We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish”
Review of Hotel Am See

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Am See
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed one night for business trip with ALPLA. Functional and modern hotel and room, very comfortable too. Breakfast of high quality. Check you know where the light switches are before going to sleep, they are cunningly disguised buttons even on the unit in the bathroom! Had great evening meal in adjacent gasthaus.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabtreeandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Am See
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

A very nice new and modern hotel. It is not directly on the lake as suggested by the name, but close enough to earn the name. I loved my room with it's impressive glassed in bathroom, modern lighting and very comfortable bed. the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent, everything i could have imagined, including Weisswurst und Leberkaese, and more. I will definitely stay at this hotel next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

There are only two negative things one can say about this hotel, so let's get those over and done with. The position is not entirely "am See" - the lake is virtually out of sight - but the situation is quiet and convenient (with easy access to walks in the lakeside area and a Kneipp-bath in the stream flowing through the grounds). And the bathroom, in its desire to be modern and integrated, lacks privacy and, however hard one tries, the shower floods the adjacent floor.

That said, the whole place exudes friendliness and excellence. The reception is friendly and helpful (the receptionist accompanied us to our room and ensured we knew how the lighting etc worked). The rooms are well appointed - light and fairly spacious (excellent workspace for a computer, free and efficient Wifi, though two armchairs rather than a sofa would have made watching TV easier). The bed was extremely comfortable and the other amenities in the room impressive (clever storage space, iPad charger in safe, etc).

The breakfast buffet was generous and the staff attentive. The food had clearly been freshly prepared, and was topped up regularly. There was plenty of choice, hot, cold, sweet, savoury. On the two (weekend) mornings we were there, many tables were occupied by non-residents who were obviously attracted by the copious buffet. The hotel does not serve dinner, but refers guests to the excellent Gasthof Käth'r next door, with which it has links (one can sign for one's meals there and have them put on the hotel bill).

We travelled using a Bocco card, so the hotel was excellent value for money, but even at full price it would have merited consideration. We travelled by public transport - the hotel is only a short walk from the bus stop connecting with the trains in Bregenz or Lustenau.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have a lake "view" and are probably quieter (though noise is not a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HectorFromBerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

In a town of so many quaint, old structures, the Hotel am See appears to be a bit out of place as it is a bronze cube only a short 5 minute walk from the lake. Nevertheless, it is a modern building that is very well appointed, clean and quiet. The staff is exceedingly helpful and courteous, and the abundant buffet breakfast was more than I could have wished for. This is a hotel that I would definitely recommend to my friends and coworkers. It will be my only choice for future visits to this area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed for only one weekend night. Appears to be a new hotel - rooms have all the basic. Breakfast was great and plentiful.
Service was good (especially at the breakfast) except that we had the experience with one staff member at the reception who guided us into the wrong direction for public bus - in the end we took our car to go to Bregenz (which was the better choice anyway as the bus does not run frequently)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlTramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed there on business purposes for 1 night.

The hotel and the rooms are very modern and stylish. The bathroom / toilet via glass walls visually integrated into the room, from the shower you have view outside over the balcony.

Service very good. The lady at the reception remembered my name during my stay, and accompanied me the whole way to my room twice, once when i arrived and second, when i asked for wellnes bathrobe and carried two bags....

Breakfast buffet style, everything you are used to in typical good business hotels, warm & cold.

Wellness area was nice and clean: Sauna, Steamroom, infraredcabin and a small gym.. lots of towels available

Only a bit dissapointing: When booking a hotel with the name "Hotel am See", i expect beeing located directly on the lake with nice view on the water.. This was not the case, i had view on another house and at two buildings that were just built. The hotel is close to the lake but not directly...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michischramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mezzoferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hard
3.7 mi away
SENTIDO Seehotel am Kaiserstrand
2.6 mi away
Mercure Bregenz City
Mercure Bregenz City
#2 of 16 in Bregenz
610 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Schwarzler
Hotel Schwarzler
#3 of 16 in Bregenz
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 36 in Lindau
355 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Germania
Hotel Germania
#1 of 16 in Bregenz
265 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sternen Hotel
Sternen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolfurt
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am See

Address: Uferstrasse 1, Hard 6971, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Hard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hard
Price Range: £153 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am See 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing