We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want to leave” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muri Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My partner and I stayed for 6 nights. The Muri Beach Club Hotel was an excellent place to stay. For the price it was good value. Adults only was the attraction. Positioned facing the lagoon is one of the best features. We snorkelled every day and were amazed at the variety of sea life and huge schools of fish swimming past. Dining was ok at the resort but it's an easy walk down the beach or road to eat at the many other restaurants nearby. We loved the relaxed island life style and quickly slipped into Cook Islands time. This is not a high end resort but we thought it was good value. Yes we would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lagoon, you won't be disappointed with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    151
    51
    12
    7
See reviews for
38
382
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

When we arrived for early check in,we were greeted by warm smiles and refreshing fruit drinks. We were then upgraded to an ocean view room because a large group wanted their rooms to stay in the same area. Great for us...on the 2nd floor we had a spectacular view of the lagoon. We rented a scooter for the week thru the hotel which was comparable to other businesses. Our room was clean, breakfast was loaded with fresh fruit, bread, fruit juices, cereals and hot eggs every morning. Also, I must mention that being from the coffee capital of US (Seattle WA) Cook Islands know how to make coffee. No exception with this hotel!!! Staff were engaging,genuine, and helpful. This was a great way to spend our 20th anniversary.

Room Tip: If you get an ocean view room get one on the 2nd floor. Better view and more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happycustomer034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Muri Beach Club Hotel for 6 nights in August 2013.

In a word, the hotel is "fine". Not great. Not terrible. Just fine. The rooms were fine. The service was fine. The restaurant was fine. The day spa was fine.

The shame is that I think the management at the Muri beach Club Hotel are striving for something much better than just "fine". The main issue from our perspective was that the hotel just doesn't have any real charm or personality. It doesn't seem to know whether it wants to be a high-end resort or an exclusive boutique hotel. Unfortunately it falls short of being either, requiring more luxury for the former and a lot more character for the latter.

Probably the only thing that sets it apart your run of the mill generic hotel/resort is that it's adults only, but otherwise the hotel really has no identity. Even the Management cocktail party, which is a really nice idea, just felt like a corporate induction session.

The pool is lovely but a little run down, & the pool furniture quite shabby. Our room was clean & bright but with dated curtains and cheap linen. The restaurant served decent food but provides absolutely no atmosphere - even on the Island Night where the performers just looked out of place.

Additionally, the management clearly pride themselves on exceptional service, however saying it out loud doesn't make it so. Exceptional service to me is where the staff exceed guest expectations. The staff answered all of our queries and were personable enough but they certainly didn't go above & beyond. As an example, we enquired at reception about where we might play tennis on the island. They told us which hotels had tennis courts but didn't offer to make any enquiries on our behalf about costs or booking the courts. It's simple little efforts like this which can really impress & define the difference between ok service and great.

Ultimately I think a little more focus on working out what hotel really wants to be might go a long way in achieving something far better than just a "fine" guest experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had the great pleasure of spending some of my days languishing around the pool and on the beach of the Muri Beach Club Hotel. This place really is a delight. It sits right on Muri Beach and the Lagoon, which is just divine. You couldn't ask for a more gorgeous view across the Lagoon. The restaurant is great value for money and the standard of the food excellent. I had lunch there on several occasions. I was staying further down the road in a set of beach bungalows that didn't have a great beach, so my task each day was to jump onto my scooter and high-tail it up to the Muri Beach Club Motel for at least some of my day! The staff were always friendly, helpful, and couldn't do enough to make my visits enjoyable. I could sit around the pool, lie on the beach on their loungers, hire their water sports equipment etc. as long as I had one meal there, which I thought was fair enough. The standard of the accommodation looked very good too. All in all, a great place to stay, I was reliably informed, and to visit. I also had Christmas 2012 lunch there which was simply fantastic, and the entertainment incredible. We had so much fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

We got married here in August 2013 and the whole event went perfect. Thanks to the wonderful staff (Brian, Rangi, Luke etc ) and Liana (manager) for all your wonderful help. The hotel itself was perfect for us and such a nice place and perfect spot on the beach. The Friday night Pug & prawn night was to die for (best ribs ive ever had). Erica the chef did amazing work especially with Tuna. Also Sunday night BBQ kebabs were so tasty and big I couldn't even finish.
Three tips to the hotel I can offer is get better pillows. Move the ute which is parked under cover blocking the entrance to the Spa reception, and move the giant chess board out to the beach. Overall 9.5/10.
Thanks for making the experience so wonderful.
Regards
Ryan Baker

Room Tip: Beach front is best by far and block number one is better than block 2. Take your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Like a previous reviewer, we came to Rarotonga for a friends wedding. After landing at 6am, we were pleased to have booked an early check-in, which we did have to pay for, but well worth it after a 24 hour trip from UK! The rooms were spotlessly clean, beds were comfy and shower was powerful with no shortage of warm water. Air con was good too, very quiet compared to some places I have stayed before. We ate in the hotel several times during our stay and enjoyed every meal, particularly the seafood options. The cocktails were expensive, even if it was happy hour, but no more so than other places on the island (this is a pricey destination for a holiday I think) and didn't stop us sampling most of the menu. We used the spa too and had a great massage and enjoyed kayaking using the kayaks provided for free by the hotel. There are lots if dogs around the beach area which might be a consideration if you are not a dog person, but we found them friendly and entertaining. Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 weeks here and would definitely return to Rarotonga and Muri Beach Club Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJo71081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porirua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Only went for happy hour. Cocktails reduced to $12 from $16. Five of the six in our party were unhappy with their cocktails. They were overly diluted with crushed ice making them watery. One of our party didn't drink their cocktail and they weren't charged for it

Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.8 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.6 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Property: Muri Beach Club Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Muri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled adult only resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing