We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding and Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I got married at Muri Club on the 8th Nov this year. Our wedding coordinator Liana was fantastic!!! The lead up to the day was made stress free as I knew she had everything organised. We were taken into town to get our wedding licence sorted, and had appointments made to meet our celebrant and photographer. Although the weather was a little windy, the sun was out and made it a perfect day. Everything from the flowers, cake, decorations, food etc was spot on. We were upgraded to the beach front room on our stay,the room was clean and tidy and decorated with fresh flowers. Breakfast had plenty of variety, hot options, fresh fruit, yogurt, selection of breads, juice etc. We found all staff friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Muri Beach Club hotel if you were thinking of getting married in Rarotonga, or just for a holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hannah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

My friend and I stayed here in April 2013. We had an absolutely wonderful stay. Our room was lovely, and had an excellent air-conditioning unit that we both greatly appreciated having. Muri Beach Club had free snorkel and kayak equipment, and also reef shoes of various sizes. The staff were absolutely wonderful, always pleasant, and very helpful. The free continental breakfast was very good - there was a vast array of foods available, and very tasty. The beach that the hotel is on is gorgeous. We did a bit of snorkling fairly far from the shore, and saw some beautiful coral and tropical fish, including 2 stingrays and an octopus! There were a number hotels and restaurants along the beach, so you don't have to strictly stay at the hotel for every meal. The only negative thing about our stay was that my friend and I did find the beds very hard, and had a relatively difficult time sleeping on them. Luckily we were usually so exhausted from a day of swimming and kayaking that we slept better. We would both definitely stay at the Muri Beach Club again, and definitely recommend this to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Perfect location right on the beach at Muri lagoon. We stayed in an ocean view room which had perfect views over the beach and logo on. Staff were very attentive and helpful pool was great and never crowded. Some prior reviews mention about the condition of the pools tiles which did let down the appearance although during out stay they had workers with scuba tanks underwater so that would be all fixed by now. Standard of food was good and reasonably priced. Would definately stay there again

Room Tip: Would definitely go for the ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thommomelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Great place to stay if you want peace and quiet and good service from happy staff who know you by name. The Hotel was right on the best beach in Rarotonga and had the best pool (with no kids). Just a stroll down the beach or up the drive if you want to eat out, but food very good at Hotel too. (Wonderful breakfast) We enjoyed just lying by the pool in the sun reading a book or chatting with the other holiday makers and staff. We will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed at this Hotel,in a garden view room. When we arrived there were ants all over the pillows. Shower was old and not adjustable for ladies,way too high. Breakfasts were very poor and on the Thursday they ran out of cooked food. Friday a wedding,so up goes a marque,right in front of the dining room,view of lagoon gone,no thought for the paying customers. Internet was one old unit in the foyer for all hotel guests. TV was three channels,poor reception on one. Reception gave us three different stories about check out day,and late check out. Trip was booked through travel bug. For the price we paid this hotel is very poor.Room was a good size.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rotoruasteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HLWeeks W, Guest Relations Manager at Muri Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Kia Orana,
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review; and sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you felt you experienced during your stay. Not only does it take your personal time but in addition to this we are thankful of your feedback so as to highlight areas for potential improvement within our establishment, although of course we prefer the usual response of high satisfaction most of our clients report!

"ants all over the pillows"
Unfortunately Rarotonga is a tropical paradise island, and with that comes some unavoidable factors such as heat, humidity and insects. Although it is a rare occurrence, in your case this has resulted in some ants in your room, and as they do have minds of their own we cannot much control where they choose to wander, in this instance deciding to make their way on to our comfy beds. We have a dedicated housekeeping team that clean the rooms every single day, and we have not received multiple complaints of this kind, therefore it seems this was an unfortunate and irregular occurrence, and despite there being nothing we can do about this in a tropical climate, we are truly sorry for the inconvenience.

"Shower was old and not adjustable for ladies, way too high"
We have large, spacious showers in all our bathrooms at Muri Beach Club Hotel, as well as excellent water pressure, which is guaranteed by our private water tanks to ensure that even when water pressure on the island is low our guests can still enjoy a nice warm shower with sufficient water supply & pressure. Whilst we take on board your comments, this can be a matter of personal preference, with some people wanting to adjust the shower head to alter the direction, height or strength of the water coming out, whilst others are satisfied with its positioning. We regret that this caused you any discomfort and sincerely apologise.

"Breakfasts were very poor and on the Thursday they ran out of cooked food"
As part of all our room stays we offer a complimentary Tropical breakfast, served between 07:30-10:00am. As part of this Tropical breakfast we include a variety of local fruit, cereals, baked goods & breads. The hotel is owned by the local egg farming family, therefore we also provide a variety of eggs each morning included in the complimentary breakfast, whether they be poached, scrambled, fried, boiled, as an omelette, pancake, etc... As the local fruit we provide as part of the Tropical breakfast is sourced on the island and handpicked often that morning for ultimate taste and juiciness, we cannot guarantee which types of fruit we will have each day as these vary due to seasonality, recent weather and general availability on the island. In addition to this complimentary breakfast we also offer a separate menu guests can order from if they fancy something not offered as part of the complimentary breakfast. Being a small island in the South Pacific ocean, we are simply unable to grow absolutely everything here, and therefore whilst we endeavour to support the local Cook Islands community and source the majority of our foods locally, there are some items that we must bring in from abroad. Occasionally, for reasons outside our control, the arrival of these goods is delayed, for example due to a ship arriving late or a flight being delayed or cancelled altogether. On the odd occasion that this happens the whole island must make do with what we have, and I believe it was for this reason that, as you state - "on the Thursday they ran out of cooked food" at breakfast. Our Tropical breakfast however, with the inclusion of cooked eggs, is always available and free of charge.

"Friday a wedding, so up goes a marque, right in front of the dining room, view of lagoon gone"
Rarotonga is a popular wedding destination for its romantic setting, and Muri Beach Club Hotel offers personalised wedding services all year round. Our beachfront marquee option for receptions is indeed located on the beach, which lies in front of the SilverSands Restaurant between the lagoon and hotel. As the wedding couple and the majority of their guests were staying at the hotel, the Wedding couple choose to have the sides of the marquee down during the day so as to not spoil the set up surprise later in the evening for their guests. Unfortunately this did result in the ‘view’ from the restaurant to the Lagoon being partially restricted for that day. We sincerely apologise if this celebration was a cause of inconvenience for you that evening, however tables and chairs were set up on the beachside, so guests could still enjoy the view if they wished to do so.

"Internet was one old unit in the foyer for all hotel guests"
At the Muri Beach Club hotel we offer 2 ways for guests to connect to the internet; a main computer in the reception area, and wifi for guests to use on their own devices, such as laptops, smart phones, ipods, kindles, etc...In this day and age we find that almost all of our guests come with some sort of device from which they can use the internet, and they prefer to do so as they can then use this and access it from all over the hotel, whether they be in their room, by the pool, in the bar or on the beach. As our Reception Desk is open 24/7 is also means that guests can top-up wifi credit whenever they need; day or night. However, understanding that not everyone likes to bring such devices with them on holiday, we also provide a computer with internet access which is complimentary and located in the main reception area. As we are a boutique hotel with just 30 rooms, we only have 1 computer in this area, and find there is never a queue for it, as most of our guests do not wish to spend very long on there, just to quickly check a couple of emails, most of our guests would rather make the most of being on a beautiful tropical island rather than sat on a computer, hence the reason there is only one, but wifi everywhere else.

"TV was three channels, poor reception on one"
As Rarotonga is located in the middle of the South Pacific, we suffer from the third world problems of not having strong TV signal. This is not just an issue for our hotel, this is standard across the whole island of Rarotonga, and even more so on the 14 other outer islands of the Cooks. In addition to this, local Cook Islands television only has 1 channel, that is simply it. Muri Beach Club Hotel has a satellite so guests can also receive a couple of extra TV channels from New Zealand/Australia. In addition to this we also have external hard drives that guests are able to use which have hundreds of movies and TV shows on them, so if guests prefer to be in their room watching TV rather that exploring the beautiful island, they are able to do this. Again, our Reception Desk is open 24/7 so this service is always available to guests whenever they want it. We also have Saturday night movie nights up in our Lagoon Lounge where we have a projector that plays a movie on the big screen for guests, where they also receive complimentary popcorn to enjoy during the movie, which is another option for those who want to spend their holiday watching TV rather than indulging in all that beautiful Rarotonga has to offer.

Again we thank you for your feedback and take your comments onboard.
Meitaki Ma'ata!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was one of the three hotels we stayed at during our Rarotonga holiday and it was second best in my opinion. We were upgraded to a beachview room on arrival, thanks to fine staff.

The breakfast was absolutely fantastic! It was definitely the best we had all week. Every morning there was plenty of fresh fruit, eggs and various spreads to choose from. They even had pancakes on Thursday! The least satisfying aspect was only one choice of juice each morning and the toaster took a long while.

The swimming pool is big and well sheltered from the wind (but the water is COLD, so one has to swim to keep warm). It was unoccupied the majority of the time and it was really nice there were no kids splashing around.

It was great it is adults only accommodation, although honestly we still had to listen to kids shouting down at the beach as it is a public place... In general, the beach felt crowded in comparison to Vaimaanga or Titikaveka and the noise coming from the Motu through the day (which is a base site of Captain Tama's Cruises) was very unpleasant. It's also worth noting that there are a lot of dogs hanging around at this beach.

Now onto the room - on the first glance, it looked fantastic. Had great wardrobes, comfortable bed, even a sofa. The bathroom was very spacious and the shower was huge. After a while, one starts to notice the downsides - plumbing did not sound like it's working 100% well, shower head hardly let any water through, I was surprised to have ants in a 1st floor room. The thing that bothered me most and is the main reason why I give the hotel only 3 stars, is that I had to wear earplugs each night as there was horrible (next door A/C?) noise at night coming somewhere from the roof. It was on 24/7 and I don't think the room was even occupied until the last day.

Overall, the hotel is nicely tucked away from the main road, facing the Motus, the staff is professional (at the reception as well as at the restaurant), they offer free internet access for guests (on a laptop at the reception but be aware that even just to load the email it takes about 10 mins), the rooms are spacious and pleasantly furnished but I just haven't enjoyed the whole thing as I thought I would (due to flaws, albeit minor, mentioned above). Still, I would consider this hotel again if I returned to Rarotonga.

Room Tip: Beach view - beach/sea view, windy. Pool view - pathway view. Garden view - facing shrubs, possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

generally a nice place to stay; the staff as a whole are friendly and obliging. Rooms are of a good size and adequately furnished, however, the furniture is tired and marked. Underneath the beds were dirty - as we discovered on checking our room prior to departure. The alarm clock hummed so loudly at night we had to unplug it, and the TV standby button lit the room, so that too was in plugged. Linen is clean, but yellowing with repeated washes. Outside areas needed attention as there were wasp and ant nests in public areas and the sun loungers were scruffy and over worn. There was an arrival of new outdoor chairs on our departure day, so maybe loungers will be included in the upgrade.
The dining room was dated and needed a fresh look for the table settings, however it bares repeating that the staff in this hotel are wonderful and very helpful.
Other reviewers have criticised the dogs on the beach; as I understand it they are from neighbouring properties and all were incredibly friendly. If you like dogs, look to take shaggy or shadow or both out for a sail on a treddle cat or kayak to one of the three motus.
I guess in short, that five star in the islands is a little more laid back than in other places around the world. We would go back again.

Room Tip: Second floor would be way to go; beach front rooms close to restaurant so may be noisy?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nursey70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
5.6 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
7 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#4 Spa Hotel in Muri
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
Price Range: £156 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled adult only resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing