We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Doxford Hall”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chathill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Doxford Farm Cottages
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent stay on a very well maintained site.
We met one of the co-owners along with her parrot on our visit, we were staying to attend a wedding along the road at Doxford Hall and she kindly offered to give us a lift there to save walking or driving on the day, a very personal touch we believe.
My wife and I will most certainly be returning to take in more of the areas beautiful scenery and places of interest.
Gail and Dave, Bishop Auckland, Co. Durham.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank infectiphibian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doxfordfarmcottages, Manager at Doxford Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you Gail and Dave for your lovely review!.....I spoke to Ted the parrot this morning and he said it was lovely to meet you! We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future! Many Thanks, Richard Shell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Doxford Farm Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked Doxford Farm Cottages as a last minute get-away and stayed at Northside. The cottage was just great and exceeded our expectations providing everything that you could require. The cottages are in a superb location for exploring the amazing coastline and when on one day I had to have the car for the day, my husband, children and dog had a great day walking the local footpaths that surround the farm estate. We were blessed with wonderful weather during our week however even so, these cottages make a great and comfortable base for any break in Northumberland whatever the weather and I would recommend without reservation.

The Daltons

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank thedalton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doxfordfarmcottages, Manager at Doxford Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you 'The Dalton Family' for your great review. I am so pleased we exceeded your expectations; we look forward to your return. Many Thanks, Richard Shell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My daughter chose Doxford Farm Cottages to get married. From start to finish the owners Sarah and Tom and there son Riche could not have been more helpful. The cottages were comfortable and had everything we needed. We were allowed to take our dogs which was important to several people staying at the farm. The courtyard situated behind the cottages was a great place to sit and have breakfast and talk to our friends. The wedding itself could not have been better. We have pictures from the lawn outside Sarah and Toms beautiful house where the more formal part of the day took place. Then there were canopies on the lawn in front of the stone built barn the other side of that in a pretty courtyard the tables were set for the meal and dancing continued well into the early hours. Great fun was had by all.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nichole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doxfordfarmcottages, Manager at Doxford Farm Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to have you all at Doxford for Matt and Sarah's wedding! We hope to see you all soon, from all of us at Doxford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I just had our wedding at Doxford Farm Cottages and we had a great time. Sarah, Tom and Rich could not have been more helpful and made sure we had the perfect day even with changeable weather. The place has a such a relaxed feel about it and all of our friends said they felt very at home. The party went on into the early hours and we rounded off the weekend with BBQ bacon butties in the large courtyard behind the cottages. We love it at Doxford Farm Cottages and have previously visited the cottages just for a getaway but it just so happened to be the perfect wedding venue for us as well. We would recommend it to anyone wanting a wedding where you can have whatever you want. This is not one if those venues telling you what wine to drink and what food to eat. It's friendly, relaxed and fun! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank whitefield21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We saw Doxford Farm Cottages during an exhaustive search for the 'right' accommodation for our week away walking the fantastic Northumberland Coast and it was exactly what we were looking for. Superbly placed for beaches, countryside walks and NE tourist attractions, Doxford Farm far exceeded our expectations. Sarah, Tom and family were very welcoming and friendly hosts, who ensured our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. DF is set in 500 acres of picturesque countryside/farmland which is carefully managed to provide an excellent wildlife environment. It has five miles of wonderful walks right out of the front door! The setting is idyllic, the pace of life relaxed and we cannot wait to return.
Mike and Stella

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went looking for a cosy, remote location in which to explore the North East coast area. We stayed in 'The Flat' on the Doxford farm cottage site and got exactly what we were looking for. The accommodation was clean, very well equipped with a rustic feel (although very modern bathroom) - and it was wonderfully situated. The walks around the estate are beautifully picturesque and we drove no more than 45mins to reach all the coastal/tourist sites that we wished to visit. For us city dwelling types it was the perfect escape.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Having previously stayed elsewhere in Northumberland, where dogs were allowed and been terribly disappointed, I was apprehensive about Doxford Farm. I shouldn't have worried. The cottages at Doxford Farm (and I have now stayed in two of them) are just so cute and cosy. They are prettily furnished and the kitchens and bathrooms (about which I'm very fussy) are modern, clean and have all the facilities you could need. The location is just to die for and I would willingly do so if it could be guaranteed that I be born again into that family home! The owners are helpful, caring and willing to please. It makes a great base from which to explore the beautiful countryside and beaches. And it's a joy to return at the end of each day to curl up infront of a wood burning stove with a glass of wine. Please go, you wont be sorry.

Room Tip: explain your needs to Sarah and she will ensure you have the cottage which suits them best
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
0.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,263 reviews
15.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
527 reviews
3.2 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
137 reviews
5.3 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Farm Cottages

Address: Doxford Farm | Alnwick, Chathill NE67 5DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Chathill
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Chathill
Price Range: £200 - £625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once used to house the farm labourers that worked the land, Doxford Farm Cottages is comprised of eight cottages. Just 200 yards from the barn venue itself, it's the perfect location for your wedding guests. The cottages are tastefully renovated and are made up of a mixture of 3, 2 and 1 bedroom cottages, all in a stone built terrace row. The cottages have comfy sitting rooms with wood burning stoves, fully equipped kitchens (one with Aga) as well as tastefully appointed bathrooms. In total, all 8 cottages can sleep up to 43 people. To maintain exclusive use of the farm, we ask that the accommodation is booked with the venue. As well as the main 8 cottages, we have the Farmhouse Annexe, which is accessible from behind the farmhouse. We also have the West Cottage, which is just a 15 minute walk from the main venue. There is no wifi at the West Cottage, so you get an authentically relaxing break - perfect for short holidays, but is also available to be booked for wedding guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Doxford Farm Cottages Chathill, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing