We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Graythwaite Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Graythwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway retreat!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Fantastic B and B. faultless service, food and standard of accommodation!
We stayed as a family of 8 adults and would go back in a flash. Each room has its own style and quirks.
Amanda is a fantastic host and excellent cook and goes out of her way to help with information and advice!
Many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilynewts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
74
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed for two nights over August bank holiday, and it was delightful. Amanda and David are superb hosts, making everyone feel at home from the off. Nothing appears to be too much trouble to Amanda. She is quick to offer and deliver tea and homemade cakes, or wine, beer etc.. The big bedroom we had was superb with a large double bed, crisp cotton sheets and pillows like home - complemented by the modern and stylish en-suite bathroom.

The house is a carefully and stylishly renovated large estate house. Huge log fires, capacious couches and deep arm chairs more than counteract the capricious Lake District weather. You just want to stay in and slump. (well, we did anyway).

Breakfasts are cooked to perfection with home hen's eggs and local sausage and bacon if you want. We ate in on one night and would highly recommend it. Amanda is an excellent chef and the dinners are delicious and good value.

With it's dining, magnificent gardens and topiary (maintained by the extremely hard working David...) this is a great deal more than a "B & B" - and a great deal all round. We can unreservedly recommend it and hopefully we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandBeccaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here in mid August. The house and grounds were fantastic as was the surrounding area. Our host, Amanda, was delightful and so very helpful for all our needs. Our room was large and clean and full of character. The breakfast was delicious and everything we needed and all the advice we wanted was available. The only downside was the fact that the bed was made up of two mattresses and we found it a little uncomfortable in the middle, each mattress on its own was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozmrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We wanted a short "get away from it all" trip that didnt cost the earth but was pure luxury at the same time - low graythwaite hall definitely provided this and more ... Amanda was the perfect host providing the most amazing breakfast which was clearly very fresh and helped by the fact that we saw the lovely hens in the garden - a great way to teach our 2 year old where eggs come from. It is often difficult to feel relaxed with three children but with the peaceful setting and Amanda's truely great ability to make everyone feel welcome we were so relaxed we didnt want to leave. We had tea and homemade cake in the afternoon when we arrived, and then again after a hard days cycling in the fabulous Grizedale forest park which was a very short car trip away from the b and b. The old hall was absolutely charming and decorated very tastefully enhancing the features of the great, enchanting building. Perfect, for families, was also the free use of the swimming pool a short drive away.
We will definitely return and may consider staying both in the b and b and the holiday cottage which would also suit our needs. We will also pass onto family and friends what a great place Low Graythwaite Hall is and will hopefully plan to book the full b and b for a BIG birthday thats shortly coming!!! Thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piffyandmrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glamis, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We were staying at Low Graythwaite Hall as a stop over returning from holiday in Devon to home in Scotland. On arrival, Amanda was warm and friendly and very hospitable, offering a delicious evening meal and superb breakfast. Our family room was huge with lovely bed linen and white fluffy towels. The accommodation and gardens were first class. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We arrived at Graythwaite for a special family birthday celebration and the stay far exceeded our expectations. The stunning house with beautiful gardens is very stylishly decorated in keeping with its traditional features and the bedrooms are so spacious and comfortable. We also had the pleasure of occupying the whole house! Amanda was so welcoming and a perfect host, prepared fantastic breakfasts and a superb evening celebratory meal. We were given excellent recommendations for walks in the area to suit all our ages and Amanda was so accommodating to even pick up a few exhausted children and adults by car at the tail end of a long day's lakeside walk!! The children also loved playing with Tia, Amanda's spaniel !! A truly beautiful escape for a relaxing memorable stay!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherlockk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

this is the 2nd time i have stayed at Low Graythwaite Hall , on this occasion for our wedding anniversary . We had a wonderful room and enjoyed a fantastic evening meal prepared by Amanda who couldn't be more accommodating and welcoming . It's a very special place that deserves to do well and we look forward to returning soon
thank you
Louise and Jeremy Sleith

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremySleith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graythwaite
1.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
2.4 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
502 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
968 reviews
5.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Graythwaite Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Graythwaite Hall

Property: Low Graythwaite Hall
Address: Low Graythwaite | Nr Hawkshead, Graythwaite LA12 8AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Graythwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Graythwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Graythwaite Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 15th century hall, set in its own grounds, in the centre of the lake district near Hawkshead. Also self catering holiday cottage available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Low Graythwaite Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Graythwaite Hall Hotel Graythwaite
Low Graythwaite Hall Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing