We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay with kids”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chathill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doxford Farm Cottages
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We just spend a week in the Northside Cottage and had a wonderful time.

The cottage is well equipped and travelling with kids, we especially loved having the private garden (and the kids loved the horses and sheep). The location is beautiful (what a great walk through the fields) for different daytrips.

The cottages have everything you need. would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Norhside Cottage with the private garden was the perfect choice for us.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCircusHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Doxford Farm Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013

We recently stayed for a few days in one of the cottages. We were made very welcome by Sarah and the family. In the past we have had difficulty finding places to take our two dogs but this is perfect for dogs with plenty of farm walks and lovely dog friendly beaches close by. Alnwick is only 10 minutes away and the castle and gardens are well worth a visit. It was great to stay on a working farm where we could look round and we met the new arrival - a lovely friendly little foal. It was so peaceful and the view of the stars on a clear night was amazing with no street lights to spoil the darkness. We wished we could have stayed for longer and will definitely be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartiepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We've just returned from a 3 day stay and I cannot recommend Doxford Farm cottages highly enough! We stayed at Northside Cottage, along with two friends and had our choice of three lovely rooms - both picking bedrooms with beautiful views across the fields. Northside cottage has a private, sunny garden, with a picnic table where we ate most days - taking full advantage of the large fire pit BBQ and views across the sheep paddock. Sarah was an incredible host, bringing extra towels, firewood and even wine for us!! The cottage was clean and well equipped, with plenty of hot water, comfy beds and silky soft sheets. Remember to pack some pond coins for the electricity meter - which added a nice retro feel to the property!
The grounds are beautiful - and although we're from Northumberland ourselves - the location didn't fail to impress. We were at a friends wedding at Doxford Hall on the saturday - an enjoyable 20min walk from the cottage!! We brought our bikes with us and cycled to Craster (for crab soup at the Jolly Fisherman) and then up the coast past Dunstanburgh Castle, Low Newton and onto Beadnall bay - stunning scenery but not for the faint hearted!
I would recommend Northside cottage to groups of friends and those with younger families and hope to come back for a longer stay when we can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at Doxford Farm Cottages for a week and had a lovely time. There was so much to see, lovely walks, a newborn foal, puppies, lambs and a very friendly sheepdog that my little girl fell in love with! So much so that she didn't want to leave. There is also a great games room with sky tv that my children regularly took advantage of. The courtyard behind the cottages was lovely for al fresco breakfast and 2 excellent barbecues that we also used. The cottages were very well equipped and comfortable with very comfortable beds. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArClur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just returned from a wonderful break at Doxford Farm Cottages. We were a large family group. The children - 6 and 12 years - had a memorable time watching lambs, puppies and the new foal. We spent idyllic hours wandering round the lake. There is loads to do in the area, we especially liked Alnwick Gardens but were enchanted by the beaches. We did have excellent weather which probably helped. Cottages are family friendly- not posh but well equipped. We will be going again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Intrepid_Old_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We booked a late deal at Doxford Farm Cottages in May half term, staying in Haggy Hills Cottage (2 bed). The owner Sarah was extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating throughout the booking process and during our stay which was Weds - Sat.

There were 6 of us in total, family of four with 2 boys aged 4 & &7 and the grandparents. The cottage was very cosy, clean and comfortable (beds were very comfy) and was plenty big enough to accommodate the 6 of us. The kitchen was really modern and well equipped and there ample BBQ's provided which we took advantage of one night during our stay.

The grounds of the farm are stunning & the boys loved exploring - especially around the lake area. There was also a lovely play barn with table tennis, pool table & Sky TV which we used a lot. The Farmer & staff were really friendly and were happy to show us the animals on the farm & took the kids to hold the 3 week old puppies which they really enjoyed.

The surrounding area around the farm is great - there's loads to do. We spent a day at Alnwick Castle & gardens which was a really good day out. A short drive away there are loads of lovely beaches, as well as Hadrians Wall & the cities of Newcastle & Edinburgh are within easy reach.

In summary a fantastic break, on a lovely farm - would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandman302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed ( four generations of our family) in Jack Halls cottage. Sarah met us and was very helpful making us feel very welcome. The cottage was perfect it felt lived in and the bedrooms were very pretty and 'cottagey'.there was a bathroom downstairs and an en-suite with shower upstairs. This was perfect for us.
We loved lighting the log fire ( even when we didn't really need to!). When we ran out of logs they were delivered very quickly after a phone call.
The position of the cottages is idyllic down a long farm road away from the main road. The children were free to roam the farm and play safely. During our stay they saw baby lambs, pups and even a new born foal.
The cottage is only 10 mins from Alnwick where there big supermarkets, and the beach is almost as near in the other direction.
We have stayed in many cottages but this beats them all.
We will be back !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
0.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
15.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
3.2 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
138 reviews
5.3 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Farm Cottages

Address: Doxford Farm | Alnwick, Chathill NE67 5DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chathill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chathill
Price Range: £200 - £625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once used to house the farm labourers that worked the land, Doxford Farm Cottages is comprised of eight cottages. Just 200 yards from the barn venue itself, it's the perfect location for your wedding guests. The cottages are tastefully renovated and are made up of a mixture of 3, 2 and 1 bedroom cottages, all in a stone built terrace row. The cottages have comfy sitting rooms with wood burning stoves, fully equipped kitchens (one with Aga) as well as tastefully appointed bathrooms. In total, all 8 cottages can sleep up to 43 people. To maintain exclusive use of the farm, we ask that the accommodation is booked with the venue. As well as the main 8 cottages, we have the Farmhouse Annexe, which is accessible from behind the farmhouse. We also have the West Cottage, which is just a 15 minute walk from the main venue. There is no wifi at the West Cottage, so you get an authentically relaxing break - perfect for short holidays, but is also available to be booked for wedding guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doxford Farm Cottages Chathill, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing