We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Bed & Breakfast Pub with rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Howey Hotel

Captain Howey Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Romney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Captain Howey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Romney
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great Bed & Breakfast Pub with rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed for 1 night recently, so I could take a course driving a steam train, the staff are very warm & friendly, particularly the owner & his wife, the food served,was although typical "pub food" was always very hot & plentiful. Breakfast choices also of a very good standard.

Only downside (on our visit) the room was cold, & although Radiator was hot did not warm the room up sufficiently & the bathroom was also cold ( heated towel rail might help.)
The rooms were clean & tidy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpyexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
18
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

I agree with all comments made. Very friendly staff, warm and welcoming place with a lovely breakfast.

It's one of the very few places we have found that have an ideal two bedroom layout (rooms 2 and 3) behind one central outer door. Our plan was obviously to have kids in one room and us in the other. However, the thing that stopped me giving this 5* was that our plan was foiled when we were told there was no key for the outer door but that we should lock the individual bedroom doors. This resulted in us having to split up and one of us sleep with either child (not part of the plan!). I understand that staff need to get to the laundry room (in between the two rooms) but to be provided with a lockable door during the night would solve any concerns parents might have.

ONe other, minor thing (our error). Trains for the Dymchurch railway Santa Specials do NOT start in New Romney! They start at Hythe at the other end of the line. We missed our slot as a result!! Regardless, we'll be back.

Room Tip: If you want interconnecting rooms, rooms 2 and 3 are a great option. Make sure you ring ahead and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_cornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I reall can't say enough good things about the hotel. John and Chrissy were awesome, the food was awesome, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean and tidy and the location was near perfect for my requirements. It's situated on a main(ish) road but not too busy and the traffic is normally quite slow due to a traffic camera on one side and a school further up on the other. You will have to go and see for yourself and when you do you'll not only leave feeling relaxed and refreshed but will almost definitely leave with some good friends and and a desire to go back over and over again. Excellent stay, thanks John and Chrissy!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraM1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

7C3A8C

Stayed at this hotel twice now - the rooms are clean and looked after - with tea and coffee making in the room - and they give you a bottle of water and a glass on the bedside table. (its the little things)

Breakfast is excellent - and the staff fall over backwards for you at all times.

The bar is always pretty packed in the evenings as its a local pub - but it doesn't disturb you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelledh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed one night in a single on top floor.I was aware of the booking in via the bar area and it is not a comfortable experience however smart it may be. A residents entrance would be much better. My room was on top floor and small with a sloping roof but pleasant enough. The shower room was not good. The ceiling sloped two ways so I (6') had to duck my head to go through the door and apart from having shower it was impossible to do anything standing upright.The water pressure from the shower was feeble too.
The road junction outside was quite noisy through the night but if I closed the window the room was too hot and stuffy. The bed was comfy though.
I really wanted to like the hotel but a few niggles at breakfast (guessing what is available among others),really made me feel it was not as good as hoped. On the whole a clean and smart building but too much pub not enough hotel. At £50 for the night I did not think it good value.

Room Tip: Room 9 was small but OK though it overlooked a busy road junction.Shower room was wholly inadequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cantilupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

As others have commented checking in in the bar can be a bit disconcerting when its packed with locals. I got the oh god what have I done feeling....

but that is REALLY unfair.

The owners and staff are very friendly, the rooms are very clean and there is a very decent breakfast.

Food is your typical pub grub. There is no pretentiousness and trying to pretend it is something it isn't which makes a nice change. Do the basics well, something I appreciate.

Shower pressure is a bit weak and there is minimal parking but the side road is very quiet and frankly it wasn't an issue.

Ok it doesn't lavish you with luxuries but it gives you a very good value break and for what I was charged no complaints at all. If I was in the area again I'd use it again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed for one night with friends whilst we sampled two of the local golf courses. Very welcoming staff / owners, rooms spotless and a good size with very comfortable beds - good food in the restaurant in the evening and cooked breakfast in the morning. Only (very minor) problem would be lack of water pressure in showers, particularly in the rooms on the top floor. We would definitely go back again and hopefully play better golf next time!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveJ21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Romney
0.5 mi away
The Ship Hotel
The Ship Hotel
#2 of 2 in New Romney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
8.0 mi away
Stade Court Hotel
Stade Court Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hythe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romney Bay House Hotel
Romney Bay House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Littlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Seabrook House
Seabrook House
#3 of 3 in Hythe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hythe Imperial
Hythe Imperial
#2 of 3 in Hythe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
9.8 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#5 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Howey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Howey Hotel

Property: Captain Howey Hotel
Address: 1 Littlestone Road, New Romney TN28 8LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > New Romney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in New Romney
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Captain Howey Hotel New Romney, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing