We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Massage I've had!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Riverton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Massage I've had!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay here so I'm just reviewing the Spa side of the Business. Not sure exactly what day somewhere between 13-16 March at mid afternoon.
We came to Raro on honeymoon and I desperately wanted to get a massage but I was a bit indecisive about who to have it with. Drove past Rumours a few times and it looked newish and presented well from the road . I phoned and booked a few hours before I planned to have a massage and they fitted me in no worries. I arrived and they took me straight away always using my name, the lady, sorry don't know her name, was professional and very nice and out me at ease. Room was lovely. The massage was by far the best massage ever, I had one the week before for my wedding in NZ and it doesn't even compare! Faultless from start to finish, was for at least the full hour and so relaxing, was the hot stone one. The lady showed me the room where they have one with a shower that runs over you, looked amazing, just wish I went back and tried that one too.
This massage will take some beating!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Kia Orana Alicia. So pleased you thought highly enough of our Waterfall Spa at Rumours to take the time to do a review on it. We really pride ourselves on the quality of our Spa which is why it has won the World Travel Awards Best Resort Spa for the last three years in a row, and we have just been advised that Rumours was the winning Best Resort Boutique Spa for the Cook Islands in 2014 as well. Lovely to get your feedback and gives us great satisfaction to hear that you enjoyed it so much. Thank you again. Hope your overall trip to the Cook Islands was a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    19
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
276
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

If you really want to experience the best of accommodation in the Cook Islands then Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa is the place to stay. The villas are absolutely amazing with two beautiful king bedrooms, each with luxurious ensuites, fully equipped kitchen complete with coffee machine and extremely spacious living room but the icing on the cake is the totally private pool (with waterfall) and spa on one side of your villa and then the huge deck leading straight on to the beach on the other. My husband and I just couldn't get over how beautiful it was and after a late night flight arrival followed by the private pick up at the airport we were so excited when we saw our villa we had a lot of trouble winding down to go to sleep.

The breakfast which was delivered each morning was fantastic and the fruit smoothies to die for. Rumours has it all, a fantastic location, great snorkelling straight off our beach, restaurants within walking distance and the most friendly management and staff. We felt so at home (a very luxurious one) that it was very hard to leave and imagine that someone else would be enjoying our private little piece of paradise when we left.

This is the type of place that you imagine the rich and famous stay at (and I believe they do!).

Room Tip: We had Villa no 4 - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Kia Orana V & D. Really appreciate your kind comments on your recent stay at Rumours, and extra happy because it was a special holiday for you both and even more important that you enjoyed your time here. Toni's smoothies are something else aren't they ! Nobody can ever quite get them like she can - must be the amount of fresh fruit she bundles into them. They're really good. Villa 4 is a staff favourite too - we all have our own personal preferences and you can ask 7 different people and get 7 different opinions, which I guess is good as it means all villas have something that makes them unique. Hope all is well with you back in Maroochydore and we get to meet up at some time in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Absolutely amazing facility - it really was luxury as the title suggests.
We stayed in a beach front bungalow villa for a wedding anniversary- equipped with a private spa (over looking the beach), a fully private pool and BBQ area. The kitchen was modern, the bed was comfortable and in room water feature was a nice touch.
On the one day we weren't blessed with perfect weather - the modern Hifi system (complete with hundreds of movies, tv series!) kept us entertained..

Friendly, helpful staff and a truly idylic location.. can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Kia Orana folks. Great to hear that you enjoyed (and congratulations on) your wedding anniversary at Rumours. Nice to come for such a special time. Pleased also you enjoyed all the movies and TV series on the hard drive in your villa. Some people say why would you want to go away and just watch movies, but often at home it's not so easy to just relax with other demands pressing all the time, and after a day in the sun, or a day where there is no sun - nice to have the option to just chill out and relax. I think we are nearly to the 450 mark with what are on the hard drives now, so plenty of choice. Anyway, thank you for taking the time to do this review and it sounds as though we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some point in the future. All the best for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014

It's like nothing we have ever experienced before- absolute paradise on earth!
The moment my husband and I arrived to Rarotonga we were greeted by a friendly face to pick us up from the airport from a very late flight. We were taken to our villa and from the moment we stepped into villa 4 we gasped with absolute delight! It's everything and more than we could have ever wished for- stunning views over the lagoon, beautiful, secluded swimming pool with a waterfall and a spa- no matter how strung up and stressed you maybe, you just cant help but relax!
The staff are very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. We just couldn't fault the whole package.

We also visited the Rumours waterfall spa which was just icing on the cake and also highly recommended which matches the awards it has won

Absolutely flawless from the moment we arrived to the moment we left! My husband and I will never forget our stay at this beautiful location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Kia Orana friends. So pleased to hear that your holiday was so enjoyable. You had pretty warm weather when you were here - (as it still is), but perfect for enjoying the waterfalls and pool on one side of your villa and the lagoon/kayaks/snorkelling on the other side. Also pleased that you enjoyed your time in the spa. I'm not sure whether I go more to enjoy the airconditioned comfort or the treatments, but in the middle of summer, both are great. Do hope you are feeling rested and refreshed now that you are back at work and will look forward to your promised return in the near future. Take care and thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We travelled as two couples and shared a villa in November 2013. The sun shone everyday.
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the beachfront villa.The villa was truly amazing. 5 star. The beds were so comfortable and everything was provided, including a very delicious breakfast every morning. The location was amazing, our the deck overlooked the beach, 5 steps down from the deck and you were on the sand. The Villa is within walking distance to so many restaurants and a great coffee shop. We did hire a car (very cheap) and went around the island and visited restaurants further afield, but there isn't really the need as restaurants have drivers to pick you up and drop you back for a small fee. I can't recommend Rumours more highly.

Room Tip: All the villas are lovely but the beachfront villa means you wake up looking at the ocean. Heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Kia Orana friends. Really appreciate your review, and I have to tell you that the sun is still shining here ! Probably a few degrees hotter than it was during your visit though. We are heading into the mid thirties in the middle of the day now but of course that means it's perfect for using the pools and it's lovely to hear the waterfalls going and the guests enjoying "being cool". Yes it's pretty special isn't it, when you can wake up and the lagoon is only footsteps away. Do hope all is well with you back home and that you are fully rested and ready for 2014. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My wife and I, along with another couple, stayed here for 6 days in December,2013.
We were allocated Bungalow No.2 and it was fantastic !!!!!
I will not repeat all the previous superlatives other than to confirm it lived up to our expectations.
The bedrooms and all the other facilities right down to the kayaks and snorkelling equipment
The kitchen was slightly tiered but did not impact in anyway our enjoyment of the Bungalow. We used the gas barbecue on 2 evenings and it was excellent.
Tony arrived every morning with our pre-ordered, mountainous breakfast and turned over the bedrooms and towels daily.
John the driver was also hand to collect and return us to the Airport (sadly).
The location, private facilities and stunning views made this to be our Holiday of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Must go for a beach front and there are only 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Kia Orana Mars and Bob, Thank you very much for your lovely review. So pleased you had a great holiday and for you to say that it was the holiday of a lifetime gives us a lot of satisfaction - in that we are doing our job as we should. The breakfasts are something to look forward to each day aren't they - I often look at them as they are on their way into the villas and want to say - where's mine ! Maybe we will get the chance to have you visit us again at some point in the future, but in the meantime have a safe trip back to the UK and I do hope your time in Rarotonga has refreshed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Spent first half of our honeymoon here in August. Location, facility, amenities, meals, service were all outstanding. Grant saw to every need, made great recommendations. Excellent choice if you are headed to Raro.

Room Tip: No bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamarack1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Kia Orana friends. Really appreciate your positive review of Rumours and so pleased that you were looked after well. A honeymoon is a very special holiday and one that hopefully is (and should be) remembered fondly. Do hope you are both settling well into married life and maybe we will see you back at Rumours at some point in the future for a special anniversary ! All the very best and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.1 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
476 reviews
6.9 mi away
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Property: Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Address: Main Rd, Muri Beach, Muri 1468, Cook Islands (Formerly Rumours of Romance)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Muri
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#2 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class Award Winning luxury villa accommodation with three villa categories. Each villa has private swimming pool with waterfalls off rocks into pools all set in private courtyards. Spa pools to beachfront villas as well. Movie theatre room option with 2.5 Metre projection system and full surround sound. Absolute beachfront location. Superb four poster beds,all villas having two bathrooms. Waterfall Day Spa which has won many World Travel Awards for 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumours Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Rumours Luxury Villas And Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing