We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You wont want to come home...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muri Beach Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“You wont want to come home...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We stayed at Muri beach club for 7 nights and can not fault the place. This is in the best spot on the island in my opinion with beautiful and generous facilities and the service will blow you away. We arrived to a free upgrade to the best rooms in the place on the second floor about 4 Meters walk to the sand and views that will take your breath away.
I can not recomend this hotel enough, it really made our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    150
    51
    12
    7
See reviews for
38
381
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

I have just returned from the Muri Beach Club Hotel and had a great time in Rarotonga. The rooms are very clean and tidy, and the hotel is on the best location on the island in my opinion. Muri Beach has excellent swimming/snorkeling and the hotel is walking distance to most attractions (other than downtown).
The service was ok, they are a bit stingy on towels etc and service can be slow, but it's island time so not really an issue.
The only downside to staying here is really the breakfast/food at The Point which is average at best. An odd thing is the drinks are cheaper in reception that at the bar - and if you are not in a beach front room the mini bar doesn't have alcohol in it, and when I asked about this I was told they don't stock garden or pool rooms, you have to go to the bar or reception, which seems strange for an over 18 only hotel.
Another thing to note is the over 18 rule is only for staying in the hotel, expect children from other resorts on the beach in front of the hotel during the day. Also the average age of the other guests seemed to be only slightly shy of 100 and the happy hour every night I stayed was a non event, so don't expect any sort of party scene.
Still the hotel is only 5 years old and well worth making your base in Rarotonga.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K1w1Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We had 8 nights in a lovely room overlooking the swimming pool. We were there in the NZ school holidays and appreciated the R18 rule. Very clean and tidy. Reception staff were more than helpful. We ate in the Restaurant on our first and last nights and the meals were perfectly fine. The hotel is walking distance to many other great eating spots- try Stefano's two doors down - turn left at the end of the drive way.
Being right on the beach was magnificent though I did feel bad walking into the Bar from the beach dragging white sand with me.We used Island Hopper for our transfers and they were great. Even advising us to think about changing our day trip to Aitutaki to another day after a particualrly spectacular storm the previous evening and we were so glad we did. This is a great place to go to chill out which is exactly what we needed to do. The Bar and restaurant do close early but there are plenty of other places to go to if you want to kick on.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flis4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Muri Beach Club Hotel for 6 nights and had an amazing experience there. We decided to visit the Cook Islands purely for a time to chill and relax- a do nothing type holiday. We were on the first direct flight from Sydney to Rarotonga and it was worth the trip and hope this flight schedule continues. We were very pleased with our hotel choice. After reading reviews and looking at photos of this place on this website our decision was made. It turned out to be the right decision. It is situated in a beautiful part of Rarotonga on Muri Lagoon. Wow what a postcard position. As soon as we arrived it blew us away. The sun was shining, the lagoon was sparkling and the people working at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The pool environment is amazing and very inviting. We spent most of our time either on the beach lounge chairs reading, snorkeling in the lagoon (spotting all kinds of beautiful fish, octopus, eel and many other strange and amazing marine life), laying in the sun pool side reading, swimming in the pool, sipping cocktails, eating at the Point Restaurant (recommend the ocean burgers for lunch and fish and chips) eating at the many other Muri Restaurants, hiring a bike to explore the island for a day (need to get a local licence- be prepared to do a bike test with local police in and out witches hats) and just looking in awe at the island scenery thinking to yourself is this a screen saver or is it the real thing!!! We would definiately recommend this side of the island as it is a quiet and beautiful looking part of the island. The northern part of Rarotonga didn't impress us in terms of scenery. The room was clean. We had a room overlooking the pool with mountain views and a small beach view also. Room 309 is a great room worth recommending. The service staff are friendly and the reception staff are very helpful also. A great Pacific Island holiday. A good alternative to Fiji and Vanuatu.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

My wife and I had a long weekend (5 nights) at this property as a get away from the family. We arrived to check in after midnight and the reservation wasn’t there. It transpired that when booking I had accounted for the international date line and so had they so everything was out by a day. Luckily our room was vacant; however this is something to be aware of if you are coming from New Zealand or Australia.

The property is very nice, the rooms are more like a very nice motel than a true hotel. We had a beachfront room, which we highly recommend. The property sits at one end of Muri Beach. Like most of the lagoon around Rarotonga it is shallow. There is a strong tidal current running past this resort so you need to be a decent swimming to cope with it. Or you walk along the beach a way and the current drops down.

Muri lagoon has many ‘motu’ or islands in it. You can walk across to one at low tide or it is an easy kayak. There are lagoon cruises, but to be honest it is just as easy to kayak and much cheaper.

The food was very nice at the resort. Breakfast was included, our one comment is that arriving in from New Zealand at midnight and with a 2 hour time lag breakfast closed off too early in the morning.

There are some very nice restaurants that are a short walk along Muri Beach. We would recommend the Pacific Resort and the Yacht Club. You have to pre book with both.

The pool area at the hotel was very nice, however most people stayed at the beach. Transport to/from the resort was easy. I wouldn’t recommend hiring a car, get a motor scooter and ‘go local’. It is lots of fun.

It was the coolest of the Pacific Island we have visited in winter, only getting to around 24/25 during the day but cooling off a lot at night.

As a spot for a mid winter get away for a couple we loved it and would do it again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacificTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

We decided to take advantage of a few days off and head over to Rarotonga at short notice - booked on Saturday, arrived Tuesday. Really glad we picked the Muri Beach Club, and appreciated the 'no under 18s' policy. The location is fantastic, and we loved walking along the beach in the morning, snorkelling over to the motu and kayaking too. There are some great restaurants within easy walking distance. If you love snorkelling, take your scooter or the bus to Fruits of Rarotonga and try the reef there - it's amazing! We had a really relaxing and enjoyable break, and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

Could not fault it. Great location right on the beach front. Had room overlooking pool. Staff were all really friendly and nothing was a problem. Would definitely go back as also close to really good restaurants as well in walking distance. Thanks for a great holiday.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SandyV14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.8 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.8 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.6 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
7.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Club Hotel

Property: Muri Beach Club Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 3050, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#4 Spa Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Muri Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muri Beach Club Hotel's unequalled adult only resort location puts guests right at the heart of one of Rarotonga's most outstanding natural features - Muri Lagoon. The lagoon is the island's aquatic playground for superb and safe snorkelling and swimming. With other water sports like kayaking, wind surfing, kite surfing, sailing and glass-bottomed boat rides, there's always an opportunity to get out on the water and away from it all. With Motus (offshore islands) a stones throw away beckons you to enjoy its uninhabitated oasis..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muri Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Hotel
Muri Beach Rarotonga
Muri Beach Club Hotel Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing