We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King's Beach Villas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King's Beach Villas
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

The most outstanding vacation we have had in decades. The villa was spacious, clean, with everything we needed. Excellent for two people with room for one or two more. Right on the beach, only 20 feet from the lagoon. A constant sea breeze keeping the temperature more than comfortable 24/7. Only 10 minutes drive from downtown shopping or a 15 min walk to beautiful resort restaurants. The clear aqua lagoon affords excellent snorkling with multicoloured tropical fish in warm waters. Having the villa with a full kitchen and dining area allowed for quiet lazy meals at our convenience when we didn't feel like eating out. The villa manager,Ina, kept us supplied with clean linens and towels in a friendly, inobtrusive manner. We would hightly reccomend this villa and look forward to a return visit.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank slvrfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    8
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2007

The Cook Islands are beautiful.... don't spoil it by staying here.

It took no time at all to experience how horrible the host (Ina Tuatai, she is not a Cook Islander) was, and we went elsewhere. Just go to one of the resorts, they're not much more expensive, they are just as private, will have nicer facilities, and will have beautiful Cook Islanders who pride themselves on customer service. And somehow the resort restaurants menu's are cheaper than what you can make meals for yourself.... I'm sure the supermarket adds a 'tourist premium'!!

Just remember, you're going to Rarotonga to experience the culture, the people, the food.... not the King Beach Villa alternative.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank pp_simple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2006

We stayed at Kings Beach Villas on Rarotonga's Muri Beach in late December 2006. The property we stayed in was very comfortable with very tidy presentation. The villa was serviced daily by Ina(Host) and she always made sure we had fresh towels, cereals and milk on a daily basis. The location is perfect and just under 10 minutes walk to the islands best resort 'The Pacific Resort', their you are able to dine at the restaurant and bar and swimming right out the front is probably the best and safest on the island. You are also within close proximity of the motu(islands) in the lagoon which you can swim out to or even walk to on low tide. The property is competively priced compared to other similiar properties on the island and all though it doesn't have the flash facilities onsite you are surrounded by the lagoon and kayaks can be hired just next door. You are also within 5 minutes walk to three local corner shops selling fresh fruit and veges and bread etc etc. The only negatives were the lack of kayaks as it felt uncomfortable always having to ask the neighbour to borrow his. We felt it would benefit the property if say 2 kayaks were purchased. Sun loungers are available. Considering everything we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay in Rarotonga. We want to say a big thank you to Ina and her family. Thank you......

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The Low Pressure Shower + Lack of Kayaks
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2006

The review by Jamitchri nearly put us staying at Kings Beach Villas.

Just as well we didn't take any notice of their review. The place was in a great location, the snorkelling out front by the Motu was as good as anywhere on the Island and we were impressed by the service and friendliness of Ina and her family.

The beach is typical of any pacific beach inside a reef where dead coral is simply a fact of life.

The villas were clean, well serviced, and unlike properties close by we had no ants inside the villa. This was the most common complaint from occupiers of other villas.

We would recommend this property as great value for money.


Frank & Lyn
NZ

  • Liked — Great location, value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Atawhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2006

Well, it's right on the beach of Muri Lagoon, directly opposite the southern most Motu (little island). The decks of the villas (there's two of them) are maybe 10m from the waters edge. The location is very pretty. That's about all I can say that's good about the place.

The water out front is very shallow, and very rocky. Swimming isn't really an option. Although, if you've got reef shoes you can walk out to the nearest Motu where the snorkelling is very good. The beach is much nicer further up the lagoon. It is a plesant, and easy walk to get there (10min stroll), but there are several properties that have the prime positions like Vara's (inexpensive), Beachcomber (mid-range) and the Pacific (very nice).

The villas themselves are way below expectation. The website claims that they are 1st class, don't believe it. Our kitchen was fine, and the bed was comfortable, but there's just a feeling of 'cheap & nasty' about it. Tiare's (which is right next door) seemed to be of a much better quality.

Lastly, the owner is not nice to deal with. Don't let any correspondance fool you, she's not Cook Island Maori, and she doesn't have a very friendly demeanour in person. If you get a quote from her, make sure that you take hard copies of your correspondance with you. She tried to claim that we owed her much more money than was agreed, after much argument she realised that she was wrong, but then she got very aggresive and tried to kick us out anyway. We were travelling with a baby, and were facing spending out last night on the island in our rental car. In the end, we got so frustrated with the situation that we did leave. We fortunately came across the most lovely people you could hope for at Palm Grove who went out of their way to help us out. We contacted the Police about our situation, after making their own enquiries they were very sympathetic and not surprised with the difficulties we had.

You can do much better! It's probably best to stay with a hotel/resort. The quality is so much better, they have all the facilities you'd want (snorkels, canoes etc. usually available for free to guests), and the staff are actually there to ensure you have a the nicest time possible. Any $'s you think you're saving at somewhere like Kings, you will end up spending on the things that are included it the cost at most other places.

Helpful?
38 Thank Jamitchri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
4.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
0.8 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Beach Villas

Property: King's Beach Villas
Address: Muri Beach | Muri Lagoon area, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
King`s Beach Villas Hotel Muri
Kings Beach Hotel
King's Beach Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing