We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel, but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

When I arrived at MBCH, I was overwhelmed. The receptionist welcomed me warmly and very friendly. I even got an upgrade to a room with beach front view, which was really nice indeed!
The location is great, right at the beach in a lagoon like setting. Beautiful for snorkeling. However, staying there for 5 days, I found a few things didn't go too well. Some staff members were chatty and friendly, others weren't and didn't seem too interested in the customer. Customer focus can be better on these terms.
The room was spacious, got cleaned every day. But still housekeeping needs to be more attentive, as they left a dirty dish for 2 days in the room until I had to tell them to remove it or they didn't clean stains that were obvious to be cleaned.
Breakfast changes every day, but it's not nicely prepared like you want to go for it. Also teabags are still in their original package, which can be arranged more attractively.
I had lunch and dinner at the restaurant and found it only average quality.
Overall, this hotel wasn't a 4 star hotel to me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xplorenewshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gotroppo, Manager at Muri Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Kia Orana,

Thank you for taking the time to submit some feedback on your experiences at Muri Beach Club Hotel. In response to your observations, we would like to offer some reassurances that your comments have been taken on board here...

We have already commenced extended staff training and will be rotating this throughout all departments to ensure that all members are stepping up the mark and delivering the level of service and expectation required of them, both from a guests perspective as well as a management perspective. Customer service will be a key part of this training.

We have also added to the existing housekeeping supervisory procedure and rooms will additionally be spot checked by senior management to ensure thorough cleanliness and attention to detail is delivered. As can be expected, a staff meeting was also held with housekeeping staff to draw their attention to the matters you have kindly brought to our attention to ensure this remains an isolated incident.

We are currently in the process of having decorative tea boxes created on the island into which our tea bags and various flavoured herbal teas can be presented more attractively for our Guests enjoyment throughout their stay.

We sincerely thank you for your comments and would love to welcome you back to Muri Beach Club Hotel in the near future so that you too can benefit from the improvements that have resulted from your candid feedback.

Meitaki Ma'ata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I have just spent a most enjoyable week at the Muri Beach club Hotel and have no hesitation in recommending it. They have just finished a lovely upgrade to stuff around the pool, reception etc and re-organized the dining room, also new furniture.
We will definitely be going back in the future. If you want peace and relaxation without small children running around etc this the place to go.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colsbowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for five days, and the MBCH had its good points and bad points. First the good points. It definitely is located in the best spot in Muri, with an awesome view and easy access to great swimming, snorkeling, and kayaking. The adults-only atmosphere was great for avoiding the disruption of noisy children when you want some peace and quiet. The staff were very nice and for the most part very welcoming. The rooms (we ended up staying in 3 of them, more on that later) were very spacious and were comfortable, although the furniture was a bit worn and the towels were not in great shape. The beautiful view from the beachside room was idyllic (don't think I'd want anything but beachside room). Now for the downs. We were arriving on an Air Rarotonga flight from Mauke and had made arrangements for airport transfer to the hotel. Alas, nobody was there to meet us, and we ended up asking for help in calling a taxi to take us to MBCH. When we arrived and discussed what happened, the evening receptionist offered no apology. We immediately went to dinner and when we returned, discovered that our air conditioner was not working (the room safe wasn't working either). The receptionist assured us that maintenance would look into it....the following day. We had to work hard to get the receptionist to move us to another room, and he was insistent that we would have to move back to the original room in the morning (he didn't even want us to take our luggage with us). He then told us how sorry he was.....that this occurred on his shift, not because of our long wait in a sweltering room. We moved back to the room the next day after they repaired the AC unit. Sadly it broke down again the following night, which we sweated through since we knew no maintenance would be forthcoming. We were then moved to our third room, which thankfully worked great. Certainly maintenance issues can happen anywhere, but I was disappointed that we weren't immediately, graciously, and permanently relocated and that the problem was not fixed right the first time. When we took the initiative to speak to Liana, the manager, she immediately apologized and worked to set things right by refunding a small portion of our hotel costs and providing a free bottle of champagne, but at the prices here I have higher expectations.

Room Tip: Beachside room is really the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelVet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gotroppo, Manager at Muri Beach Club Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your balanced review highlighting Muri Beach Club Hotel's many positives as well as some less positive observations that you have brought to our attention.

Unfortunately our maintenance team were unable to immediately attend to your air-con problem due to it being late at night and our technician only being available from early the following morning. Our maintenance protocol requires a series of procedures be followed to identify the source of the problem. However, after having done this, the unit continued to malfunction, therefore we regrettably had no alternative other than to allocate you an alternative room.

Regrettably there are some matters of maintenance that occur which are beyond our control - despite all our best intentions and preventative measures employed. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have embarked on some significant refurbishment, and this has included the arrival of our new Italian designed furniture which has been placed throughout the property ie. reception, pool area, beachfront rooms and restaurant area. In addition to this we now also have new furniture in the lounge bar area. This has created a fresh, chic and stylist ambiance. The rooms division has also been supplied with our new style of towels and linen.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rarotonga and the Muri Beach Club Hotel in the not too distant future, and thank you once again for your compliments as well as constructive criticism

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had 5 nights here. Staff were all lovely and the accomodation aw high quality. The manager was very welcoming and the front desk staff could not do enough to help. It felt expensive but I have nothing to compare it to as I have never had a holiday in this sort of resort before. The beach equipment, free to use was good. The views from the hostel are stunning ( beach side). It appears to be the best placed on the island if you want the archetypal paradise / lagoon image.
The manager had a champagne and canapé reception on Tuesdays which was excellent and informative. A wedding occurred while we were there and we watched the staff trying to ensure everything wax right for the happy couple. But be warned, it does rain in paradise and there can be cloudy days!
The wedding went ahead on the beach as planned, and the hotel left if until 20 minutes before to make the final decision, trying to do the best fir the couple. It is adults only which is good.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms face the beach, it's worth asking for one, although view of the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnephair59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Awesome time, beautiful rooms. All the staff were friendly and always willing to help. Hayley, Wedding Co-Ordinator, made our Eloping, stress-free and perfect. Prices were very reasonable. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 138yvette25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We enjoyed our second visit to Rarotonga and chose this hotel after spending most of our time at Muri Beach during our first stay. Muri Beach outside the hotel is spectacular with gorgeous swimming but the hotel does not just rest on that laurel.

With only thirty rooms the hotel is boutique and one of the most luxurious in Rarotonga. Every member of staff was knowledgeable, friendly and went above their duty.

Below is a list of stand out points which will see us return:

1. Small, boutique and luxurious
It was a pleasure walking around the hotel without tourist masses or children. We loved the easy access to snorkelling equipment, boards and kayaks (no signing in for equipment - you can just use it and return it). We noticed and appreciated the boutique luxury compared to the busy and much larger Pacific Resort next door.

2. The best happy hour on Muri
We tried every happy hour on Muri and this hotel was the best. One of our favourite holiday memories was enjoying Jonie's Snickers cocktails on the beach. No other hotel came close. Cocktails are $12NZD during happy hour.

3. Fabulous location for snorkelling and swimming and a good variety of dining options close by. Many other hotels on Rarotonga, whilst beautiful, are isolated in terms of dining options outside the hotel. Muri Beach Club hotel is within a great eating precinct - Mexican, Asian, Sailing Club, bakeries and delicatessens are all close by.

4. The extras we did not expect but enjoyed:
-Free computer with Internet to check emails at reception.
-A super helpful receptionist who booked all our tours and transfers easily.
-Three choices of hot breakfast options which changed daily as well as cold options. The liver was a surprise but quite delicious one morning!
-The manager's cocktail party on Tuesday night which was a great way to meet fellow guests and the management team.
-A special snorkelling excursion to the best snorkelling spot we saw on the island ( west of the Fruits of Rarotonga). This was a definite highlight of our trip.

Thank you Muri Beach Club Hotel. You are worth every dollar and we will be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TiffyW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Although we didn't actually stay at this hotel we really wished we had. We have just recently spent 5 days in Rarotonga for our 20th wedding anniversary and we got a cheap deal at Club Raro. After visiting Muri beach hotel we ended up spending nearly all of our time there instead. The beach is amazing and we loved lounging on the loungers on the beach of this adult only hotel. The staff were very friendly, the pool amazing, spotlessly clean and the food was great. We also went to the polynesian buffet night which was great fun!! If we go to Rarotonga again we will save up the extra money and stay here instead.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
5.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
7.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.6 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Muri
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
Price Range: £208 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled adult only resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing