We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Christmas Vacation: Loved the Muri Beach Club Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas Vacation: Loved the Muri Beach Club Hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spent Christmas week 2013 at the Muri Beach Club Hotel. Even though we live in San Diego, our 23 and 25 year old "kids" wanted a warm vacation and somewhere where they could snorkel and dive. Rarotonga was the perfect choice, and the hotel was great. Liana and the staff were all extremely nice and were dedicated to making our stay enjoyable. Our rooms were plain, but clean, large, quiet, and had comfortable beds. Not the Four Seasons, but were perfectly fine. We loved the breakfast buffets. Lots of beautiful local fruit, and the warm entrée varied every day. The staff really went out of their way on Christmas day to decorate the restaurant area and serve a fantastic lunch. The location of the hotel is amazing. The beach and lagoon were spectacular, and we loved taking long walks on the beach and kayaking to the small islands (sometimes with a friendly local dog). We spent most evenings sitting on the beach, socializing with the other guests (mostly New Zealanders). We took the local bus several times to town. The Saturday market is not to be missed! We also rented mopeds and drove up into the beautiful interior of the island. If you want a vacation with nightclubs, city life, and lots of tourist activities, Rarotonga isn't for you. However, if you want a relaxing vacation, on a beautiful island with friendly locals, and want a break from cell phones, cable TV, and Wi-Fi, this is the place. If you are Americans, check out the deals from Costco (LAX direct flight to Rarotonga on Air New Zealand).

Room Tip: We had a non view room, but it was fine. Even though we were close to the lobby and neighbors with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGB_SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    154
    54
    13
    7
See reviews for
38
396
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The ultimate place to relax, indulge in delicious food on a truly panoramic island. Beautiful small couples only hotel run by attentive staff. Our beach front room with the warm water of the lagoon lapping the powdered sandy beach offered everything for a wonderful holiday. We enjoyed swimming, kayaks, paddle boarding and snorkelling. We enjoyed getting out one day by hiring a convertible (rustic!!) we travelled round the island and went into the lush mountains . The various restaurants offered delicious food - fish was awesome. The locals were friendly and accommodating always smiling. Well living on paradise is certain to make anyone smile. We will definitely be returning .

Room Tip: Beach side - ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firthwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Salmon, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Another beautiful trip to the Cook Islands. This was the 3rd time we have stayed at this resort and the staff are like family, very caring and friendly. Room was very clean. Public transportation is easy to access and use. The new Muri Market on Thursday afternoon and evenings is fun and great food.

Room Tip: We like the ground floor rooms # 204-206 best, quiet and 2 steps down from patio to beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SMCreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Location, Location, Location

The perfect location on a beautiful island. This was a holiday in paradise to fulfil long-held dreams for both my husband and myself and to celebrate my 60th birthday. We had a beach-front room with amazing views across the lagoon - the view was to die for. Sadly, little else within the hotel came close to matching this idyllic situation.

We arrived at the hotel early Saturday morning (01.15), and were very efficiently checked-in by the very friendly, informative and ever-helpful Brian on the desk. The reception staff were all helpful during the course of our 11 day stay, but, as always, some were definitely more helpful than others.

Our first room (104) was fine; spacious room, bed was extremely comfortable, but the pillows ranged from ok to brick-like. We got to bed at 02.00 but were rudely awoken at 04.30 by guests arriving or leaving, (didn't check which) and noisily trundling their luggage along the tiled floor outside our room. I can see why Brian had insisted on picking up and carrying our wheeled bags for us earlier - shame whichever member of staff helped these guests didn't have the same consideration!! Our first day in paradise didn't start well!!! The bathroom was spacious, but it looked tired and in need of quite a lot of TLC. The shower head was so blocked that it felt like you were being assailed with wet needles from the pressure of the water coming out of the un-blocked holes in the shower head. Also, there were no hooks anywhere in either the room or bathroom - just one hook to hang up a gown would have been useful.

During our first afternoon, we discovered that our room was right next to the local rugby field, which had a match on - great to see rugby played well! The supporters who came along to watch the match brought their families along and who can blame them. However, most of them seemed to be in the water and on the beach in front of the hotel for the whole day - so much for booking into an exclusively 18 plus resort and paying for the privilege. The ever-noisier post-match disco went on until well after midnight, by which time, after only 2.5 hours sleep the night before, we began to wonder at our choice of hotel. Finally getting to bed well after midnight (no point trying earlier as the sounds of the disco were far too loud and too close) we were again woken early - this time at 06.30 by a vehicle using the service road by our room front door noisily loading or unloading (didn't get up to check which) and then slamming it's doors and driving off at speed. Needless to say, we were wide awake by this point and now seriously debating our choice of hotel.

We decided to change rooms and were very quickly offered room 206, the opposite end of the beach-front rooms. This was in a lovely location too - but without the rugby field and service road in close proximity. Again, the bathroom was tired and this one looked grubby - the bathroom window had thick fluff on the opening mechanism - it hadn't seen a cleaning cloth in a very long time, if ever!! The toilet was dirty, the basin still had thick soap scum on it and the shower in this bathroom was also blocked (clearly a theme). The shower was quickly unblocked by maintenance....not sure why this wasn't done for the shower in room 104.... and we finally enjoyed a lovely shower following our room move. We then discovered that the toilet seat was loose and the heated towel rail was falling off the wall and then the headboard half fell off the wall when I leant against it to read my book. It took maintenance several hours to repair the various faults, which is a concern considering how quiet the hotel was at the time. We later reported a downlighter in the bathroom had blown - this never was replaced even though we heard reception phone maintenance to report it.

Breakfast was fine - fresh fruit, plus all the usual cereals and breads, including muffins and croissants and the hot choices were a lovely addition, but varied so little over the eleven days we were guests that sadly the chef has little imagination and/or not a great deal of talent, or is not allowed to have by management! This was borne out by the food at the Sunday night barbecue. Three out of four had lamb kebabs and in each case the lamb was tough, full of gristle and virtually inedible, the seafood kebabs were equally disappointing although the meal was saved by the old fashioned pork sausage; the bill for two guests (including 3 drinks) was $100, so they were very expensive sausage! Also, the left-over sausages were served up for breakfast on both Monday mornings of our stay. I'm all for not wasting food - but rehashing leftovers is not something I expect in a 4* hotel.

The waiting staff were generally helpful, friendly and very courteous - but rather slow to respond to any requests. Over 15 minutes to bring a wedge of lemon for my, by then cold, pancake was taking the mickey. Again, this at a time the hotel was very quiet. I wouldn't like to eat here if it was fully booked.

I'm not sure why this only 5 year old hotel looks so beautiful but fails to deliver on several levels. I suspect it is resting on it's post-euphoria laurels after being awarded for being one of the world's best boutique hotels in 2010. Four years on, it still has a magical location, staff are cheerful but slow, the pool needs renovating, rooms (especially bathrooms) need renovating, consistently comfortable pillows are needed for the lovely beds, bed linen needs to be purchased to fit these beds (the mattress protectors and quilts used on the king sized beds are only designed or double beds), the sun loungers need new, better cushions, towels need replacing or at least need to be washed thoroughly - fresh, but still-stained towels were the norm throughout.

Owners and management should be dealing with these matters, but clearly they are failing dismally to do so. This is potentially a beautiful hotel in an unsurpassable location, but it needs management to take a long hard look at what is wrong, rather than relying on what WAS fine only four years ago.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious; beachfront rooms have world-beating views - but if you want a quiet stay, av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Staff are great, Food & Drink was well presented and of a high standard, Beautiful/friendly staff, Lots of activities available. We went to Raro to relax and spend time together and that's exactly what we did. Nothing flashy, just had cocktails by the pool and chatted for hours most nights. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Hotel is small enough that it doesn't matter where you are it take 2 sec's to get around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here on our honeymoon and after much research on Tripadvisor, and a lot of walking on the beach while there, I'm confident this is the best place to stay in Rarotonga!

Located on a pristine lagoon, the breaker wall keeps away any harsh waves and seaweed, and creates a protected sanctuary for beautiful coral and a clean, swimmable shoreline. I was able to wade in the water, calmly paddleboard, or kayak, while my fiancé could explore the reefs by snorkel. It was the best of both worlds.

The resort is small and intimate and really feels like you're on the grounds of a beautiful mansion with personalized service, rather than a large resort chain. With only 30 rooms, this place truly does feel intimate. Opt to dine in the restaurant on-site or have room service instead, it's such a laid back place!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisaPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for four nights on route back to New Zealand from Aitutaki, as part of our honeymoon. The club is beautifully maintained, the staff really make this place special and couldn't do enough for you. I'd highly recommend the spa which we indulged in for a couple of treatments all in all just perfect. Good food too, just make sure you have some powerful insect repellant as the restaurant is right on the beach. Thank you Muri Beach club for making our stay so special. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Property: Muri Beach Club Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#4 Spa Hotel in Muri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled adult only resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing