We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steaks good, service poor”

donegans steak house
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Batehaven
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 150 metres south of Corrigans Cove hotel. Great friendly and quick service with great good meals and they know what a SHANDY is! Overlooking the park / beach it was a great place to relax with my girl after checking in at Corrigans Cove.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Steaks good, service poor”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just alright, presentation of food was poor, steaks arrived with one solitary potato and as a veg the horrible celery was put on the plate with 3 pieces of large carrot. Salad served separate on side plate between two, dressing absolutely tasteless. Kids chicken nuggets from the freezer. Lady serving didn't strike up any conversation and it wasn't that she was busy there was no one in the place except ourselves. No good feel factor about meal or service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelaFlanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    45
    19
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were recommended Donegan's steakhouse by the Receptionist at the accommodation where we were staying. Also, after reading all the positive Tripadvisor reviews, we were quite excited to try it out.This steakhouse is located at the front of the Araluen Motor Lodge in Batehaven.Two of our party ordered the scotch fillet with pepper sauce and another ordered the 500g t-bone. They requested the steaks to be cooked medium and they emphasised to the waitress "i.e. pink but no blood". The fourth member of our party ordered the barramundi. Our meals arrived very quickly but the steaks were very rare and running blood all over the plates. It was obvious that they had not been cooked enough and not rested long enough. The vegetables and the fish were very overcooked. We felt that we would have been better off eating at a pub as the meal was quite expensive. The service was not very friendly, the atmosphere was very bland and the whole experience was very underwhelming. I am not sure if we just happened to visit on an "off night" but we will certainly not return. I cannot recommend this steakhouse.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Had exactly what I wanted for dinner”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

When you are in batemans bay and you feel like a well cooked, tasty, unpretentious steak, this place has it. We both had steak, my scotch was melt in your mouth and his t-bone would have made Fred flintstone drool. We started with the oysters- Nova Scotia style and they were yummy. Perfect on a chilly winter night. The drinks list is surprisingly extensive and the desserts are all made in house. Yes the Veges are well cooked but we ordered a side order if chips and they were delish. Great service even though it was a busy long weekend. We will definitely bring visitors here.

Helpful?
Thank kelllips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful beef in Bally Batemans Bay”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My partner and I have eaten here 4 times including 2 Xmas parties, the oyster dishes are delicious and are highly recommended. The steak is to be suggested for the main meal and our steaks were cooked to perfection each time. All meals come with a side of friendly Irish banter. In summer the outside dining area is a great place to sit with ocean views. We have always found the service to be excellent and the beer and wine list is extensive. Just a few minutes drive from the town centre, if you are staying in the area it is worth the drive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swizzler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why the awards???”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Read all the reviews online and decided we would give it a go for our 1st wedding anniversary dinner.
A number of awards are placed prominently around the restaurant but for the life of me I find it hard to understand.
Service was quick and efficient without being friendly, meals came out at a good rate, but after that things went downhill quickly.
My wife's steak was very overcooked and the vegetables on both our meals were...slop!!! They had been cooked until they were nothing more than mush.
My wife and I have both had far superior meals in pubs for a fraction of the price. $82.50 for garlic bread, two mains and two drinks is ridiculous for this standard of meal.
Sorry but will not return!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoffy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed donegans steak house also viewed

Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
Batemans Bay, Eurobodalla
 
Batehaven, Batemans Bay
 

Been to donegans steak house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing