We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor maintenance, smell Mold”
Review of Lakeview Resort

Lakeview Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lakeview Resort
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor maintenance, smell Mold”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Good location, nice lake view, no sandy beach site. Very polite and nice staff but cottage poorly maintained and smell Mold. No cleaning was done prior to rent. I saw long hair in the tub, shower curtain was dirty, dirty toilet paper in the corner. Couches are bit smelly too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serina05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My family & I spent two days at this resort (business & pleasure). One of the owners who was on site was very polite and welcoming. The resort was opened ahead of schedule to accomodate wedding guests & therefore he was tyding things up for the beginning of their season. They have made improvements to their sites and they plan to continue to upgrade. The location is actually quite picturesque. We were satisfied with our use of the cabin, shower worked fine, the beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: These are cabins so you do need to consider bringing additional supplies with you, ie. bedding, towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Great Value for Money.
I am writing on behalf 2 couples that visited Lakeview over the Labour Day long weekend. We went in very apprehensive after reading negative reviews by 3 groups of Sudbury Visitors in mid Aug, some of whom appeared to belong to the same party.
Our objective was to explore the island and use the accommodation as a base. So we were seeking good clean living quarters, preferably by a Lake. We got that, and much much more. I knew for the very reasonable $ we were spending we should NOT expect a fancy ‘resort’. Our renovated room had the look and feel of a rustic cabin, and came as a pleasant surprise, esp after the nasty Sudbury visitor comments. There is renovation happening on the property, no doubt, but is most certainly not causing any inconvenience to occupants of other rooms. The owner was very cooperative and responsive to our needs. I was amazed that he took time out of his busy schedule to take our party out in a ‘guided motor boat tour’ on the enchanting Lake Kagawong. On another evening, when we were strolling around Gore Bay, we were again pleasantly surprised to find him leading a convoy of cars, comprising another touring party, on a tour. Who does that nowadays?
We were first time visitors to the island and stayed only 3 nights. As planned, we did a lot of travel around the island, swimming & hiking in the Bridal Veil Falls (just 3 kms from the Resort), swimming in Providence Bay, took in a Pow Wow in the M'Chigeeng First Nation, hiked the spectacular Cup and Saucer Trail and watched a glorious sunset from the East Bluff Lookout overlooking Gore Bay. Lakeview was a cozy place to return to. By no means is a 5 star quality, but then I wasn’t paying top dollar. We got value for money, and excellent customer service. I would go again.
Our party was originally much larger. The Sudbury reviews succeeded in scaring away some of them, unfortunately, it turned out. It’s obvious that Sudbury folks had unrealistic expectations, and had NOT done their homework. I hope to counter the bad press, and encourage folks to determine their priorities, like we did, and decide in advance whether Lakeview fits the bill. If you want full service on site entertainment, and "Fancy"go elsewhere. If you are seeking decent cabin accommodation at a reasonable cost, go to Lakeview.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourizt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My family spent a week at Lakeview Resort on Manitoulin Island and were not overly pleased with the resort. I must admit that despite the problems we encountered we still had a great time and my children left with wonderful memories.
Cons: Resort was messy, old, renovation material could be seen throughout resort (piles of wood, concrete left around),motors on boat we rented did not work, dirty shower curtains and linens, broken door/screen, not able to swim due to rocks and alot of leaches on shore, floors in cabin are not nice and should be fixed.
Pros: staff were friendly and fixed what we needed immediatly, staff left us alone and we rarely saw them, cabins 4, 6, 3 &5 are lakeview and in close proximity for large families, EXCELLENT fishing, close to Kagawong Beach, general store(you can buy worms, ice cream, ice, chipstand) and other touristy stores, cabins equipped with working stove, fridge/freezer, oven, microwave, coffee maker, kettle, dishes/utensils, new bbq's,outdoor chairs, picnic tables, water was very hot and had plenty for large family, ample parking, swingset for children and area for them to play safely (set up badminton/volleyball net), firepits outside every cabin.
Cabins 4, 6, # &5 are lakeview, cabins 2, 7 &1 are roadview and need to walk down little hill to shore. Don't rent the boats - bring your own or you can rent one down the street (norms), bring cleaning supplies as cabins not that overly clean, bring own linens/pillows.
Owners needs to renovate the place asap. I don't think I would rent cottages there again however the fishing was great and family had tons of fun. Unsure who owner is - it appears a variety of people(family) own the place and take turns living at the resort. If you rent just be prepared. The place kind of grows on you - the most important thing is who you are with and time spent together as a family/friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Our family rented four of the cottages at Lakeview Resort.the week of August 11th. 2012. The cottages in general were unkept with dirty shower stalls & curtains, ants on the kitchen counter in the cabin nearest the lake, and unkept floors & ceilings that likely had not been swept for months/years (plenty of webs & spiders). The doors on all cottages require repairs to ensure they close properly. The advertised rental boats have motors that are dysfunctional & unreliable. There were also several pieces of lumber , cement & a wheelbarrow close to the cottage nearest the lake. The beach area was unkept -stones/rocks.-needs removal of rocks/debris.
These cottages & the grounds have the potential to be quite pretty if improvements were made to the overal condition of the cottages as well as ensuring the cottages are cleaned between visitors. Cottage #5, nearest the lake would benefit from newer walls, floors & ceilings. We definitely will not be returning here unless the conditions improve significantly. Also, those responsible for the cottages did not accept esponsibility for the condition of the cottages : blamed it on the "cleaning" contractors.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda155016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kagawong hotels

Sudbury, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Our family spent a wonderful week on Manitoulin Island but were very disappointed with Lakeview Resort. On the plus side, the appliances all worked, the beds were ok and there was sufficient room for us. The owner was pleasant. Instead of quaint surroundings however, as advertised, our cabin was surrounded by the products of renovations (bricks, boards, piles of wood etc.).The cabin was up on blocks and fully open underneath. There was no grass; only crusher dust outside our door. On the inside, at least 2-3 times a day; there was no water and we had to wait for it to return. The bathroom was small and the toilet was on uneven ground. The bathroom fixtures were old and rusted. There were holes in the floor boards and the windows were very old. The oven was dirty, the furniture stained and our cabin was not located on the lake. The door base was broken and bugs kept coming in. There was a nail sticking up on the floor that we had to nail down. None of the cupboards matched. We paid a lot of money for this accommodation and felt that we should have been informed that this resort was currently being renovated and charged a lesser rate.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if the renovations have been completed; also ask if your cottage is next to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kagawong
10.6 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
61 reviews
18.0 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
9.7 mi away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 3 in Gore Bay
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.1 mi away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
75 reviews
23.6 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
162 reviews
10.1 mi away
Lake Wolsey Cabins
Lake Wolsey Cabins
#2 of 3 in Gore Bay
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Resort

Property: Lakeview Resort
Address: 879 Lakeshore Rd, Kagawong, Ontario P0P 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Kagawong
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Kagawong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lakeview Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Lakeview Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing