We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a really nice place,, unless youre in a wheel chair”
Review of Parley Manor

Parley Manor
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Parley
Type: Other
Attraction details
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“its a really nice place,, unless youre in a wheel chair”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

i was at a wedding what a lovely day her very special day. my wife is in a wheelchair its her best friend next to me, its not a special chair just slightly wider than some with a leg rest, the nightmare started when she parked, (NOT there) its says wedding on the gate and then its park over there (in the car park) WRONG, first off a load of deep stones any stones try pushing a wheelchair over that! so she had to get out and walk through the gate down the step the gate is its barely wide enough for the chair and then it goes down hill from there, theres a step and when you get over that theres a ruts either side of the path just deep enough to get all the wheels stuck in so you either need several people to lift the chair and occupant out of the ruts so she got out 3 or 4 steps back in, then its across the grass to the next gate, Ah the next gate its getting narrower the gate it open towards you down the step, its a squeeze and the paths get narrower the chair falls in even deeper ruts both sides theres no help, so i had to get the wife out of the her chair yet again, believe me it hurts her every time she get in and out, got the chair out the 4" deep ruts you know where the flower border meets the grass, back in the chair then we're off to the wedding tent. cool cant get there they've got slabs and the wheels get stuck in the gap around the slabs very nearly tipped her out OOPS had to get her out of the chair yet a gain and than its a carpet relief at last. Ah then there was the trip to the marquee for the sit down meal back the way we came and the all that entailed. and the entrance to the tent a big threshold 2 inch high out she got still no help. the caterers were quite helpful where they could, we'll leave you to sort the table as you need it. its very difficult when your leg has no muscles and wont bend and is stuck out in front of you and every touch hurts A LOT. the loo was very clean and tidy just getting there was a experience to be missed No step as such just a small steep ramp about a foot wide oh and then a small step down... you can never have enough steps and ruts when you have a wheelchair, and all this bearing in mind my wife rang the management and explained in detail and they said it was fairly disabled friendly. HUM.... !! my advise is if you can walk its a perfect setting. but if you have or confined to a wheelchair think about it. take help it seems to me that all be it disabled friendly in places the management has never tried to move them self's in a wheelchair where you're not able to walk or walking is so difficult even with crutches.. Oh and can't park on the grass ...! cant park there, DON'T park there ..... thank you for a lovely day

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bernhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zara P, Manager at Parley Manor, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear you had a stressful experience at Parley Manor. We have taken the above points on board and will be making changes to the venue before our next wedding season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    2
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Day”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We got married there yesterday and all we can say is thankyou to Gwen and the staff. It really is a beautiful venue and we are so glad we chose it. Everyone of our guests told us it was the best wedding they had been to, with comments about how stunning the gardens and marquee's were but also how good the food and service were. We really cant fault it in any single way and if you are thinking of getting married there, then you will have the time of your life. The forecast was of rain but it was sunny, so even that was fixed for us too!! Highly recommend!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharpym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A perfect Wedding”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

What a fantastic venue!... Our daughter was married at Parley Manor this week and we could not have been happier with everything... The venue is beautiful, the organisation was faultless, the food absolutely delicious and the staff were wonderful... The whole day went without a hitch, very well coordinated by the organisers, who did a fantastic job in a very professional but friendly way... There was nothing that could have been better... Our guests were very impressed with the beautiful gardens and all agreed that it was a perfect wedding!... The bride and groom had a very special day, made more memorable by the attention to detail... I would happily recommend Parley Manor to anyone ... Congratulations to the whole team for providing such an outstanding service, especially Gwen and Lawney... Thanks a million!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank alirichhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I attended a wedding at this wonderful venue a couple of days ago. It was a perfect day, apart from the weather! A truly beautiful setting. The service from the staff was excellent. Very efficient and unobtrusive. The catering event manager (Laura) did a first class job along with the rest of the staff. The gardens are just fantastic. The venue is not just ideal for weddings. It would be perfect for any kind of celebration. It is right next to the airport but even the noise of planes taking off seemed to add something to it all, in a humourous way! A lady who was doing a reading at the service had to wait until a 737 had taken off before she could be heard, which raised a few laughs! I cannot recommend Parley Manor enough. You won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RedCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quality Venue”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Excellent service and surroundings. A quality experience. Great food in beautiful surroundings. Gwen really makes the day.

Helpful?
Thank Ferndun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parley Manor also viewed

 

Been to Parley Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing