We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
frawla
Leicester, United Kingdom

Quirky, joyful and tranquil stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Oct 2019via mobile
What a whirlwind in a very positive way!

This guest house is full of joy, serenity, peace and tranquillity. The house is truly quirky and every angle has something to look at with lots of character. Martha is the soul of the place. The place comes alight with her personality and a touch of pleasant music. It felt like staying with an Aunty. She gave us a lot of recommendations for restaurants, parking and spots to visit. An exemplary host!

We had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the lovely terrace overlooking the hills, both during the day and night. See photos enclosed. We were blessed with a starry night and a beautiful moon despite a cloudy day earlier.

The room was of good size and was impeccably clean. The shower was powerful with ample hot water. The breakfast was a delight with several home made pies, cakes and herby omelettes (frittata). She called the kitchen area where the magic takes place and it truly does! We just loved our stay and wished we stayed for more nights. And we still feel like dancing in the dining room to the lovely music....what an absolute joy!

It is only 20 mins drive to Lucca or Pisa or Pisa airport, so it is excellently located to explore the area without being in a busy town.

No hesitation to recommend highly and hopefully we shall return soon. 10 stars from us!
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.3 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
0.4 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Garden
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Marta Guest House
Bar/Lounge
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £191
  • Booking.com
1.3 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • BBIT
    £92
  • Priceline
1.5 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.4 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
4.6 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.0 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
2.3 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Centro di Lucca. Cattedrale di San Martino, dettaglio.
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.4 miles from Marta Guest House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Santa Maria del Giudice
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
279
28
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
279
28
7
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2019

We stayed Marta guest house for three nights in September. It was lovely experience. Marta is so kind and helpful. Our room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The house was beautiful and huge garden is so lovely. Moreover especially the breakfast was so fantastic with homemade pastry, bread and jams everyday, best we have had in Italy.
Really want to stay again!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Minggo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2019

We have just returned from 2 nights at Villa Marta after spending 8 nights in Umbria and what a lovely time we had and what a lovely lady Marta our host, who made us feel very welcome. Lovely traditional room immaculately clean, doors out to lovely big balcony with table chairs, sun lounger. Breakfast yummy, great coffee! best we had had.
Marta was so helpful with parking info (either free or very cheap), both restaurants one local and one in Lucca which Marta recommended absolutely great. We had to leave quite early on last morning Marta provided us with an early breakfast and sandwiches to take with us. Thank you, wish we could have stayed longer hope to return and would definitely recommend.

Room tip: Room with balcony for little extra cost
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank pamsadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2019 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is located about ten minutes from Lucca. It is a beautiful, historic property and has parking and a stunning garden. The proprietor is friendly and kind and happy to help you plan your visit. She offers an incredible breakfast and makes you feel right at home. If you want to visit Lucca but stay away from the crowds, this lovely, peaceful property is a true gem!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank hinsdalemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 May 2019

We stayed there for a long weekend and had an amazing experience. Marta and her son are great hosts and the villa is beautiful. On arrival we were offered a room upgrade, for a more than reasonable price, so we could enjoy a shared balcony.

The room, tastefully decorated with a hint of mint green, is quite spacious and has a very comfortable king sized bed. There is plenty of room to put away your belongings and a lovely ceiling painting to gauge at. The bathroom is functional and there were plenty of towels. Also, the room had been cleaned when we would return at the end of the day. As expected of an older house,it can be a bit noisy but this did not bother us much.

The above is well worth the stay, but it is Marta's and Giorgio's hospitality that stayed with us the most. When we had to leave early for Florence the next morning, Marta prepared a (huge) breakfast at 7:30 just for us. She took her time to help us out with finding a good parking spot and even made us a snack for the road!

Amazingly, the regular breakfasts (8:30-10:00) are even grander with homemade jams and cakes, and good coffee. Marta would also share her knowledge of the province with her guests on a huge road map, which brought us to some amazing sites.

I would definitely recommend Marta's Guesthouse. Thank you for an amazing stay!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SimoneS2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 May 2019

We have travelled extensively in many countries and rate Marta’s at the top. The location is perfect for sightseeing in Pisa, Lucca and north up to Barga. The home is very well appointed with amazing art work on the ceilings and walls. Breakfast was delightful and filling. Marta and her son, Giorgio, we’re very helpful in recommending restaurants and parking in the cities. Marta has travelled in many countries and is comfortable speaking English. The home and gardens are immaculate and provide a peaceful respite at the end of the day.

Room tip: Each room is more than acceptable.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMECT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews