We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic- We Will Be Back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic- We Will Be Back”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay, staff were all very helpful and nothing was to much trouble, so relaxing and peacful. A very well run hotel. Have been rcommending Muri Beach Club Hotel to everyone.
The lady that does the spa (Sorry can't remember her name) gives the best massage and was so friendly. Thanks for a great stay !!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    153
    54
    12
    7
See reviews for
38
390
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Location is excellent. Stayed in a beachfront room which certainly has the view but if you plan to sit on your balcony and enjoy the sun don't choose beachfront room, my recommendation would be choose pool view room upstairs - also you will miss the strong trade-wind that we experienced 7 out of our 8 day stay. If you experience the wind you definitely need to get in the kayak and paddle to the island across the water, the temperature lifts by many degrees and it totally misses the wind. Wish we discovered that earlier than we did. Definitely hire your motorbike from resort - the price is the same. Recommend Muri Beach Club Happy Hour.

Great lunches and service at Fishing Club not far from the Resort towards town, definitely had everything this NZ couple was looking for without pricey price-tags attached.

TV in Resort room was v.v.poor - a continuing rolling picture. Free 24/7 internet was down for 5 days and it wasn't till our second to last day I was offered use of the office internet. And meals at resort left a lot to be desired, however breakfast was adequate.

Would I stay at this resort again, probably not.
Did we have a great holiday, absolutely yes we did.

Room Tip: If you want full sun most of the day book upstairs pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie18181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We found the Muri Beach Club Hotel excellent. We stayed for a week in a Beachfront Room and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The room was spacious and comfortable; the housekeepers did a great job each day. The bathroom was big too, and there was a space for wet togs which was great.
The service was outstanding; every single member of staff was unfailingly polite and helpful. They seemed genuinely interested in how our day had been and were always cheerful.
Probably the best asset for the place is it's location. We woke up to a stunning view of the lagoon each day. We used the hotel's kayaks often; we thought they looked like the best on the beach because they were the only ones with proper back support.
As a couple, we found the hotel's adults-only policy wonderful. The hotel was very peaceful and children are even not allowed in the restaurant, so the quiet remains unbroken. We really appreciated this; it made a big difference to our enjoyment of the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee_Marty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We chose the Muri Beach Club Hotel partly because of its adults only policy, and also because we were told it was on the best beach on the island. We were certainly not disappointed – in fact, I would have to say you would be hard pressed to find a more perfect location on Rarotonga. The hotel is situated right on the shores of beautiful Muri Beach, directly opposite one of the tiny uninhabited motus which dot the lagoon, making for stunning views.
We received a warm welcome when we arrived, with the receptionist taking the time to show us around our room and explaining the facilities on offer. Throughout our whole stay we found all staff to be friendly and helpful and never had any issues. There are times when service may not be as prompt as you might expect at home, but you just accept that is island time, and just relax and enjoy the laid back atmosphere.
The restaurant was fresh and modern, but a little pricey and the food was fairly average for what you pay. In general we discovered the best restaurants on the island tended to be those not attached to resorts or hotels. Sails restaurant just a bit further down on Muri Beach is fantastic, and well worth spending a little extra. Miro’s Diner by the entrance to the driveway to the Muri Beach Club Hotel is a small, rather unassuming local café, but produced some of the nicest and most reasonably priced food we had during our stay – a great option for lunch.
The complimentary tropical breakfast each morning was great though, with a selection of tropical fruits, toast and spreads, cereals, and juice, tea and filtered coffee. The cocktails were also excellent – just $10 over happy hour (4-6pm).
The free use of kayaks and snorkel gear was fantastic, as it made it so easy to explore the lagoon and motus. It is true that there are better places to snorkel around the island, but we still saw heaps of different brightly-coloured fish in this part of the lagoon, as well as puffer fish and cornet fish. The lagoon is also shallower and sandier here than in other parts, making it excellent for swimming.
It was handy being able to hire scooters directly from the hotel, without having to go into town to queue to get a license from the Police Station. This is definitely the easiest and cheapest way to get around the island.
The pool looked lovely although we didn’t actually use it, preferring to swim in the lagoon. The rooms are also very modern and clean, but we would definitely recommend staying in a beachfront room if you can, as the views are beautiful, and you also get a nice sea breeze through your room, which helps keep the mossies at bay.
Loved every minute of our stay here – would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MDSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredonia, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We enjoyed staying here, it was quiet, clean, good food, helpful staff, and nice beach,

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGTFredonia_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

A brilliant beachfront location to stay in. This part of Raratonga seems to get alot more sun than otherparts ( for more of the day). Also seems to get less rain than the more northerly parts. The lagoon is fantastic and includes a number of small islands that you can wade to during the slack tide. The snorkling is good with lots of small fish to see and you can use kyacks and paddle boats. There are plenty of loungers to relax on right on the beach and also around the pool area. The resort provides an excellent standard of accomodation (we had a garden room). The barman "Bina" makes the most delicious cocktails and there is a happy "hour" from 4pm to 6pm.(Island time). They also provide complimentary roasted coconut to nibble on. Mmmmhhh! The hotel facilities include a large swiming pool, restaurant, outdoor chess (didn't use) and shop. All staff were very friendly and professional. Great to have the scooters available for use during our stay.
Some areas they could improve on are:
1. Greater variety in the alla carte menu.
2. Better quality and selection of snorkling gear and better hygiene of this.
3. They should install extractor fans in the bathrooms (which include the toilet).
4. They need softer pillows for the beds.
5. Better musicians with music that you can dance to.
Overall we enjoyed ourselves immensely and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wowwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My sister and I went over there with nothing but relaxation in mind. Hence we decided the over 18 resort would suit us. We had been told by others to keep expectations of accomodation in Raro low, so we were so pleasantly suprised on arrival. The grounds are spacious, well kept and beautiful. We only had a garden room, but even that was luxurious. The pool was huge and clean, and the range of facilities were excellent. The location is right on Muri beach and the restaurant was decent enough so you wouldn't even have to leave if you couldn't be bothered! Staff were also friendly, prompt and polite. Without hesitation, I would recommend to all!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sianaleabroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Property: Muri Beach Club Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#4 Spa Hotel in Muri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled adult only resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing