We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain Howey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Ship Hotel(New Romney)
US$119
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seabrook House(Hythe)(Great Value!)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
24
29
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
29
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrh drstayed for one nightfamily mealthe pubbreakfast was excellentbromleyrailwaydymchurchtakeawaylock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2012

As others have commented checking in in the bar can be a bit disconcerting when its packed with locals. I got the oh god what have I done feeling....

but that is REALLY unfair.

The owners and staff are very friendly, the rooms are very clean and there is a very decent breakfast.

Food is your typical pub grub. There is no pretentiousness and trying to pretend it is something it isn't which makes a nice change. Do the basics well, something I appreciate.

Shower pressure is a bit weak and there is minimal parking but the side road is very quiet and frankly it wasn't an issue.

Ok it doesn't lavish you with luxuries but it gives you a very good value break and for what I was charged no complaints at all. If I was in the area again I'd use it again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed for one night with friends whilst we sampled two of the local golf courses. Very welcoming staff / owners, rooms spotless and a good size with very comfortable beds - good food in the restaurant in the evening and cooked breakfast in the morning. Only (very minor) problem would be lack of water pressure in showers, particularly in the rooms on the top floor. We would definitely go back again and hopefully play better golf next time!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Had a 3 night break and found the hotel really good value. The room was exceptionally clean and well furnished and very comfortable.
Very nice, friendly staff,and atmosphere is plesantly relaxed.
Great breakfasts, and very good meals can be purchased in the Restaurant in the evening.
Can't fault it really. Would highly recommend for anyone looking for accomodation in the area

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just a one night midweek break. This is not an olde worlde inn in a pretty location, but a Victorian pub/hotel in a suburban setting on the fringe of New Romney. But none the worse for that. Our double room was very clean and a decent size; and, although the room looked out on to a fairly busy road, the double glazing meant that we were not disturbed by traffic. Dinner was decent pub fare, and both it and the breakfast were piping hot. As others have commented, this is a local with some quite piratical looking regulars, but that was no problem at all. All the staff were friendly and helpful. They seem to show a lot of televised football, but the bar is separate from the restaurant and we were scarcely aware of Man Utd v Fulham going on while we were eating, or at least we wouldn't have been if I hadn't been trying to keep track of the score. The bar itself was pleasant, with some sofas etc. from which you can view the footie in comfort. This place was fine for a break, and if you like trains as well as football, it is the place for you, being right opposite New Romney station on the narrow-gauge railway.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Stayed for one night whilst in the area for a family wedding. The barman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The double room was a good size and very clean and comfortable. The en-suite was an okay size and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly. Just a few little niggles we had were 1. No full length mirror in the room which meant my husband had to take a photo of me so I could check I looked ok! 2. The milk in the room for the tea making facilities was off and lastly it was a little intimidating having to exit through the bar with the locals staring at you. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel- great value for money, spotlessly clean and friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Specsappeal1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews