We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night at Mpelleiko”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 10 Stemnitsa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Before we arrived at this guesthouse, Nena was very communicative, making sure the room was set up for us. We originally had a reservation for two nights, but due to my miscalculation of driving times, we were only there for one night. Nena was very understanding and did not charge us for the night we missed, which we really appreciated and did not expect!

There were technology issues in the region during the time of our stay, but ultimately Alex met us in the town square and we followed him up to the house. The town is so small that he was sitting right next to us in a cafe and we didn't know it was him!

The room was well appointed. The common room was also an additional space to spend time and all rooms have access to this. Alex offered us refreshments upon arrival.

The best part was breakfast where we sat with two other couples and enjoyed Nena's delicious homemade bread, jams, honey, butter, omelette, and yogurt (I think that's all I ate) as well as coffee. It was the best breakfast of our three week trip and it was nice talking to Nena and the other travelers.

A side note, I had left my necklace in a previous hotel and Nena helped us by calling the hotel. She also gave us recommendations of places to stop on our way to our next destination.

We would stay here again and would recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting this area!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hereishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Nena, the owner, is absolutely lovely and cooked us wonderful breakfasts. She also gave us lots of help with things to see and do. The room was very good. Because of the thick walls, the internet didn't work in our room, but the breakfast room was always available and we had no problems using it there. The only small problem we had was that we had no advance warning that payment can only be done in cash

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_plus_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The host Nena, a former teacher of physics, decided to change her life and to turn her parents house into a b&b. What a luck for all her guests! This place is as great as everybody writes on TripAdvisor. Yes, the homemade breakfast is outstanding. Yes, the rooms are cozy. Yes, Nena grew up here and gives great advice for your trips. If you want to stay in idyllic Arcadia, the Mpelleiko is a perfect choice! Meet Nena in the centre of Stemnitsa. She will show you the way to the house. It is quite difficult to find the first time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank fabian_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our stay was for 4 nights over Easter, and it was wonderful. We loved everything - our room, the superb breakfasts with local specialities - home-made - which were delicious, the fabulous outlook from the house over the village and beyond, our generous hostess Nena, the simpatico fellow-guests, and even the steep climb down to and back up from the rest of the village. Nena's hospitality seems to be legendary - deservedly so, and even extended to coming down to the village to guide us to the house when we first arrived. Her suggestions for walks are based on her own deep knowledge of the area and we surprised ourselves with how well we managed them. We believe we were re-invigorated simply by being at Mpelleiko in Stemnitsa. This is such a special place we didn't want to leave and are yearning to return. P.S. Easter in Stemnitsa was in itself a wonderful experience, culminating for us in the main square at midnight on Saturday night as the minutes ticked over into Easter Sunday: the priest and worshippers emerged from the church to light our candles, an effigy of Judas Iscariot was lit, then we set off "home" trying to keep the flame of our candles from going out on the way, and on reaching Mpelleiko making the sign of the cross above the front door. To be a part of this traditional celebration of Easter was very memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quintrowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is what in the USA would be called a B&B. It's an older 2-story house located on a hill above the mountain village of Stemnitsa. The service was excellent and very personal. The breakfast was not a typical hotel breakfast, but home cooked food made with fresh local ingredients and home-baked bread. We only stayed one night, but I would definitely go back if I wanted to spend more time around Stemnitsa.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBDoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

In a very ancient house, beautifully restored, with a wonderful view. This place has an history. The nature around is worth seeing (mountains, forests, rivers, ...) and we would have liked to stay longer... In this beautyful house, we had a large room with a small balcony and a yard. Quiet and peaceful. Our hostess was very helpful, warm and nice. She prepares one of the best breakfasts we had in Greece, homemade, natural (homemade bread and jams, cakes, local specialités...). It makes a real difference to stay in a loved place owned by a very nice person. Highly recommended for a peaceful stay, to enjoy the nature as well as good company.

Room Tip: Every room is different. Ours was quite large (enough for 3) with a welcome yard and the sun in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParisVoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a very special place to stay, after a pretty exciting drive up the mountains to get there. Nena provides the most fantastic level of customer service. Her recommendation for a walk to the St John the Baptist monastery was the best - a unique and invigorating experience. The taverna she recommended also provided a terrific meal. It was very amusing for us to have the standard half litre of red wine delivered in an anodised aluminium jug, with vegemite glasses to drink it with - still tasted quite ok!

Room Tip: We had the Donkey room. The only issue was that the breakfast room floor above was squeaky. But onc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iangharris188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nena G, Owner at Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017
Google Translation

Ευχαριστούμε για την κριτική σας

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stemnitsa
14.9 mi away
Villa Vager
Villa Vager
#1 of 3 in Levidi
328 reviews
13.2 mi away
Nefeles Luxury Residences and Lounge
16.8 mi away
Palatino Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Elaion
Elaion
#2 of 2 in Elliniko
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsarbou Guesthouse
Tsarbou Guesthouse
#2 of 10 in Stemnitsa
54 reviews
3.6 mi away
En Dimitsani
En Dimitsani
#1 of 18 in Dimitsana
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse

Address: Stemnitsa, Stemnitsa 22024, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Arkadia Region > Stemnitsa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Stemnitsa
Price Range: £64 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional houses in the area of Stemnitsa, Mpelleiko as well, have got two floors, the ground floor called katoi and the first floor called anoi. On the ground floor there are two rooms, the principal room, to kyrios katoi, and the room of the donkey, to katoi tou gaidarou, which resulted from an extension of the building in the beginning of the 18th century. On the first floor there is the drawing room, i sala, the winter room, to himoniatiko, the chamber, i kamari , and the summer room, o ontas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mpelleiko Tradional Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing