We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Doxford Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chathill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doxford Cottages
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a party of 16 (adults and children) and hired the coach house and also doxford house.
Upon arrival we received a warm welcome from sue and had the chance to look around both cottages before the rest of our party arrived. Wine, flowers and honey in each cottage along with fresh milk were a lovely touch.
My husband and I chose a lovely bedroom in the coach house with en suite shower room. Everything was immaculately clean, and every room well furnished with quality furniture and fabrics.
We loved the fact there were books to read, magazines to flick through and candles for lovely evening ambience. Our favourite time at doxford was one afternoon after a breezy walk in sea houses. We returned, lit the log burner and the candles, opened a bottle of Merlot and relaxed on the huge sofa watching a DVD. Perfect!
I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone, and we've already booked for next year!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank C76ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We were a party of five adults and we stayed in the Carriage House. From the moment we walked through the door we felt at home. We were greeted with flowers, honey, milk and wine, which were most welcomed. The standard of accommodation is five star. The kitchen is very well equipped. The property is spacious and five us felt very comfortable in the accommodation. The lounge overlooks the garden where there are bird feeders and squirrel feeders where we could watch the birds and red squirrels feeding. We were fortunate to have good weather most of the week, so the log burner was only used once, not that we needed it as the accommodation is warm, but it added a cosy feel to a wet evening.
The accommodation is ideally located for sightseeing. We had lots of lovely days out from Doxford ... Holy Island, Farne Islands (with good sightings of Puffins), Alnwick Gardens & Castle, Housesteads Fort and Hadrian's Wall, Cragside, Northumberlandia (Cramlington), Druridge Bay Country Park and Nature Reserve and Craster ...
We do plan to return to the Cottages when back in the area. We thoroughly recommend the Doxford Cottages.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KymH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week in March 2014 and the cottage offered sheer relaxation and luxury. The whole site is well maintained which created a very good first impression, then the cottage (Shellrig) itself was gorgeous and cosy with all the amenities you could require - comfy furniture, wi-fi, oodles of kitchen equipment, wood-burning stove, books, TV, DVDs, radio, toiletries etc. Importantly, the whole place was spotlessly clean too. The kitchens are all south facing and there is an outdoor table and chairs for use in warmer weather. It was lovely to sit and observe the red squirrels and birds whilst eating breakfast!
The location is about 2 miles off the A1 and 4 miles inland from the coast so in a good spot for exploring Northumberland. As for nearby attractions I would recommend Preston Tower which offers a fascinating glimpse into history, and Low Newton beach along with the Ship Inn at the corner of the cottages there.
I can wholeheartedly recommend Doxford Cottages for a peaceful break in Northumberland, and would suggest booking well in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizyorks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Booked a 4 night stay at Coach House, reviews were great and the place certainly lived up to it. Accommodation clean and well maintained, good view of local wildlife including red squirrels, deer, hares and of course suicidal game birds. Highly recommended for a peaceful stay and it is quite easy for access to local attractions. Having stayed at a number of locations in the area it is now top of our list of places to stay.

Room Tip: If you can book a cottage to suit the size of your party as they are very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The title says it all really, I've been coming here with my wife and various friends and family members for about 5 years now and have rented almost all of the cottages. Every one of them is decorated and equipped to a very high standard, making a stay here at any time of year a brilliant experience. Peace and quiet abounds here in this lovely rural setting, walking around the lake in the grounds or on the fantastic Northumberland beaches is just a great way to get away from it all, and then you have wonderful accommodation to come back to.

A perfect oasis of well equipped comfort and calm. I love it here and can highly recommend these cottages as a base for exploring Northumbria.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank johnpears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Having rented cottages for almost 30 years we've had some experiences!
Out of all the cottages I've stayed in only 3 stand out and would merit a return visit- and Doxford is one of them.

It was clean- really clean. Some owners skimp on this and there is nothing worse than finding evidence of previous occupants.

The furnishings and kitchen equipment are of a high standard with no skimping on quality.

Liked the full and controllable central heating and unlimited hot water- so essential up north when it's chilly.

There was everything we needed- it's maddening if on holiday you have to shop for dishwasher tablets if the owners have rationed their supply as we've found in some places.

Unlimited logs were welcome though we were careful not to be greedy and use too many.

The actual site is so peaceful and it's great that the owners have thought to remind guests to park away from the cottages and not allow children to play around the patios. Thoughtful touches so everyone has a relaxing time. We were a little wary of being terraced in case of noise from the adjoining cottages. We did hear a radio now and then from next door but otherwise nothing.

Loved watching the swans on the lake.

Sue and John are helpful but unobtrusive- be nice to know who the actual owners are though and a bit about how the cottages were converted ( and when) from the original farm buildings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Rented cottage here for a week during which son got married at Doxford Hall Hotel next door - very handy! Cottage was probably the highest standard we have ever stayed in, and we've stayed in a lot. Spotlessly clean and everything we wanted was provided. Very peaceful and quiet too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank CAG M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
0.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,204 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2.9 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
372 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Ellingham
181 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Joiners Arms
The Joiners Arms
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Cottages

Property: Doxford Cottages
Address: Doxford Estate, Chathill NE67 5DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chathill
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chathill
Hotel Class:5 star — Doxford Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury cottages on a 2500 acre estate near the coast in Northumberland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doxford Cottages Chathill, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing