We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of Last Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Karamea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Last Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karamea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Karamea is a bit out of the way near the most northern part of the West Coast on the South Island of NZ. It is in fact the last town (village) and effectively at a dead end in the road network which requires around a 3 hour round trip from Westport. Well worth the trip if for nothing else to spend a day in the Oparara Basin.

The Last Resort is well located and offers a restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as a bar. Food is Ok and reasonably priced.

Our hosts, Tanya and Ed, had only recently taken over the ownership of the Resort and went out of their way to assist whenever required.

Accommodation is clean, rooms large and reasonably well fitted out. Not big city chic but all the necessary amenities are there. Bathroom was a bit cold but we were there in winter after all!

Spend a bit of time to walk around the 2 wetlands walks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funnelweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Had to travel to Karame last weekend to take my fayther to a funeral.
We calledinto The Last Resort for lunch (along with about 20 other funeral attendees).
Had a light lunch which was reasonably priced and good value but it was a cold day and raining and there was no heating in the restaurant. It was freezing and everyone had to leave their coats and scarves on. I asked one of the staff would it be possible to get a heater but ws told they were too busy to sort out. A shame as I have been there before and the fire was going and very effective.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phila987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Our previous accommodation had been disappointing, so on arrival at The Last Resort (we had not booked) we asked to view a room before accepting it. We were given a two bedroomed chalets for not much more cost than a studio.
The main bedroom was a little smaill but as there was only the two of us, we could put our bags etc in the second bedroom. It had a patio area where we could sit outside. Also the windows were mirrored so the rooms were very private. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. We stayed 3 nights, and intended eating elsewhere on the 3rd night, but the previous 2 meals had been delicious, so we ate there again the 3rd night, the meal delicious again. You can get rolls, muffins etc from the Resort if you are doing some walks/tramping in the area, which we found very handy. Also as there is a decent kitchen you can save by cooking your own meals, we cooked ourselves breakfast each morning, rolls from the cafe for our tramps, and yummy dinners at the restaurant. We really enjoyed both the Last Resort, and Karamea, and hope to return for more wonderful walks in this hidden treasure of NZ.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jaleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

the grounds are lovely and are a relatively quick/easy drive from the oparara and moria gate arches (i highly recommend the oparara arch walk).
if your gas tank is not full, you can get gas at the nearby gas station before you head up the arches or back down the coast.
TIP: be sure to leave plenty of time (at least 24 hours) for the staff to respond if your primary mode of communication is email (emailing is likely for international travelers since the last resort's 800 number is for NZ only).

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdc2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We had intended on staying only one night during Easter 2013. However we stayed for two as there is plenty to do and see. We selecting a simple studio unit that was a request from my better half Violet and this room was okay for cleanliness and comfort but no mirror, not anywhere. The staff while not rude are in urgent need of some simple training in hospitality and the restaurant menu left me cold, so except for breakfast we ate elsewhere. Breakfast, well if you like stale bread for you toast then you may find something nice to say and so on our second morning we had breakfast elsewhere.
The price we paid for our two nights and one breakfast ($225.00) was well if you compared the same thing in another like place, exorbitant. Remember this is a simple unit we stayed in, except for the shower and toilet, no facilities and the room was tired looking with the toilet/shower floor beginning to peal away from the walls.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Very pleasant accommodation. We stayed in the budget rooms - but they were really like lovely wee hotel rooms - just without the bathroom. The shared bathroom facilities are very handy anyway. Extremely friendly and helpful staff (as you would expect on the west coast). Dinning was quite good - although did lack a bit of atmosphere to be honest. Food was good - and nice to have a these facilities on site. A great base to explore the incredibly scenic top of the west coast. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubybayNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our studio was clean and tidy with plenty of room. Bathroom and shower was large but no mirror in bathroom. A very quiet place to stay. We had drinks in the bar after a meal elsewhere and the staff were friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eraserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karamea
0.8 mi away
Karamea River Motels
Karamea River Motels
#1 of 3 in Karamea
39 reviews
21.9 mi away
Seddonville Hotel
Seddonville Hotel
#1 of 1 in Seddonville
10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Karamea Holiday Park
Karamea Holiday Park
#2 of 6 in Karamea
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Karamea Farm Baches
Karamea Farm Baches
#5 of 6 in Karamea
21 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karamea Village Hotel
Karamea Village Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karamea
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Last Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Last Resort

Address: 71 Waverley Street | PO Box 42, Karamea, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Karamea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karamea
Hotel Class:3 star — Last Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Resort was hand built by entrepreneurial locals and first opened for business in 1992. The complex offers a range of accommodation options, restaurant and bar facilities. Make this "very special place" your base when exploring Karamea, the Oparara Basin, the Kahurangi National Park and the Heaphy and Whangapeka Tracks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing