We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Location - but needs a LOT of TLC”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Muri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
King's Beach Villas
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location - but needs a LOT of TLC”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Kings Beach Villas are situated on what I think is the prettiest beach in Rarotonga - Muri Beach - and is easy walking distance to 5 restaurants/cafes; hire cars; post office; mini-marts; petrol stations; internet access points and takeaways.

There are three little 'motus' (islands) off shore with waving palm trees to enjoy; golden sand; and we were closest to one of the best snorkelling spots - just to the right of the motu opposite. Not a lot of pretty coral, and visibility was cloudy - but it didn't matter as the sheer numbers and variety of fish meant it was like swimming through an aquarium. Shoals numbering hundreds of fish streamed past me as I swam amongst them - fabulous.

All tropical accommodation of a certain age gets worn and shabby - and Kings Beach Villas were no exception. It was very well equipped even down to first aid kits; mozzie bite soother; tsunami evacuation pack (!) and the kitchen had everything we needed. The fridge was excellent - but we needed to buy drinking water. The ants mentioned by another traveller were evident but not a real bother - self-seal plastic bags is all you need to stop them foraging. And they had kayaks too - one each - a real treat.

The bed was wonderful. Large, firm - and we slept really well to the sound of distant reef-thunder and shooshing waves just outside the door.

But the shower was awful. We were told that water pressure was really low due to no rain. At best it trickled and quite often stopped completely - usually when I had a hair full of shampoo. I resorted to a bucket and dipper of hot water to sluice myself off.

I kept reminding myself that this was beach front Muri and that was what we were paying for - but really it was overpriced for the facilities. The landlord is an absentee Canadian and he needs a good kick up the bum to improve them. It rained hard while we were there - and apparently we were lucky the rain didn't come in because on our last day were were told about the roof leak (which explained the strange furniture arrangement in the lounge to keep the spare bed dry!) If it had rained and leaked I would have been furious.

The phone also didn't work - terrible interference and impossible to use. Luckily I had a mobile. No wi-fi access either even though there was a modem in the room.

The saving grace is the position - less than a stone's throw from high or low tide; a perfect strolling beach; everything you need within a maximum of 10 minutes walk - and that gorgeous, thundering, pristine, white reef foam in the distance, fronted by the perfect turquoise fish-filled lagoon behind waving palms and casuarinas. Sitting out on the deck sipping wine and glorying in the view - well, I would probably go back just for that - but until they upgrade and refurbish my husband definitely wouldn't.

Room Tip: We stayed in Number 2 - maybe Number 1 was better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank TaupoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    8
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
7
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have stayed at Kings Beach Villas 3 times now and have booked for another trip in Nov 2013. Ina is the most wonderful host & is always helpful. She keeps us informed via email on any questions we have raised.The Villa is lovely, clean, tidy and good value for money. We love being so close to the sea and the snorkling is great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A perfect place to stay right on the beach with kayaks provided and easy walking distance to restaurants and muri lagoon tourist attractions. We stayed in villa one which was well equipped with everything needed to self cater. Good value for money, would definately go back there to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 416Christina416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at Kings Beach Villas for 12 days. Ina organised our transfers from the airport and for our first trip to the Cook Islands, this made it hassle free. We were deposited to this beautiful beach side villa, late in the afternoon.
On arrival, we were very pleased with the accomodation. Separate bedroom (with it's huge bed), and a separate bathroom and toilet. Ceiling fans in both rooms weren't used as it never really got too hot, but we loved the fly screens over the windows, which allowed us to keep our windows open at night.
Ina had provided us with a fruit basket full of pawpaws, oranges and bananas. There was also coffee, tea, sugar and milk provided.
A 10 second walk to the beach, and there we were, in paradise. What an amazing view.
We had 2 kayaks with the unit and 3 beach loungers. Needless to say, those kayaks were used fairly frequently as were the sun loungers.
The unit was fully self contained and although we were only a couple of minutes walk to a restaurant and takeaway, we cooked in the unit most nights and ate out on the deck with a glass or two of wine. You can choose to socialise with your neighbours and or spend your time alone. We felt very welcome and made some really good friends at Muri.
There is so much to do in the area, and we loved every minute.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed here for 10 days, it was idyllic! The hostess was friendly & helpful, a lovely lady. We enjoyed all of the amenities, im particular the canoes, The house was well eqipped with essentials , great to have fly screens on all the windows & ceiling fans. Not the flashest place but had everything you need & more. Even resident lizards & roosters! The location was awesome, right on the beach and lovely weather too! We would love to go back!

Room Tip: Both villas the same, our friends were next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bonny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Kings Beach Villas is like a typical kiwi bach - everything you need in a cute, compact little building.

The location was fantastic, right on Muri beach, just a few seconds walk from the front porch to the water.

There were a couple of kayaks which were free to use. We took them over to the island that Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruizes goes on which was a fun way to get some exercise.

This isn't resort accommodation at all so if you're after luxury, it's probably not the place for you. But if you're after privacy, practicality and the ability to self-cater, you'll be as pleased as we were.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank pink_kiwi_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Kings beach villas are not flash, but they are very clean, well equipped and maintained. If you are looking for resort accommodation then don’t stay here. The location is amazing and you can walk to everything. They are definitely value for money if you want to be self sufficient. We would definitely stay there again. Ina was a great host, nothing was a problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aimzlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.3 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.0 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
4.1 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.0 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Beach Villas

Property: King's Beach Villas
Address: Muri Beach | Muri Lagoon area, Muri, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Muri
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
King`s Beach Villas Hotel Muri
Kings Beach Hotel
King's Beach Villas Muri, Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing