We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Stone Bed and Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
86
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelanie and robhome made cakeson arrivalb bholy islandwonderful hostslocal knowledgeattention to detaillemon drizzle cakecupcakestea trayplaces to visitcouldn't do enoughnight stayrelaxing staybeautifully cooked breakfastcan't praise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We're Just on the drive home from Old Stone and feel like I must review this amazing BnB immediately. We have been so well looked after and it has been a real privilege to not only meet Mel and Rob but to stop within their 2 bed BnB. From the onset we were made to feel at home within the BnB, which is set within an ideal setting for exploring the Northumbrian Coast. The local knowledge shared by both Mel and Rob was brilliant and really helped us to make the best of our short break in the area. The rooms are luxurious, well presented and spotlessly clean. Mel and Rob really bend over backwards to make the stay relaxing and lovely, even baking cakes for us everyday! I would recommend this BnB 100 times over, the hosts, breakfast, cakes, area, views, rooms and the 'homely' atmosphere really makes this a perfect holiday retreat. Thanks again!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto h, Owner at Old Stone Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Old Stone Sarah and that you made the most of your trip to Northumberland! Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review...it would be lovely to see you again if ever you decide to revisit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Cannot fault this B&B. Great location with wonderful views from the dining room where you linger over the very generous and well cooked breakfast of your choice. So quiet and peaceful. Very comfortable and stylish rooms with lots of upmarket touches bathrobes, slippers, fresh coffee, fresh milk, toiletries and the lovely surprise of fresh homemade cake or flapjack and chocolate by the bed at the end of a long, but very enjoyable day's sightseeing. Short distance from lots of places of interest. As well as the usual Alnwick and Bamburgh Castles, you should also see Chillingham Castle and Cattle. Absolutely fascinating! Melanie and Rob have thought of everything to make your stay as enjoyable and as stress-free as possible. Great hosts. All the reviews are spot on! Still places left to see, so we hope to book again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddwlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto h, Owner at Old Stone Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you Martyn & Wendy for you kind comments, we really appreciate your feedback and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This Bed and Breakfast is just great. Very nice and very clean rooms. Melanie and Rob make you feel like home. Very good breakfast in the morning. And when you come back in the afternoon or evening a homemade cake is waiting in your room. No restaurants or pubs next door, but you have to drive 10 to 15 minutes. No problem. And Melanie and Rob made a map with all kind of restaurants where you can eat.
If you are looking for a very nice and quite B&B this is it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Securifire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto h, Owner at Old Stone Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you Macel for your kind review, great to meet you and we hope you enjoyed York, Warwick and the rest of you stay in the UK.
elanie & Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

What an absolute joy it was to stay at Old Stone B&B! It is in a unbelievably tranquil location, a short drive from the main road but well enough away for you to completely forget it's there with a lovely distant view of the sea.
Melanie and Rob are bastions of customer service and fantastic hosts. They made us feel very welcome indeed. Plus their recommendations for places to eat were spot on.
The rooms are wonderful, comfortable and stylish. They have the added advantage of having their own access so we could come and go through our own door. Bathrooms were gorgeous with all the little bits you inevitably forget to bring away with you.
As we were specifically visiting Bamburgh, Lindisfarne and Alnwick it was in the perfect location but there's plenty left to visit in the area so...
We'll be visiting again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millichente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto h, Owner at Old Stone Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you Ellie for your very kind comments, it was great to meet you and Tom and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Good luck with Tourism in Barnsley. Melanie & Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This I have to shout about. We have just had a 2 night stay here with the most amazing hosts, Melanie & Rob.
Melanie's attention to detail not only in the rooms, which include every toiletry item one needs,but in the way she is passionate about making guests feel so at home with her home made cakes & cookies. extras I may add all came complimentary. Breakfasts were plentiful and well presented and if you still had room there was also a fresh fruit bowl every morning. We have stayed in 4*hotels that haven't provided the service from that at The Old Stone. A gem of a place,one we would love to return to.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilae64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roberto h, Owner at Old Stone Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you Sheila & Kenn for your wonderful review, your comments are greatly apppreciated.
Great to meet you both and hope to see you agin in the future.
Melanie & Rob.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews