We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality”

Beachfront Farmstay B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karamea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beachfront Farmstay B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 Karamea B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Located off the beaten track in Karamea, NZ, Russell and Diane Anderson heaped friendly , family hospitality upon us on their 700 cow dairy farm. The well appointed and tastefully furnished room supplied with a King sized bed had the best mattress ever. Our room although attached to the large airy farmhouse, was private, It had its own lovely porch overlooking large hedges of flowers lining the drive to our private entrance. Across from this was a small pasture with the sea beyond. Diane, an excellent cook, presented us with gourmet breakfasts that looked as beautiful as they tasted. Russell was a genial and knowledgeable host who found time in his ongoing busy life as an active farmer to sit and chat. We were welcomed into their home and sat around their huge dining table and easily talked with them, their friends, and family. His family has been in Karamea over 100 years. They both have a commitment to farming, the land and their community. We would stay there again. The area is remote, rugged, beautiful ,and well worth the drive in from Westport. Thanks Russell and Diane for the gracious hospitality. They are extremely nice people. Paul and Susan Wagenhofer currently of Wellington, NZ

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfox227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Dianne and Russell are so friendly and go out of their way to welcome you so it's impossible not to wish you had booked for 'one more night' here. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and private and the hospitality is second to none. Dianne's cooking is the best in New Zealand, not good for the diet but great for the weary traveller who wants a few home comforts at the end of a long trip! I can't recommend these guys highly enough, go and stay with them and tell you friends!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms so you get a real personal stay. Either are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Diane and Russel were wonderful hosts. First of all, Diane's baking is amazing. The breakfast big and hearty with touches of homemade goodies too. We also had the dinner and she brought out sparkling wine for a guest's birthday. The room was ample and ours had a big tub and shower + mini fridge. Wonderful New Zealand made toiletries were put out for guest use. The area is quiet and the sound of the sea comforting. It felt so comfortable all around.
The lounge was nice too with a fire roaring and a cup of tea with Diane's biscuits.
Free wifi was also nice to have!
I highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnViola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Dianne & Russell Anderson made us welcomed into their home from the start. They are friendly and easy to talk to and made our stay much more enjoyable. We are vegetarians but that did not faze Dianne, she made us varied and tasty breakfasts and evening meals. My only complaint about her cooking is it was so good we ate too much and put on weight. The accommodation was excellent and the surrounding countryside dramatic. The long wide beaches have thousands of trees washed up on them and wild seas crashing on to them in foamy white surf. The Kohaihai River with its walks is only a few minutes drive away. Watch out for the sandflies.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossAndLuther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karamea hotels
0.0 mi away
Karamea River Motels
Karamea River Motels
#2 of 3 in Karamea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Karamea Farm Baches
Karamea Farm Baches
#5 of 6 in Karamea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rongo Backpackers
Rongo Backpackers
#1 of 6 in Karamea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfront Farmstay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfront Farmstay B&B

Property: Beachfront Farmstay B&B
Address: 3578 Karamea Highway, Karamea 7893, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Karamea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Karamea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Karamea Beachfront Farmstay B&B, a place where everything you could want in a seaside retreat is available after your journey to the rugged West Coast. Whether arriving by foot, bike or motor, owners Dianne and Russell Anderson provide a genuine West Coast welcome that will make you feel like you are home again.With rooms available year round, fresh homegrown food, a working dairy farm, BBQ/bonfire on the beach (only 2mins away), or a fishing experience with Russell and his Kentiki torpedo, Beachfront Farmstay offers something for everyone. Come and take in all the fishing, hiking, biking and relaxing you can handle. A birdwatchers paradise, pukeko, grey & paradise ducks, swallows, harrier hawks and the occasional visit from a white heron on the pond. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing