We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Las Penitas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bigfoot Beach Hostel
Ranked #7 of 10 Las Penitas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Incredible vibe, great staff, awesome mojitos and lots of fun! the place is amazing for hanging out and drink a lil bit, you can also surf if you want and hang out by the pool! totally recomended, I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raoni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Me and a few friends came here for a weekend break, and are so glad we did. The accommodation was really reasonable, and although we paid for a dorm room ($6 each) we ended up being given a private room. The place is absolutely beautiful, when you walk out to the terrace there is a lovely pool surrounded with hammocks and comfy seating, directly connected to a wonderful beach. It was the perfect spot to sup mojitos, swim under the sunset or play a few games of volleyball.

The food and drink were a little expensive, but the expected price for this kind of touristy spot. And everything we tried was delicious! (Smoothies, fish burger, pancakes with fruit salad, mojitos.....) Shout out to Nick Porter who entertained us all day Sunday with his jokes as we chilled out by the pool.

Volcano boarding Saturday morning was a highlight and Missy was a brilliant tour guide. It was a little scary for me, but the hike up there was short and sweet, and the experience of standing at the top of a volcano in the strong wind is exhilarating. Also we got groovy tops to show off that we did indeed do Volcano Boarding with Bigfoot! Best advertising idea...On the shuttle back to the hostel we enjoyed cold beers and cookies, and got another fab Mojito on arrival at Bigfoot.

The one aspect of the Beach House that was a little disappointing is how the shuttle that brings all the crowd from Bigfoot in Leon leaves at 7pm. So basically, come seven o clock the place empties out!! I don't know why people don't just stay at the beach house, because it really is paradise. I would far rather be swimming in the ocean or supping cocktails in the pool under the stars at 1am than in a dingy club in Leon! That's just me though.

All in all, great spot, cool staff, paradise, but don't stay there if you're looking for a party hostel. That said, we had loads of fun with our small group.

Thanks Bigfoot!

Room Tip: They don't have bunk beds, so even if you stay in the dorm you get a relatively comfy single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aineruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed there with a big group, the staff were very nice and helpful, always there for us. The pool is amazing, you can see the beach and the waves from it. There is some decent surf right in front of the property. The mojitos are excellent. The board rentals were of good quality. Thanks to all the team. We will be back. The only thing would be the portion size of the food that could be improved a bit. But overall we were very satisfied with our stay at the beach house.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seabasssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The setting and the pool were fine but the staff was not very friendly and I was quite dissapointed of the unwelcoming atmosphere there. Had made me wait all day long for nothing. I would rather go to a local hotel than to this expensive snobbish tourist place

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I had a great time visiting the Beach House! The drinks were cheap, the waves were great, the pool was crystal-clear and the staff was friendly as well. Had I more time, I would have stayed a night, but I wasn't able to. I took the shuttle from Bigfoot (Leon), which was like 1$ there and back. If you're in the area, visit this hostel!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bilo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Bigfoot Beach House, Las Penitas, Leon, Nicaragua is an amazing tranquil place where you can relax, surf, enjoy great food, drinks and lots of fun, I visited last year and now "YOGA" I'm definitely going back this April. See you soon Guys!

Room Tip: For couples and family they offer private rooms and there are dorms at reasonable prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The dorm rooms were only $6 a night at a good location with good facilities. Only ate here a couple of times as there is a local restaurant 2min down the road which is $2-3 for a really good meal - 1lb of fish/chicken/steak with rice plantains and a salad.

Hardly anyone stayed at the beach house while we were there sometimes we were the only two staying in the evening so some nights were a boring. Gets busy and loud in the day as people come on the 12 and 3pm shuttles from bigfoot - leon,which would be good but then everyone leaves on at 7 and you sort of feel like you missed the party. Feels like it's a bit lost between a party hostel and a chilled out spot.

Surf was a bit hit and miss while we were there, had one day when it was a couple feet overhead and really fun but most the time it was 2ft and quite mushy.

Best thing about the place was Junior who worked on the bar - who was an all round legend and made the stay more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Dorms are cheap and further away from the music when you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Penitas
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Hotel Suyapa Beach
#12 of 15 in Leon
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lazy Turtle
The Lazy Turtle
#3 of 10 in Las Penitas
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Belga Loco
El Belga Loco
#1 of 10 in Las Penitas
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Cardhu Del Mar
El Cardhu Del Mar
#2 of 10 in Las Penitas
89 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostal Barca de Oro
Hostal Barca de Oro
#5 of 10 in Las Penitas
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nayal Lodge
Nayal Lodge
#1 of 13 in Las Penitas
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfoot Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfoot Beach Hostel

Address: Main Road | Leon, Nicaragua, Las Penitas 21000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Las Penitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Las Penitas
Price Range: £6 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 30 minutes from Leon, desolate black sand beaches and surf await in Las Penitas. Pool, bar, restaurant, surfing, kayaking, paddleboarding and more! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing