We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had the pleasure of staying at the cottages way back in 2004”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muri Beach Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Muri B&B and Inns
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I had the pleasure of staying at the cottages way back in 2004”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The cottages have to be one of the best ever locations on the planet to have a break. Due to extending my time there I ended up staying in all three accomodation options. All were great, but the beach cottage location can't be beaten. The kindness of Gwen and the generosity of fellow guests went above and beyond any expectation I had. Thank you for the most wonderful of holidays.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glencuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had a superb week at Muri Beach Cottages. We are the kind of people who normally like to stay off the tourist track a bit and this has the perfect balance of being at the quiet end of Muri beach whilst in easy reach of all local facilities. We stayed in the basic but comfortable garden studio, which is incredibly good value. Gwen the owner is just lovely as is the cat Little Boy and her shy dog Zoe. We loved the fact that every time we set off down the beach for a walk Zoe would always trot along with us and even chase the occasional stick!

The beach immediately outside disappears with high tide but you only need to walk for 2 minutes in either direction to find another nice beach. The snorkeling is just amazing especially out towards the reef at the fruits of rarotonga. I have l never seen so many fish in my life and we were even lucky enough to catch a glimpse of two giant rays.

We loved the laid back atmosphere here. If you want really high class 5 star service you probably want to look at places like the pacific resort down the road. If you want a good quality, quiet but reasonably priced base for a relaxing week - yet within spitting distance of somewhere to get a cocktail then this is for you. Don't forget to bring a torch so you can go for a walk on the beach at night and see the massive amounts of crabs that come out to play.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I did a lot of research on Rarotonga before choosing Muri Beach Cottages, as I had been to Rarotonga 26 years ago and wanted to stay around Muri Beach in a quiet location. The Pole House here was a slice of magic -- quiet, phenomenal views (the deck is RIGHT on the pristine lagoon) and private. I took my mattress out on the deck every night to sleep under the stars, lulled by the sounds of waves and wind. The owner Gwen is so delightful; she is welcoming and so helpful about recommendations on Rarotonga (having lived on the island for over 40 years). She knows exactly how to make you feel personally welcome and attended to, without being intrusive. I felt like it was my "home away from home." I felt Rarotonga hadn't changed much at all in the last 25 years -- more hotels and restaurants, but the Kia Orana spirit is alive and strong, especially at Muri Beach Cottages! Thank you, Gwen.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed in one of the two cottages here, which was a spacious room with cooling high ceilings, fan, glass fronted sliding doors, large covered terrace to watch the view protected from the tropical sun/rain, a good sized kitchen area with 2 ring gas hob and equipment so you can actually cook and nice ensuite bathroom. There are pretty rocks and greenery leading to the narrow beach. The beach here isn't the best but the view of the lagoon and small islands is sublime. It's 2 mins by scooter to a great beach and snorkelling in front of fruits of Rarotonga cafe. You do need a scooter or car to make the most of your stay as this isn't a hotel and you are left to your own devices. We bought fresh fish from ocean fresh in Avarua and picked up fruit and veg from small roadside stalls. There are restaurants and internet places on muri beach which you can walk to. We recommend pacific divers on muri beach if you want to see under the water. Great place to stay for beautiful cottage and peace and quiet rather than a hotel experience.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheAdventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

This is our 2nd visit staying with Gwen at Muri Beach Cottages. A slice of paradise close to the beach and not to far away from the 1st cocktails.... The cottages are clean and well appointed with great views across the lagoon. Always feel that we have come home when we stay here.. We give it a 10/10...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wfvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Enjoyed my stay there. Gwen the landlady was really hospitable and helpful. The location is excellent (the quiet - Southern - end of Muri) with the lagoon and the motu right beyong the palm trees of the property. It is next door to Te Manava Resort, for those wishing to google the exact location.

My suggestions: Scooters are practical and fun. Snorkelling opposite "Fruits of Rarotonga". Mosquito repellents. Reading/viewing material for the days of tropical rains.

My personal opinion is that Rarotonga was not really au pas with other competing destinations in the Pacific like Bora Bora or The Yassawas, but nonetheless it is not a bad destination if you are looking for a Pacific tropical atmosphere and a warm lagoon to swim and paddle in followed by an early night in.

Safe travels to all,
Mahmoud

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anonimo_egiziano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We had such a wonderful time at Muri Beach Cottages for the 9 nights that we stayed on the island! We stayed in the Pole House and loved the view and the quaint accommodations. This cottage is small, but is perfect for the honeymooners! The location is wonderful; we rented scooters and went to town many times and actually went all over the island! Being so close to Fruits of Rarotonga was nice as we love snorkelling. The weather wasn't the best when we were there, terribly windy on our deck for the first 5 days, but after that, it was so nice to sit on the deck and enjoy the sunsets with a glass of wine. It was also wonderful to experience every sunrise! Gwen was a wealth of information and very pleasant. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baby_nurse02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muri
0.7 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rumours Luxury Villas and Spa
5.1 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Little Polynesian Resort
Little Polynesian Resort
#1 of 2 in Titikaveka
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muri Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muri Beach Cottages

Property: Muri Beach Cottages
Address: PO Box 184, Muri, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Muri
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Muri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer no TV, just stars above, beaches to comb, waves to observe, books to read, geckos to name (and not feed), gardens to relax in and sunrises to admire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Muri Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muri Beach Cottages Hotel Muri
Muri Beach Cottages Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing