We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing break from reality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Low Graythwaite Hall Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Graythwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing break from reality”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Low Graythwaite Hall and will definitely continue to stay here. The house is beautiful and the rooms are superb. We were greeted by Amanda and David on arrival and immediately felt welcomed and we were offered tea and cakes. We spent a lot of time by sat by the roaring fire playing cards on an evening in the lounge area.

On the first night we stayed in for dinner and out of all the restaurants we visited during our stay Amanda's cooking was the best by a country mile! We highly recommend having dinner at least one night! The breakfasts were filling and we were given a lot of choice. Everyday a full cooked breakfast, fruit, yoghurt and cereal was provided.

Amanda recommended activities to do and restaurants for us to visit which were all fantastic. We cannot fault Low Graythwaite Hall in any way and we always recommend the B&B to our friends and family. We will be visiting again! THANK YOU for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually decorated so check the website for which room suits your taste. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
74
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for a relaxing break and loved every minute of it. Amanda is a warm and friendly host and a great cook so we highly recommend the evening meals she offers. Amanda is also very knowledgeable about the area and can give good tips and advice on local walks. Beer and wine drinkers won't be disappointed as Amanda has a decent selection available.The grounds and buildings are very well maintained and we had a bit of fun feeding the wild ducks on the pond too. The addition of the open fire in the lounge and the lovely oak panelling made us feel cosy and relaxed which is just what we wanted on frosty winter's evenings. We had intended to use the nearby pool and gym but as the weather was so glorious we made the most of being outdoors instead. This is somewhere we definately intend to return to anytime of the year.

Room Tip: Choose the room that suits your personality best. We were in Tethera and loved having so much space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purrdee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing 2 nights at Low Graythwaite Hall. The whole experience lived up to our expectations and more. Amanda and David made us most welcome and their hospitality was faultless. We were snowed in on the second day so spent a lovely day relaxing in front of a roaring fire. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a beautiful room-Tethera, comfy beds and a big sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boodle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool England
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed at Low Graythwaite Hall the second weekend in Jan with 6 other friends. We had such a great time and Amanda is a great host that we are going back this month with my wife's parents and sister for a few days! Enough said

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We visited Low Graythwaite Hall before Christmas and had the most relaxing night there, we felt like new people when we left. The sitting room had such a lovely feel to it with an impressive fireplace that warmed us up almost immediately when we arrived, helped by a cup of tea and piece of cake from Amanda. We have stayed in a lot of bigger hotels in the lake district which were not a patch on Low Graythwaite Hall. Amanda made us feel incredibly well looked after, including catering for my lactose intolerance at dinner. The food was excellent and fantastic value. We will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxfield7130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We rated Low Graythwaite Hall very highly indeed. In every respect, our stay met the criteria for "excellent" and Amanda was most hospitable and professional. The dinner we had was delicious, perfectly cooked and presented.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

Excellent weekend for the Dorcey wedding. Food was brilliant, staff were friendly, grounds were lovely and gardens were amazing.

Only problem was the room was a little cold but with a heater in the room this was quickly resolved.

I will be visiting back again in the spring with my dog and I will always recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graythwaite
1.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
5.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
685 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Graythwaite Hall Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Graythwaite Hall Country House

Property: Low Graythwaite Hall Country House
Address: Low Graythwaite | Nr Hawkshead, Graythwaite LA12 8AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Graythwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Graythwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Graythwaite Hall Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in 5,000 acres of Private Estate on Lake Windermere, and within close proximity of Hawkshead and Beatrix Potter's Home, Low Graythwaite Hall Country House offers free In-House Concierge Service, free WiFi access and free on-site parking. This magnificent 17th Century Country House offers a large Guest Lounge with feature open fire and a Breakfast Room with garden views. Individually decorated, each room features a modern en suite bathroom, Flat Screen TV, Toiletries and Hairdryer. In-House Concierge offers activities such as 4x4 Off Road Driving, Bike Hire, Kayak Hire, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Clay Pigeon Shooting, Archery, Guided Walks. Each morning, a traditional full Cumberland breakfast using locally farmed produce is served. For something lighter, a range of produce is available on the breakfast buffet. Vegetarians and guests with special dietary needs can be accommodated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Low Graythwaite Hall Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Graythwaite Hall Hotel Graythwaite
Low Graythwaite Hall Country House Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing