We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a rumour everyone should know”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Isa, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a rumour everyone should know”
Reviewed 1 July 2008

Rumours of Romance was the perfect place for our Honeymoon.

The Villa was more romantic, luxurious and spacious than what the website and any photos could show.

Your service and attention to our requirments and help when the flight was delayed was second to none.

We would highly recommend anyone who is looking for accommodation in Rarotonga.

We had a wonderful time there and the only thing bad about it was that we had to leave those wonderful big soft beds behind.

I cannot wait until I have the chance to return there again...

Travis & Megan

  • Liked — The big soft Beds
  • Disliked — No TV in the Bedroom ... but that is not always a bad thing...
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trapper1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    19
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
293
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2008

WOW, WHAT CAN I SAY!

We went to Rumours of Romance (now known as Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa) for our honeymoon June 08 and it is just as beautiful as I have read in every magazine.

From the moment you arrive everything is so relaxing and cruizey you can do as much or as little as you like, Tara and the Staff are so friendly and helpful that you really feel like you’re at home.

We stayed in a Beachfront Villa (thanks to the upgrade that Tara gave us after been mucked around and missed quoted by the travel agent at Flight Centre :-( We were so happy when she contacted us to tell us about the upgrade that she really made us return guest before we even arrived)
The villa was beautiful, another response told us it looks just like the pictures and it really does, which is rare!) Unfortunately the heavy winds prevented us from checking out the lagoon, which is beautiful and even just lying on the beach was a no no, or using the complimentary kayaks- the winds were unusual for that time of year and we just lucked out the entire trip. So the wasn't much swimming in the beautiful pool with waterfall which just makes you relax as you listen, but, we spent hours a day in the spa which was set at 37 degrees. It may have just been us but on the cooler nights it felt like it could have been set at a higher temp. But we didn't mind that. We stayed in villa 2 and didn't get to check out the others except the intimate villa - I had a quick look and it was huge, the pool is a lot larger and both bedrooms were beachfront, the bathrooms had a complete circled glassed walled shower, but because it was central in the villas it didn't have the indoor/outdoor feel that ours did which I preferred. I personally liked the layout of our villa better and when we return, if we have the xtra money I don't think that I would upgrade. The villa was absolutely beautiful! There are no words; you have to see it for yourself. The cute little bridges which cover the small inside streams throughout the villa, the bedrooms and bathrooms are gorgeous and the main bathroom huge with a steaming overhead shower, I never wanted to get out. The deck is awesome with BBQ's front and back, the colour scheme is perfect and the huge living area is the perfect place for that romantic dance. The front deck is also large with lounges (front and back as well) and a table which we would have lived at (if not for the winds)

The Spa was also beautiful and the best massage I have had, she really took care of us and we were very sad to realise we would be heading back to new Zealand without her. Highly recommended.

The Complimentary breakfast was Awesome and huge, most the time it lasted for a starter at lunch as well, we tried both and much preferred the tropical with an awesome smoothie that was just the ticket to start the day.

We got a complimentary champagne lunch hamper which was also delicious - And got the dinner for 2 delivered 1 night for $140.00 by sails restaurant. We hadn't thought it though properly and were starving when it arrived to find a tiny 5 Star portion on our plates and a brownie platter for desert. Needless to say was our own fault. If you do want to go on the cheaper side we found the best takeaways (called FISH AND CHIPS) in aravua which was get, huge, filling and a huge range of options that you could go every nite for around $30 and not even realise you were at a takeaways.

Needless to say everything was fabulous and for all you young ones out the me and my husband are in our early 20's and it was worth every penny, the privacy is complete and the perfect place to get away in total luxury and really treat yourselves. You won't be disappointed; in fact you will probably be like us and already have a savings plan in order for next year. Don't pass up this opportunity, do what you can to experience it even just once.

Hire a scooter from just down the road and if you have a late checkout - make sure you get it for an xtra day and just drop it off when you’re ready as it is more expensive to have it extra hours then a whole day. A must is a scooter - watch out for the dogs!

Check out the island night at the Edgewater it was great!
The Aroa lagoon in front of the Rarotonga is beautiful, and the horse trek was an experience - let's just say even if you experience they wouldn’t move faster then an uncomfortable trot, but the guide was funny and when they say wear shorts WEAR SHORTS, the swim isn't optional it's a must as the ride take you through the lagoon in front of the Rarotonga restaurant (was heaps of fun thou)

We took heaps of food and snacks inc. milk, yoghurt, cheese and all was fine to take in which made up our lunches and snacks for the day as we mostly spent our time inside watching movies from there library - there are hundreds but all quite old. That didn’t bother us though there were heaps we didn’t mind watching again.

I can't recommend any more - check out the photo's I have of the Villa and if you have the chance this place is a must.
Check out there website www.rumours-rarotonga.com the photos are real and there's more variety

Emma and Luke, New Zealand

  • Liked — The Villa
  • Disliked — The Distance from Aravua
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FentonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at Rumours of Romance in the Cook Islands for 1 week for our honeymoon.

After spending a number of hours online researching different Pacific island countries, we chose to visit the Cook Islands due to the accommodation on offer at Rumours. As it was our honeymoon, we wanted something special, but as we are not made of money we also had to stick to a budget. After looking at many different resorts all over the pacific we could not find anything in our price range that we thought looked special, that is until we found Rumours. We went with their Beachside Romance Villa, which at NZ$850 per night is by no means cheap, but when compared with similar accommodation in other areas is very reasonable. We decided to stay 7 nights which included the honeymoon package with over $1000 of extras, including a flight to Aitutaki for a day trip and a champagne brunch. As $850 for one night's accommodation is a lot of money for us at this stage of our lives, I always thought in the back of my mind that I would end up disappointed. I am glad to say that it was quite the opposite.

From the warm welcome at the airport (by Tino I think his name was) and the friendly guided transfer to the hotel, it took us no time at all to get into the laid-back relaxing feeling of "Cook Islands time". When arriving at the villa we found that it was a rare case of the accommodation exceeding the website photos. Everything was as good if not better than we hoped it would be and it really was good quality luxury accommodation. The decor and colours were soft and had the feel of island living while having all the comforts and luxuries. On top of this we had Muri beach right outside which was perfect for snorkelling, kayaking or just going for a walk or soaking up the sun. As Rumours' accommodation is aimed at couples we were happy to find that we had a lot of privacy and peace without having to put up with the noise that comes with family resorts.

The staff at rumours really make the stay that much more enjoyable. Tara and Toni were always friendly with a smile on their faces and always went above and beyond to make the stay stress-free. From delivering breakfast to working around our schedule to service the villa to recommending places to eat or visit, it was the most stress-free and carefree week of our lives, which after the chaos of a wedding is just what we needed.

In summary, Rumours was great value for money luxury. I would not hesitate to recommend it for anyone looking for a romantic getaway and would love to return there myself.

  • Liked — Comfort and luxury
  • Disliked — That I had to leave
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

We spent a great 12 days at Rumours of Romance in Villa #4.
This is our second visit there in less than 10 months. When booking a return trip we weren't sure if "Raro" would live up to our expectations after our great first visit, (our honeymoon). Indeed we had an even better time than the first; even though it rained for some of the days. The weather did not prevent us from getting out and about and enjoying ourselves. The weather was very warm by our standards as when we left Canada it was a cool 8'C. In Raro it was 27'C every day.
The Team at Rumours of Romance are absolutely fantastic, they cater for your needs and are very willing to assist you in any request/planning or booking you desire. They are very familiar with all the amenities on the island and can recommend numerous places to visit or eat. Confirmation of bookings is usually done within a matter of hours.
The villas are well appointed and cared for each day. Your daily breakfasts are freshly prepared each morning and brought to your villa at your chosen time.
As this is an adult orientated place, it is a great place to relax and enjoy the quiet and tranquility of the Cook islands and yet have all the amenitites at your fingertips.
In closing, yes we would definitely recommend Rumours of Romance and we plan to return in July 2009.

Steve and Dori, British Columbia, Canada

  • Liked — The warm and friendly service makes you feel part of the family.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SEASPREE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We stayed in a Beachfront Villa #2, it was just like the web site. The accommodation, location and service was fantastic. Our expectations were exceeded.

The kayaking in the lagoon directly infront of the Villa's is just superb. We even kayaked down to the Little Polynesian for lunch which was a great way to spend an afternoon.

The facilities in the Villa enticed us to want to stay and have BBQ's as we just loved the environment we were in. It really felt very homely.

The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

We stayed there for our 25th wedding anniversary of which we had a Chef and Waiter prepare a meal for us, although it was an expensive way to go, we thoroughly enjoyed the evening, it did help as the weather was superb and the couple that came to the Villa were so friendly we did not feel awkward.

We had many a good experience whilst being on Raratonga, but we must mention the Quad Bikes, that was so much fun, it was wet, muddy and exhilarating.

A definite recommendations from us.

  • Liked — Location, quality, cleanliness, friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Berry-SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2008

We have just got home from Rarotonga where we stayed at Rumours of Romance. We stayed for five nights - the first three in the beachside villa then upgraded for the last two in the ultimate villa. The service was wonderful - everyone was so helpful and we were made to feel so welcome. The place is very private and peaceful. The private facilities (pool and spa) are gorgeous and the views of the lagoon are amazing. Rumours of Romance would have to be one of the nicest places in Rarotonga to stay!!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank kaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2008

What an amazing property, it's a really intimate place with only a few guest you meet either at the beach or the parking lot. This place is designed for you and your couple and even in the rough weather (which we had), you wouldn't complain that much. Altough Raro is a beautiful place you can easily spend your holiday at your villa.

  • Liked — The pool with the waterfall
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
547 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.1 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Property: Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Address: Main Rd, Muri Beach, Muri 1468, Cook Islands (Formerly Rumours of Romance)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Muri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class Award Winning luxury villa accommodation with three villa categories. Each villa has private swimming pool with waterfalls off rocks into pools all set in private courtyards. Spa pools to beachfront villas as well. Movie theatre room option with 2.5 Metre projection system and full surround sound. Absolute beachfront location. Superb four poster beds,all villas having two bathrooms. Waterfall Day Spa which has won many World Travel Awards for 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumours Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Rumours Luxury Villas And Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing