We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location! Only OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Muri Beach Club Hotel is situated right on Muri lagoon. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. The hotel offers free use of kayaks, paddle boards & snorkel equipment (most others charge per hour).
The hotel itself was a little run down and the food at the restaurant was overpriced and disappointing. Overall we enjoyed our stay as we spent most of our time at the beach, however it would be nice to see this hotel lift it's game.

Almost every meal we had at the restaurant was bland and overcooked. Not to mention too expensive.

We also found some of the staff to be quite rude. I waited over 5 minutes at the bar with 4 staff members in view and not one of them came over to take my order. Sometimes it felt like we were being a nuisance. In saying that, there were some really helpful, friendly and accommodating staff members too.

At about 2am one morning, we heard our locked door handle to our room shaking. We both went back to sleep but about 10 minutes later we were awoken again to our door slamming. Very strange. At about 4am our airconditioner jammed up and started making an extremely loud noise. We turned it off and tried to go back to sleep. Needless to say we both had a very unsettled and restless night.

There were always ants running around on the bed, bathroom sink and benches in the room.

Scooter hire is more expensive from the hotel than Avis which is just up the road at the Pacific Resort. The scooters available from Avis are much newer too.

After paying a lot of money to say at a nice resort, you expect clean rooms, security & friendly staff. Unfortunately we were a little disappointed with Muri Beach Club, however we would return to the Cook Islands - it is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed for a week in April 2014 at the Muri Beach Club Hotel. It's a great hotel with an absolutely stunning location.

Firstly, the location. Muri Beach is probably the most beautiful beach on Rarotonga. It faces east, so it misses the sunset, but this is more than made up for by the three uninhabited islets just off the beach in the lagoon. The beach is wide and slopes gently down into the ocean. The water remains shallow enough that you can wade not only to the offshore islets, but at lower tides, all the way out to the reef. There is enough coral in the area to attract plenty of colorful fish for good snorkeling!

The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a garden room which suited us just fine; note that the beachfront rooms, while giving the amazing views, are probably a little less private.

The hotel gives guests free paddleboards, ocean kayaks and snorkelling gear which was is very handy.

The restaurant makes tasty food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's a boutique hotel - only about 30 rooms - so it can't support an endless menu, but there are numerous options. If you're getting tired of the menu, there are more resorts and restaurants within a few minutes' walk along the beach, and a couple of small corner-store type shops up on the road nearby.

One thing to note - the rooms are on two levels, and there are no lifts to the upper floor; if stairs are a problem for you, tell the hotel this in advance and request a ground floor room.

Service was also really good. On check-in we had issues with the safe in our room and on reporting it to reception, they had a friendly maintenance crew there to fix it up very quickly.

Last thing to note - this is a strictly 18+ hotel. Children and teenagers can't stay here, nor can they visit to dine at the restaurant. If that's what you're looking for, it makes for a really quiet and peaceful stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stamphappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My now Husband and I recently got married at Muri Beach Club Hotel. Would recommend Hayley Weeks as a wedding planner over and over again to anyone even thinking about getting married! She is an amazing person so much help pre wedding with emails back and forth to NZ then help on the island was exceptional! She made our day perfect (:
Also the hotel - What a great place - we were staying down the road but our bridal party were allowed to lounge by the pool and swim whenever we wanted as long as we purchased a beverage which was not a big ask at all, in the heat all you want is a yummy cocktail made by the staff who always had smiles on their faces.
Would totally recommend the hotel to everyone who wants a chilled out, care free holiday on an amazing beach on the BEST side of the island! PURE BLISS!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindyleeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were on a long cruise from the UK to Oz and took the chance to visit this resort for a great "land" day. Took the shuttle service from the port to the complex which has a great sandy beach and easy swimming to a little island. Then a lovely lunch and bottle of wine before resuming our voyage. Would be a great place to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: Didn't see the rooms but if they match the rest of the quality would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking at having their wedding in Rarotonga. Great location for beach wedding. Just amazing service from all staff. Rooms are very spacious and nicely done up.We felt safe and very well looked after. Great communication with the wedding plans, everything was perfect including the weather.Food was delicious and well presented. Nothing was too hard to arrange or prepare.Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pquirk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My partner and I have just come back from a holiday and we stayed here. Highly recommend it, this place was amazing. Staff were helpful, hotel is nice and the location and view is just amazing. Its close by to everything. The polynesai night is a must do, the drummers and the dancers rocked.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessie174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to the muri beach club hotel for dinner on their bbq night, our waiter was fantastic, prompt and friendly, we ordered the ribs which were almost bigger than the plate and probably the best we've tasted.
Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
5.6 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
7 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#4 Spa Hotel in Muri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range: £157 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled adult only resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing