We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sandwiches and pastries”

Main Street Cafe Kagawong
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Kagawong
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
Restaurant details
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches and pastries”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

You will be surprised as we were. We were starting a kayak trip to Clapperton Island in the North Channel after getting advice from the local outfitter who was excellent but he is not on TA. We needed fuel for our trip and we drove the length of Kagawong village to find Main Street just before we left town. Excellent sandwiches, pastries and salads. Ready to pack up and take with you in your boat. Talk about convenience. Main Street Cafe and a day on the water in the North Channel, a great combo.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a sweet place!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A cute little sandwich shop near the Bridal Veil Falls. Great pastries, butter tarts, cinnamon buns. Inventive, healthy sandwiches and salads. Great for take out, there are a couple of little patio tables if you want to eat in. Definitely stop in for lunch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annabirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Wonderfully fresh and tasty, and the hosts are super! Quick service that you can then take your time to enjoy. Light meals, sinful AND healthy alternatives. The desserts are just plain sinful! ;))

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyV155016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Loved the food. A great alternative to the local fry shack. Sandwiches and Salads made to perfection. Will definitely be back...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A group of nine stopped in Kagawong to look at the gorgeous Bridal Veil Falls and we found a treasure. Across the street we found the Main St. Cafe. A small cafe oowned and run by a young Island couple, we found the food freshly made and sooo tasty. The decor was clean and country style. Definitely worth a stop when touring the Island.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GAToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Main Street Cafe Kagawong also viewed

Gore Bay, Manitoulin Island
Providence Bay, Manitoulin Island
 
Kagawong, Manitoulin Island
Manitoulin Island, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Main Street Cafe Kagawong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing