming pool) and had 2 bathrooms. Upstairs was the spacious master bedroom that looked out over the lagoon with the other bedrooms at the back of the property being pretty small but adequate. The shower upstairs was pathetic so tended to use downstairs shower this room also housed a toilet, basin and washing machine very tight fit but all workable. The kitchen was basic with a poor excuse for a dishwasher. The house when we arrived was reasonably clean. The lounge come dining room with its tiled floor was cooling on a hot day, not that we had many of those, weather was overcast, with patches of rain and windy, bit still warm 26deg. I recommend you take plenty of good books as there is nothing worthwhile watching on TV.
The manager was very friendly, dropping of freshly picked bananas and having a chat most mornings. He also taught us all how to choose and open a coconut. We all enjoyed kayaking across the lagoon, snorkling and walking down on to the jetty to feed the fish. Definitely an excellant location for teenagers maybe not the best for a young family.
Muri Beach is just a short drive away wouldn't reccommend walking as the main road can get busy and there isn't always a footpath.
Hired a convertible which worked well for our family, only put the roof up when we parked for the night and when the rain got a bit to heavy.
Highlight would have been our Highland Paradise cultural night, highly recommend. The manager at our accom. purchased our tickets giving us a $10 discount per ticket.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZLindaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

Great location, right on the edge of the Lagoon entrance, and only 15 minutes walk from Muri Beach's facilities, which include eating, shopping, car hire (recommended) and activities. Apartments were clean and well equiped, and felt like a NZ motel, though a little dated by today's standards. Nothing wrong with that, though! Luxuries included LCD tv and dishwasher. We paid $1500 for 7 nights during July school holidays, and had four beds in two bedrooms, which works out at $375 pp. Good value, and perfectly ok for a family break. Helpful staff, friendly cat, good pool, awesome fish off jetty and great location. Views are amazing, straight over lagoon and islands, sleep with the distant sound of waves crashing on outer reef. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodyTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

We were made very welcome, the studio apartment was just so big. swimming was great as was the free canoes and scuba diving gear. A great location not too far from Avarua but walking distance also to some neat shops, cafes and other resorts, we definitely would go back. Look for the friendly cat! Highly recommended for break or longer holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthlandDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.6 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avana Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avana Waterfront Apartments

Property: Avana Waterfront Apartments
Address: Kaireva Drive | Avana Lagoon, Muri 869, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Avana Waterfront Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Absolute waterfront spacious & fully self contained apartment accommodation on a deep water harbour. All apartments & studios have unrivalled views from private decks across pristine Avana Harbour to an uninhabited islet with its beautiful sandy beaches. The private jetty is the departure point for local fishing charters as well as the start of your lagoon activities. Experience fish feeding, kayaking, snorkelling, and fishing. An ideal accommodation option for couples and families with teenagers who enjoy water sports and especially fishing!  " ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avana Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avana Waterfront Apartments Hotel Muri
Avana Waterfront Apartments Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing