We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Private, peaceful, beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Lighthouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ellerslie, Prince Edward Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cdn1960
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Private, peaceful, beautiful”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Two couples shared an extraordinarily lovely week at the lighthouse. We had ample room in this older but very comfortable accommodation. The view of the channel and distant sand hills was beautiful, but a cautionary note, the ocean proper was a good distance off, so if you prefer a wide open view and crashing waves, you won't get that here. We loved sitting at the water's edge. The surroundings were so pretty, and the quiet and serenity was relaxing and peaceful. We so enjoyed watching the herons and other seabirds go about their daily activities. High tide or low, walking the beach was also a favourite past time. The crows will be your alarm clock if you have the windows open, which is a good thing if you want to see the spectacular sunrise. Star gazing was absolutely stunning. The location was convenient to exploring the North Cape and Central areas. Points East was certainly doable, but a bit of a haul to get back (about 2.5 hours from East Point). There are a couple of good restaurants close by, but do your groceries on the way in so you can enjoy the perfect surroundings right away. Book early: there were only a couple of weeks left in August when I booked in December.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the surroundings
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerfball9...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Perfect house, perfect weather, perfect food. What else to want from a week away from home?

We were here for a week, two families together totalling 9 persons. We enjoyed the sea view, kayaking in the shallow waters and pushing further to the sand bar for a cool ocean swim. Waking to the sunset every morning, watching the tide rise while herons fly and dive...Ah! We never wanted to leave again. Bring your beach shoes!

We went clam digging and mussels hunting with mitigated success, but got to taste our own catch, and we had s'mores around the fire pit at night a few times.

We loved the huge dining table, the many sofas and the lighthouse; our daughters slept there the whole week!

As previous visitors stated, the closest decent grocery store is a 30-40 minutes drive, so plan to do a few drives to get what you need. That was the only negative we found, but having to feed nine requires some sacrifices.

You have to get fresh seafood in your visit, although you have to cook it outside: this is no worry, as Ken, the owner of this fantastic location, provides a giant cooking pot and an outdoor cooker so you can have lobsters, mussels, clams or whatever else.

Almost everything you need is here, so don't worry.

We thank Ken for allowing this house to shared and wish to one day return for two weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beachfront, the view, the sea!
Liked least: The fact that the house is about 30 minutes from any decent grocery store.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3kidsinac...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Memorable family vacation for adventure loving kids”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
5
people found this review helpful

Our week at the lighthouse is certain to become a favourite family vacation memory.
Despite cool weather, we had an amazing holiday! The spacious retreat had enough room that our family of five could spread out but still had cozy gathering spaces where we could have family time together when desired. (In fact, this property would handle two families effortlessly, with many beds, multiple dining tables and lots of couches to curl up on.)
Most of all, the private and scenic beach was the perfect spot for exploring, clam digging and oyster hunting. Our kids (9, 14,16) enjoyed kayaking out to the breathtaking beaches of the islands just past the sandbar. We loved the magical changes of the shoreline as the tides turned and especially watching the oysters and mussels being harvested by fisherman right in front of the cottage.
This is not a Disney vacation; The seclusion might not be for everyone and it is definitely not a sandy Caribbean beach experience. But it is certainly an authentic holiday in the sea-side tradition, well worth the rental fee if you have curious kids with the spirit of adventure. I know that mine will never forget their lighthouse in PEI.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C E
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb experience at private PEI beach oasis”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
6
people found this review helpful

We have travelled to beaches all around the United States and have found this property to be top in its class for a private beachfront getaway. It is hard to beat the feeling of opulence that you get when you explore the miles of beaches connected to the property. We felt like the uber-rich who own their own private islands.
The owners at Hardy’s Channel were extremely friendly and helpful. We were wowed by the lighthouse which has been integrated into the home design. The house is very large and easily accommodated our party of 8 people. The house has every amenity of home and impressed us with the friendly natural light and amazing ocean views.

Tips to maximize the enjoyment of your stay:
1) Buy groceries - This property has everything you need to enjoy the comforts of home. Stock up on some groceries because you won’t want to waste time leaving the property in the middle of the day.
2) Spend a night sleeping in the lighthouse, because really, how often will you get that chance?
3) Take the time to explore the sand dunes at the property. They were our favourite outdoor activity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sand dunes beside the property are amazing
Liked least: Having to leave the property after our booking was over
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing