We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rare contemporary luxury at the top of a mountain pass”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Pourtalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Pourtalet
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Laruns
Certificate of Excellence
Spa, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rare contemporary luxury at the top of a mountain pass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Living just past three hours from the Pyrenees, we are constantly looking for new hotels at various locations close to starting points of good mountain hikes. I can assure you that finding this type of contemporary luxury in the area is very rare. And the location... wow. The view from the valley is wonderful (actually many tourists stop before the mountain pass, at the cabane d'Araille), the one from the hotel is fantastic (and the place is surprisingly less crowded), but take the effort to walk a little (or a lot) more up behind the hotel, and you'll find amazing views, and amazing flowers -- beauty on every scale. Just go as far as you can and don't be afraid you'll never get lost, the road is always in sight. Now, being hikers, food was an important criteria for us, and again we found exactly what we needed: healthy, plenty, excellent, and with carefully selected local products.

I will definitely go back again, especially in the winter: the place is one of the best spots for easy ski touring, and the spa has mountain view too. Just beware about the snow conditions in winter. The last two years it snowed a lot in the Pyrenees. I usually take my info on whether the "col du Pourtalet" or other mountain passes are open on the following website: http://www.pyrenees-pireneus.com/Stations-Ski/Acces-route/Stations_ski_infos-cols-des-Pyrenees.php

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Val998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived late afternoon after a long journey to be welcomed by the friendly owner of this family run hotel.. Our room was modern, clean and bright with lovely views. We ate in the hotel that evening with starter of puff pastry asparagus and fois gras, followed by duck confit in a soup of vegetables and beans which was really tasty and most enjoyable, cheese course and wine sponge light and delicious for dessert. A really lovely meal. Breakfast was good and plentiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would like to return again. We would certainly recommend this hotel. There is a little village a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRBUKLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is an amazing hotel in a surreal location. It still feels like a dream. I will definitely go back and stay there if I have a chance.

Our family of 3 stayed in Hotel du Pourtalet at the beginning of June 2014. That was the beginning of the season, and the road condition in France was not yet stable. Most of the restaurants on the Spain side have not opened. We were the only guests in the hotel and stayed in the family room, which is really a suite, on the top floor. The rooms are spacious and extremely clean. The beds were very comfortable. The kids room even had a toy horse, which was fun.

We ate at the hotel for both breakfast and dinner because there were no other options (restaurants not opened yet for the season). The breakfast was good with excellent croissant, bread, local cheese and meat selections, jams, egg, juice and coffee. For dinner, you eat what the kitchen cooks, which in my opinion, is the best way to sample local cuisine. We had two dinners there, and the menu were different. First night was chicken, and second night was fish, which was really excellent. We had a long day of hiking in the Pyrenees. After coming back, we were welcomed by the hotel jacuzzi, with a beautiful view of the mountain. The girl at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. She provided us with spa shoes, bathrobes and prepared hot tea for us at the spa. After a long day of alpine hiking, what could be more desirable than a bowl of hot local vegetable soup (the local specialty), as an appetizer followed by fish and vegetables?! It was a perfect day, made extremely comfortable by the hotel staff!

The view outside the hotel is beyond description, and there were many hiking trails starting from the parking areas near the hotel. I would absolutely go back to explore the area again in the future.

The only minor negative is that the shower pressure on the top floor was not very stable. Water came out in pulses. It was not a big problem for us because we actually took the shower in the spa area down below. But when the hotel is full, people on the top floor may encounter this problem. Hope they can fix it soon.

Overall this is an excellent hotel (upper 3 star) in an amazing location. The hotel has excellent amenity and very friendly and helpful staff. They speak excellent English. Highly highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel-world-mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavite City, Philippines
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the "Hotel du Pourtalet" with my wife, my brother and my mother. We thus booked 3 rooms. All rooms in the hotel have a special name, with a short story on the origin of the name. The hotel belongs to the same family since 1933! And of course all has changed since the renovation.
My wife and I were lucky enough to have the panoramic room, named Tant'Aimée, in memory of the aunty who managed the hotel over decades and in remembrance of the local soup, called garbure, specialty of the region and of the hotel.

The view is amazing.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable.
The service is of quality, and both management and employees pay attention to the details to make the experience a memorable one.
The chef of the hotel, who used to work all around Europe in selected restaurants, is working with local products. And one knows that local cheeses, vegies, duck liver, and other hams, sausages, are amongst the best worldwide. So the food in this hotel is of high quality.

If you are looking for a quiet and high standards hotel, in the beautiful Pyrénées, you would certainly value a stay there. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Thierry-Philippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laruns
11.6 mi away
Hotel des Eaux-Bonnes
Hotel des Eaux-Bonnes
#1 of 3 in Eaux-Bonnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
8.2 mi away
El Privilegio de Tena
El Privilegio de Tena
#1 of 1 in Tramacastilla de Tena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.7 mi away
Fun Aragon Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
HG Alto Aragon
HG Alto Aragon
#5 of 15 in Formigal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Saliecho
Hotel Saliecho
#2 of 15 in Formigal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Richelieu
Hotel Richelieu
#2 of 3 in Eaux-Bonnes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Pourtalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pourtalet

Property: Hotel du Pourtalet
Address: Col du Pourtalet, 64440 Laruns, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Laruns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Laruns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Pourtalet 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Pourtalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing