We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Waterfall Spa Facility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Visited Maricel and Myrna at the Rumours Luxury Waterfall Spa Facility on our recent trip to Rarotonga. The girls were great at our treatments selected as a few of our family members visited whilst on holiday, one family member even making 2 trips.
Thanks girls, well relaxed and we enjoyed our time at your Waterfall Spa Facility. Would warmly recommend to others.

Room Tip: It was only the Waterfall Spa Facility we used, not the complex itself.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank AsureSundownerMotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Kia Orana. Lovely to hear that your time in the Spa was such an enjoyable experience for you all. Maricel and Myrna are great and they are not only very good at their profession, but they genuinely love the people they deal with and it's very important to them that folks enjoy their time in the Spa. I have passed on your review to the girls who will be very happy to see it. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
There are newer reviews for Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We just got back from 8 days at Rumours. Grant and Carol did an amazing job of making everything easy for us. We were thrilled to be upgraded to a beach front villa which made our trip even more special. Everything was well organised, the breakfasts are wonderful and nothing is a problem. Thank you to Taylor, Tony and Jone too. We are already planning on a return visit. The waterfall spa facility just 500 metres away was excellent and would definitely go back for another hot stone massage or facial next time too. 20% off the spa prices made the costs reasonable. We love rarotonga and have stayed at other places in the past but now we have found rumours I doubt we will be able to stay anywhere else again! Cheers Anna and Simon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annamcn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Kia Orana Friends, Lovely to hear from you so quickly after you arrived back home. You were delightful guest to have stay which is why it is so great to hear that you will be returning and that we will have the opportunity to show you some more Rumours hospitality. But more importantly, will have the chance to meet up with you again - we look forward to this with our returning guests who come back more as friends. Thank you both again and we do hope that life treats you well throughout 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

4 stars, 5 stars, I am stuggling.
Ok, it worth five, let's see why:
the villa is absolutely amazing (make sure you have a beachfront one); the decoration is very nice, the bed is ultra comfortable, sheets and towels are high quality, the yard with the swimming pool and the jacuzzi is very romantic: these villas invite you to relax, enjoy life and your love.

Nevertheless, I will add 2 points, and this why I give "only" 4 stars.

This accomodation is far from being cheap - ok, they sell a luxury product and it is even in the name. So let's be "luxury"… As you will see there is no breakfast included. We thought "no worries", we will add it there. I did not think about taking notes or a picture of the menu, but the problem is that the breakfast they propose for delivery in the villa is extremely expensive: like "are you kidding me??". I do not remember exactly - and I am sure the management is going to answer to this review - I would say around $150AUD per 2, for a "normal" breakfast (to be confirmed - whatever it shocked us). We were on honeymoon, not really paying attention to price, but please, I understand that Rarotonga is a remote island and that food supply is limited, but do not exaggerate.

My suggestion for the management is to propose a simple breakfast included (as they do at Aitutaki Escape) and/or to make a scooter available for each villa. Indeed, we stayed for 3 nights, the time you arrive, you recover from the jet lag, you understand how it works, etc, we "waste" time renting the scooter. If you want to walk, the location of the villa is a good 10 min walk on the road to reach the village - not pretty safe and not very nice to do in the morning, without having anything to eat before, by 30 degrees and 80% humidity.

For all the rest, amazing villa, very nice beach, the driver was nice, but the price for the breakfast is outrageous.

A shame.

Room Tip: Beachfront villa is a must have !
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank JulieLND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

HI TRIPADVISOR: I did send through a second Management Response regarding this review and the issue of breakfast, so was this one OK to post up as a response. Not sure what I did wrong with the first one I did, but hopefully the second one is good. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We went to Rumours as part of our honeymoon and the beach front villa we got clearly exceeded all expectations. A yakuzi on the balcony, two double bedrooms and two bathrooms in pristine condition.
Breakfast was delivered every morning but otherwise there was no interaction with the staff unless requested.
Other made an amazing honey moon location I can only recommend.

Do bring a car or rent a bike though. There is not much in walking distance to get food.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rootero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Kia Orana, A big thank you for your kind review. Lovely to hear that your honeymoon at Rumours was enjoyed so much. It is great for us to hear that our villas/service exceeded expectations, rather than quite not live up to expectations - so really appreciate y our comments. Do hope all is well for you both over on the other side of the world and that you remember your time in the South Seas so pleasantly. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent three nights at Rumours on our honeymoon. Staff were very welcoming, and generous with their time and knowledge. The villa was enormous; nice tall ceilings; well-equipped kitchen facilities - we loved being able to cook our own breakfasts! We also ordered the DIY BBQ - excellent. Really felt like we were starting a home life together there and then on our honeymoon. The TV had a few hundred movies on demand if you love to unwind in front of a good film. The private pool and glass-bricked shower were very special. Privacy was respected. Gorgeous destination (especially in April). Just spectacular days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamON06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Kia Orana friends, Thank you William for posting your review on your stay. It was great being able to meet you personally while you were at Rumours and a real pleasure to do anything we could to make your special honeymoon holiday even more enjoyable. We have lots of comments on the DIY Barbeque's as well as the fully cheffed ones, both are great, but being able to do your own with everything provided when you want to have it, very relaxing. Hope all is well with you as you return to work back in Sydney, and certainly hope the rest of the year goes to plan as you settle into married life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed at Rumours for a week 7 -13 April - I didn't want to go home it was so incredible. We were celebrating our honeymoon so I had done quite a lot of research and decided upon a package with Rumours, I was not disappointed. In arriving into Rarotonga we were greeted at the airport and then transported to our room, I thought a mistake had been made (I booked a resort room) as we entered this incredible villa with bi-folds open to display 180 degree views of the reef & ocean, spa on the deck, even a waterfall feature with bridge to get to the bed - it was absolutely amazing. Found out upon reading the arrival letter on the table that we had been upgraded, we could not believe it! Thank you SO much Rumours, we had simply the BEST time!! Our highlights of our trip; having the Rumours Day Spa next door to the villa and being pampered for 4 hrs like a princess, seeing stingray in the reef directly out from our deck of villa, hiring scooters and exploring the island and even getting a Cook Islands drivers license from the local police station, complimentary snorkel & kayaks to explore the reef, our very own chef to cook us dinner one night (I think next time I would have this on the first night we arrived, as we didn't really feel like going out after the flight), exploring a different restaurant every night, traditional Cook Island dinner & dance show, Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruises...The service at Rumours was sensational, Toni was wonderful to deal with, so unobtrusive and just took care of all of our activity bookings and requirements, we were made to feel so welcome we felt like we were in our own home - very relaxing. Our congratulations honeymoon basket of bubbles and goodies was very lovely. We enjoyed our time at Rumours so much we had a groundhog day, we were wondering how time just seemed to slow right down until we discovered we had missed a day and we had to leave the next day - boohoo! Island life on Rarotonga is the best, everyone is so friendly, but not pushy - just letting you be to enjoy your day but always there if you need any help. We enjoyed our stay - absolutely magic, words can't really describe. Hope to be back soon, Megan & Mick:-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megsjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Kia Orana Megan and Mick. Great to hear that your honeymoon was such a success. It is a real special time in your lives and if we at Rumours have added to making it so memorable in a good way, then we're very satisfied with that. Yes the Spa set into the deck is a great idea isn't it, especially when you have the ocean, the stars, the beach and the reef all within your viewing scope. Hope new hubby sees your point of view in installing one in your deck back home ! It was great to have you stay and we do hope that you maybe come back to Rumours for an anniversary maybe in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Love love love this place. Rarotonga's beauty and appeal was enhanced ten fold by the fantastic location. We were looked after like family and it was the perfect mix of self sufficient living and resort infrastructure benefits
The spa was epic and well worth a booking
The whole team made the experience world class
There is no where else that compares on the whole island
Can't wait to go back xxx

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VadaHercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Public Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Kia Orana friends. So pleased that you enjoyed your time both at Rumours and the Waterfall Spa. It is quite relaxing down there isn't it. Sorry we didn't have an absolute beachfront villa available for your stay, but at least villa 5 gave you a peek at the lagoon and is still only steps to the beach which is good. Do hope the rest of this year goes well for you both and we will look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future. Thank you for your very kind comments on the team at Rumours. They are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.2 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.1 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Address: Main Rd, Muri Beach, Muri 1468, Cook Islands (Formerly Rumours of Romance)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
#1 Spa Hotel in Muri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Muri
Price Range: £460 - £906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class Award Winning luxury villa accommodation with three villa categories. Each villa has private swimming pool with waterfalls off rocks into pools all set in private courtyards. Spa pools to beachfront villas as well. Movie theatre room option with 2.5 Metre projection system and full surround sound. Absolute beachfront location. Superb four poster beds, Our all villas having two bathrooms. Rumours guests also enjoy a 20% in house discount on treatments at our Waterfall Day Spa, which has won many World Travel Awards and Luxury Spa awards for 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and 2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumours Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Rumours Luxury Villas And Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing