We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and in need of TLC”
Review of Last Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Karamea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Last Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karamea
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
249 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Tired and in need of TLC”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Firstly, the positives. The Hotel is in a great location and is priced in the middle of the options in Karamea. The staff are friendly, polite, helpful and positive. It has a games area, a comfortable lounge for relaxation, TV, reading material and games. The bar is well stocked with a good selection of local New Zealand wines. The restaurant has a very good, competitively-priced menu and the food was great!. The cooked breakfast was definitely the best cooked breakfast I have been served in many years, anywhere in the world - a breakfast in Dublin being the benchmark and this was as good. A nice big shower with lots of hot water and good pressure and flow. There is a spa for which a modest fee is charged but there are cleanliness aspects that need attention. The spa area was being used as a storeroom. Not a good idea! See what follows.
Now the negatives. Our room was poorly lit and tired. Dead flies around the windows and door, a double bed with a bedside lamp on only one side of the bed, a "roll-together" mattress that was long past its "best by" date, the bed linen had been made up the wrong way round (the longest past of the sheet had been put across the bed), no shade on the light suspended from the ceiling, cracked and split linoleum in the bathroom which trapped water from the shower, mould starting to appear in the tile sealant at the bottom of the shower, unfilled holes in the wall in the bathroom and chips out of the paint, no shelf on which to place a toilet bag (we used the toilet lid), no power-point near a mirror (women use hair-driers didn't they know?) two chairs outside on the deck that were dirty and cobwebbed, and (oh dear, oh dear) a china pot by the front door partly filled with wet, soggy, smelly ,disgusting, puke-engendering cigarette butts!
If you want to stay here, inspect the room first and ensure that the cleanliness aspects have been attended to.
If the cleanliness and maintenance aspects had been attended to this hotel would have received our whole-hearted recommendation. In the meantime ....

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WingerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    69
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
29
84
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. Initial impressions were great as the foyer and main reception are great and have obviously been well looked after and maintained. Staff very friendly and helpful and the resturant excelent (try the reef & beef....fantastic!!).

However.....the room we were allocated was tired and in desperate need of a coat of paint, fly screens on the windows, new beds and some repairs made to the dining table (very wobbly) and the dining chairs (one of the seats fell off the frame when we sat on it???!!!).
The owner appeared to be working hard towards tiding up the place (some gardening work in progress) but the spa did not appear to be in use (filled with furniture) and the games room/cafe was empty apart from some random gym equipement on the floor. A bit of TLC could massively improve the place but the overall apparence of the resort is tired and dated.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazjoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Karamea is at the end of the road on the West Coast's main highway -- very remote -- but a fabulous destination for hikers and families, and we're so glad we made the trip out there. We had a great two nights at the Last Resort. The lounge and dining area are really lovely in a casual way, with high quality food and friendly service. We had a two-room apartment-style cabin which was serviceable and clean, but the style is a bit odd (hacienda architecture?) and the decor very simple. It was comfortable and had everything we needed. For details, recommendations and photos of Karamea, please see our blog post http://away-together.com/2010/01/14/the-wild-wild-west-coast/

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelyear001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

I stayed here with a mate of mine after we had finished walking the Heaphy Track. We were offered a choice of rooms, the main thing we wanted was a hot shower after the rigours of four days on the Heaphy and very sore feet!
Food in the restaurant was excellent, and very convivial staff in the bar.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doublenaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I totally loved Karamea and this place just made it even better. Helpful owner, good in-house restaurant: they also do laundry, recommend walks for you to do.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amswifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

One of our first hotel stays during our amazing time on the South Island of NZ. Karamea is off the beaten track, but a very worthwhile experience indeed. There is a massive untouched beach there and you can watch the sun set and be on your own for hours. The Last Resort ... the hotel is magnificent and we were very impressed with the incredible service. It was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the hotel to go on the remaining 3 wks of our hols! Definitely one of the highlights of our time in NZ. David and the management team were superb and the hotel has plenty of facilities ... the spa was fab; 200+ mile on a motorcycle with pillion and full luggage panniers through amazing country takes its toll! We stayed in the studio rooms and they were superb. The food was OUTSTANDING! You gotta go for the Ribs starter ... Amazing, fantastic portions and great prices too. Breakfast is a lovely chocie too. We paid $110 per night for our room which we thought excellent value. There were 2 double beds so it was easy to just sprawl out
Overall I would say this is probably one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in on holiday ... service, friendly staff, modern rooms, peace and tranquility, food and drink ... you could not ask for more. Perhaps not the most convenient of places to get too, but trust me it is worth it ... it ain't called the last resort for nothing but you will most definitely be glad you made the trip to Karamea. IF you are going to the South Island, very much should be on your list and a stay at the L.R. will just show you what life can be like in NZ. A++++

  • Liked — Very modern, great rooms, great service, great food, location, peace, fab staff
  • Disliked — LEAVING the place
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank arpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karamea
0.9 mi away
Karamea River Motels
Karamea River Motels
#2 of 3 in Karamea
37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Karamea Farm Baches
Karamea Farm Baches
#5 of 6 in Karamea
19 reviews
21.9 mi away
Seddonville Hotel
Seddonville Hotel
#1 of 1 in Seddonville
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rongo Backpackers
Rongo Backpackers
#1 of 6 in Karamea
51 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Last Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Last Resort

Property: Last Resort
Address: 71 Waverley Street | PO Box 42, Karamea, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Karamea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karamea
Hotel Class:3 star — Last Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Resort was hand built by entrepreneurial locals and first opened for business in 1992. The complex offers a range of accommodation options, restaurant and bar facilities. Make this "very special place" your base when exploring Karamea, the Oparara Basin, the Kahurangi National Park and the Heaphy and Whangapeka Tracks. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing