We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
flaviobernardino
Charlotte, North Carolina

My home in Tuscany

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Jun 2016
Have you ever drove through Tuscany wondering how would be like living in one of those beautiful and old pastel collored villas? I have. Staying at Marta Guest House gave me the impression I had my own house in Tuscany at least for a couple of days...the small village of Santa Maria del Giudice is just a short drive from must see places as Pisa and Lucca. You can even use the place as your base for a day trip to Florence. But if you want to get to know other hidden gems away from the bitten path, just ask the owner, Donna Marta, a full hearted, caring, and welcoming hostess who know really well the surroundings. She will patiently explain to you how to get there and what to see in whatever language you speak...the bedrooms are not luxurious...but are clean and comfortable. Wake up in the morning with the smell of fresh brewed Italian coffee, open the window to see the mountains soroounding the village and come down to the kitchen to enjoy a delicious breakfast that Donna Marta prepares using local produce...I can't wait to go back to show the place to my wife.
Date of stay: May 2016
Room Tip: Some rooms don't have its own bathroom. If it is important for you ask during reservation
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£126
  • Expedia.com
    £138
  • Hotels.com
    £82
  • Priceline
0.3 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
0.4 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Marta Guest House
Bar/Lounge
villa del Papa
£210
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £210
  • eDreams
    £210
0.1 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £118
  • Vio.com
1.3 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £236
  • Skyscanner.com
    £198
  • Expedia.com
    £236
1.3 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
£100
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £100
1.5 miles from Marta Guest House
Free parking
£146
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    £147
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £147
1.6 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front - main entrance of the vila
£146
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £197
  • Vio.com
1.9 miles from Marta Guest House
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £146
  • ZenHotels.com
    £127
  • Priceline
2.3 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santa Maria del Giudice
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
279
28
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
279
28
7
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2016

My wife and I spent four nights in Marta's Guest House...it was fantastic. Marta is truly the best in the business...friendly, helpful, caring about the details, clean/large/luxurious room, fabulous breakfast, easy to find location, free parking and free wifi, reasonable price, excellent location. Marta herself was incredibly thoughtful about how we were going to spend our days and mapped out great ideas for us to pursue. In all of our international travels we have not found anyone as hospitable as Marta. We highly recommend staying here and hope to return someday too!

Room tip: We stayed on the first floor; would have preferred a room with a balcony if possible.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SM02421
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We had a long drive from Rome the same day as the overseas flight and as it got dark we were concerned about finding Marta. We immediately saw signs which made finding her easy and when we arrived we greeted with a smile and many helping hands. The rooms were beautiful with lots of room and high ceilings. Heat and air was good. They were very clean. You truly felt like you had spent the night and had breakfast as the guest at a gorgeous Italian Villa. Marta and her husband couldn't have been more helpful, the room was great, the breakfast generous with great coffee and homemade doughnuts, and I hope to return. As we reluctantly left, Marta highlighted a map with terrific advice on our next day's drive. Americans, don't miss this, it's GREAT!

Room tip: Downstairs room was very large, but upstairs very sufficient. The suite has a lovely balcony.
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmartin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Marta is an outstanding host. She is very knowledgeable about the area – even down to details like the best place to park – and will spend as much time as you desire to suggest things to do. The property is very well maintained, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom small, but functional. We had a room with the balcony, which had a beautiful view and provided for a great afternoon spot to relax with a glass of wine. The breakfast was excellent with quite a variety of hand-made dishes which we thoroughly enjoyed.

I highly recommend Marta’s house when visiting this part of Tuscany!

Room tip: The rooms with a balcony are great if you want to relax in the afternoon before dinner
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 264MarkS264
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2016

The facilities were beautiful and breakfast was superb. Marta was so helpful in helping us with directions and places to visit. She recommended some excellent restaurants and spent a great deal of time with us informing us about the town she lived in and the surrounding areas. She was very patient and kind.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2015

A wonderful stay. This was our first visit to Tuscany and it gave us much pleasure to find our host Marta and son Giorgio so friendly and helpful throughout our four day stay. If we had not been moving to the wedding venue we would have chosen to stay longer. When we called on Marta enroute to our flight home, we were welcomed like long lost family. Praise is often given immediately upon returning home in the afterglow of the holiday. We are writing this some months later in the cold light of day, but still remember the very warm welcome we received and truely look forward to returning soon. Highly recommended as homely B&B. Anne and John.

Room tip: book a room with balcony, and let Marta chose your evening restaurant!!
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnfox5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews