We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Staying at Rumours was the highlight of entire NZ/Aus/Rarotonga trip. Yes, Rarotonga is lovely, but what made it so special was our stay at Rumours. The unit we were given, with a full sea view, was the most luxurious I've even seen. We loved waking up to see the waves crashing over the coral reef, having breakfast on the terrace by the beach, and bbq'ing at night-time on the private terrace at the back. Swimming in our own pool under the stars was gorgeous, We could have stayed there forever. The staff were so kind and helpful, it was like staying with family friends. We took photos of the breakfasts delivered to our unit each morning, they were so nicely decorated with flowers. Having to hand back the keys to "our" palace when we left after 6 glorious days was very sad. If we ever get back to the South Pacific, Rumours would be the main reason for us to visit Rarotonga.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Welcome back home to Norway. The staff were delighted to see your review and really appreciate the fact that your stay at Rumours made your whole South Pacific experience so memorable. There aren't many places in the world where you can be so close to hearing the constant movement of the waves on the reef, yet still have the quietness of so few people, no traffic etc. Toni does a great job of the breakfasts doesn't she, and the touch of Tipani flowers is her choice - she likes to make the breakfasts look as attractive as she can, and islandish ! Do hope your trip home went well, and certainly although we are a long way away, do hope that at some time in the future, you can make it back to our beautiful shores. Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    19
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
33
298
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Rumours was the absolute highlight of our round-the-world honeymoon trip. Our beachfront villa was superb. Finished to a very high standard (I loved the rain shower!) and when they say beachfront they really mean it! The veranda leads right on to the beach where kayaks and snorkelling gear are provided for use in the stunning lagoon. If the wind is blowing in the wrong direction you have the option of a private courtyard at the back of the villa which has a pool and a hot tub! Breakfast was excellent, delivered fresh every morning for you to prepare in your villa's kitchen. The team at Rumours are top notch. Carol was so helpful from start to finish from helping us with a car rental, to dinner recommendations and even having some artwork delivered from the markets! We would fully recommend this to anyone who wants a luxury hideaway on the island! Must do things include a day trip to Aitutaki, the Koka lagoon trip and the island show and dinner in Muri. Fantastic!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GregBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Kia Orana friends. We really appreciate the fact that you did this review for Rumours before you even left the property - so using some of your holiday time to do this was amazing, and we thank you very much. You were awesome guests and it was a pleasure to see you each time you came into the office for a chat. Your piece of artwork will be a nice continual reminder of your time in the Cook Islands, made extra special as it was your honeymoon. Do hope you had a good flight back home (despite the hour of your departure), and that you are ready now to head into life as a married couple. Sounds as though you have some exciting years ahead. Hope to meet up with you at some point in the future. Thank you again G & J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in the 'older' property - The Rumours Spa Villa which is about 500 meters away from the new villas. There are only 2 spa villas and they are next to the Rumours Spa - quite convenient to get a massage and retreat back into the Villa.

The villa sits right infront of the lagoon and the view to the ocean. It was amazing quiet and a magical feeling of just hearing the waves. Even though there were other properties all along the Muri beach, somehow, we hardly had any beach walkers or loud events - it was really nice and 'secluded'.

Just be prepared with mosquito repellents. We kept our doors facing the ocean wide open every night as we just enjoyed listening to the waves. Be prepared to cook your own breakfast. Wish there was a restaurant as on holiday I have a philosophy of not cooking so if you are like me - you may have to make the adjustment to enjoy this part of Muri Beach and the Spa Villa itself.

Rumours Spa Villa is within a good walking distance to the closes shops in Muri Beach and the night markets.

We definitely had a brilliant time - was just us and the water!

Room Tip: Rooms should have wifi included in the tarriff, even if it is on a limited basis - as it is importan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKannan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Kia Orana D & K (Guidelines prevent use of personal names). Lovely to hear from you and I hope you had a good trip back home. It was so nice to meet you for your short stay at Rumours and we really appreciate your comments. So sorry Damien missed out on his diving trip, but hopefully next visit ! It is lovely and quiet down at the Spa Villas isn't it. Just the thing to recharge the batteries before heading back into everyday life at home. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Romance Villa was stunning, we absolutely loved our stay and found the staff very kind and helpful. We did not want to leave the beautiful view from our decking, Nicest place we have stayed in by far.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeB492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Kia Orana J & T. Great to hear from you. Pleased that you really enjoyed your holiday, and yes the views from the deck are pretty special aren't they. Not many places in the world where you can go and be so close to the water. Each day seems to present different lagoon colours, plus the reef is always changing with high surf, then next day - nothing. Anyway, hope life is treating you well back in Perth, and it was our pleasure to have you stay. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southland
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our 4th time to the lovely Rarotonga. First time we have stayed at rumours it was above and beyond our expectation. Owners and staff were more than helpful and friendly.We have already recommended Rumours to someone planning a trip soon. Defiantly would recommend Rumours to anyone wanting luxury accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Kia Orana friends. Awesome review - thank you. Appreciate your recommending Rumours to your friends and hopefully if they come and stay, we can ensure that they enjoy their time with us as much as you obviously did. Do hope it's not too cold for you back in the South, and when you feel like warmer weather again, will look forward to welcoming you back ! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was a surprise birthday trip for my sister and I. We had a pick up from the airport by a lovely and friendly man and,once he had loaded the luggage he handed me a check in form to fill in with credit card details and waited until I had done this, I thought it was a bit strange but thinking of how bumpy the road can be probabily a good idea, as it turned out it was great as we could go straight to our room. What a "WOW" moment, we where both blown away with the place - more a Villa than a mere "suite" we had a room each and our own pool - how devine! The first thing we saw when we arrived was a welcome basket, which was a nice addition as it meant that we had some nibbles to start off with and did not have to rush out. The beds where comfortable and I would put the air con on at night to help me sleep. I managed to talk my sister into going Kayaking, it was so fun! We where back from the beach but still had the beach view from our room. They have lots of TV programmes and movies on a hard drive in the room as only one channel in Raro, this came in very handy and we managed to watch some American programmes we had not seen before.
We had the washing machine next door and only had one night where someone decided to dry their clothes at 11pm at night. The staff where very friendly and helpful, just be mindful that no room servicing is done on Sundays so ask for extra towels on the Saturday. We had a flight at 4.30pm and where able to do a late check out which was so handy. The only down side was my blonde highlights turned blue, must have been something in the pool cleaner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsimpsondusty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Kia Orana to you both. Have been thinking about you and D (Tripadvisor don't recommend using personal names) and it really was great to see how much you both enjoyed your stay. You were quite adventurous to go kayaking - and just sorry you got the heavier of our kayaks to lug back up the beach. The villa you were in is the smallest of the Rumours villas, but personally I think it's a lovely little villa - still having the private pool, two bedrooms and two bathrooms, and is tucked away a little more than the others. Hope you are enjoying (if that's the word), being back at work and please pass on our regards to D as well. Lovely getting to meet you both when you were here. Thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great place to stay, friendly and helpful staff. Walk off your deck onto a very nice beach . Not really a swimming beach until you get 50m off shore beyond the coral, but you have a private pool and spa anyway.
The villa is self contained with full cooking facilities and a BBQ. Home theatre system included in villa 3.
The showers are awesome.
No restaraunt on site but plenty near by, hire a scooter or walk. Breakfast is included, delivered at your choice of time.
This is an excellent place to stay. If your looking for a large 5 star resort Rarotonga doesn't have one, rumours is a small high quality accomodation but doesn't have the room service and other on site amenities of the larger resorts.
Wifi is not included in the cost of your room.

Room Tip: If you have the spare cash upgrade to the premium villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitchett14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumours7, Guest Relations Manager at Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Kia Orana to you both. Really appreciate the fact that you did this review for Rumours while you were still staying with us - that's very special so a big thank you for that. Our staff really love hearing that they have done their job well - they do try very hard to ensure that our guests get a high standard of service and attention when with us as the guests require, which I guess is why some guests leave more as friends than guests. Do hope you enjoy your time out at Aitutaki. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.9 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.8 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.1 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa

Property: Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Address: Main Rd, Muri Beach, Muri 1468, Cook Islands (Formerly Rumours of Romance)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Muri
#1 Luxury Hotel in Muri
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class Award Winning luxury villa accommodation with three villa categories. Each villa has private swimming pool with waterfalls off rocks into pools all set in private courtyards. Spa pools to beachfront villas as well. Movie theatre room option with 2.5 Metre projection system and full surround sound. Absolute beachfront location. Superb four poster beds,all villas having two bathrooms. Waterfall Day Spa which has won many World Travel Awards for 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rumours Luxury Villas Hotel Muri
Rumours Luxury Villas And Spa Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing