We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Low Graythwaite Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Graythwaite B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Simply perfect!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

An absolutely beautiful hotel in every way! Gorgeous, well kept property and grounds. Host, Amanda, could not have been more accommodating and helpful, recommending places to go, things to do and see and phoning restaurants to make us last min bookings. Gorgeous home cooked breakfast too. We will absolutely be back, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Book early for best rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eppie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
74
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Storth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

After we had all enjoyed the Segways on the Estate we then had lunch at Low Graythwaite Hall. It can only be described as EXCELLENT. We enjoyed every mouthful as well as the gorgeous house and warm welcome from Amanda. We live fairly locally and will definitely think about lunch at Graythwaite Hall again - and tell everyone we know!

The Bell Family

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Set in delightful and beatifully maintained grounds this old family seat offers large and tastefully furnished rooms (our huge en-suite has a lovely heated floor), a lounge with a roaring fire and proprietor Amanda, a most attentive host. We ate out on both of our two nights and wished we hadn't. The hotel offers superb food if you book early enough and has wine choices at better prices than the surrounding pubs and hotels. You can even bring your own and pay a small corkage charge.
Our host Amanda was most helpful - she supplied us with OS maps, arranged a taxi, phoned around to find a pub/restaurant that could fit us in on our second night - she couldn't do enough.
Location is perfect for all that the Lakes have to offer.
We will return here.

Room Tip: Cunsey was our room - large and a huge bathroom and two window seats allow you to look over the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ena-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We were looking for a cottage break in a secluded and rural area and Dairy cottage was perfect.We were celebrating our son's 18th birthday (who is autistic) and needed a cottage away from it all with access to a pool , perfect again . We had sole use of a nearby pool (quiet time of year) which we used every day.The cottage is equipped for all your needs and could not be faulted . Amanda runs the hall next door and lets you look after yourselves without interference but always available if needed, especially if stranded at the car ferry terminal in dense fog(that lasted for 4 days).Really enjoyed the hospitality of the pubs in Hawkshead and also days out in Bowness, which in early January was relly quiet.Would love to stay there again, if they will have us! .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Low Graythwaite Hall and will definitely continue to stay here. The house is beautiful and the rooms are superb. We were greeted by Amanda and David on arrival and immediately felt welcomed and we were offered tea and cakes. We spent a lot of time by sat by the roaring fire playing cards on an evening in the lounge area.

On the first night we stayed in for dinner and out of all the restaurants we visited during our stay Amanda's cooking was the best by a country mile! We highly recommend having dinner at least one night! The breakfasts were filling and we were given a lot of choice. Everyday a full cooked breakfast, fruit, yoghurt and cereal was provided.

Amanda recommended activities to do and restaurants for us to visit which were all fantastic. We cannot fault Low Graythwaite Hall in any way and we always recommend the B&B to our friends and family. We will be visiting again! THANK YOU for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are individually decorated so check the website for which room suits your taste. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for a relaxing break and loved every minute of it. Amanda is a warm and friendly host and a great cook so we highly recommend the evening meals she offers. Amanda is also very knowledgeable about the area and can give good tips and advice on local walks. Beer and wine drinkers won't be disappointed as Amanda has a decent selection available.The grounds and buildings are very well maintained and we had a bit of fun feeding the wild ducks on the pond too. The addition of the open fire in the lounge and the lovely oak panelling made us feel cosy and relaxed which is just what we wanted on frosty winter's evenings. We had intended to use the nearby pool and gym but as the weather was so glorious we made the most of being outdoors instead. This is somewhere we definately intend to return to anytime of the year.

Room Tip: Choose the room that suits your personality best. We were in Tethera and loved having so much space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purrdee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Just returned from a very relaxing 2 nights at Low Graythwaite Hall. The whole experience lived up to our expectations and more. Amanda and David made us most welcome and their hospitality was faultless. We were snowed in on the second day so spent a lovely day relaxing in front of a roaring fire. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a beautiful room-Tethera, comfy beds and a big sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boodle20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graythwaite
1.3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
2.4 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
501 reviews
3.3 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
968 reviews
5.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Graythwaite Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Graythwaite Hall

Property: Low Graythwaite Hall
Address: Low Graythwaite | Nr Hawkshead, Graythwaite LA12 8AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Graythwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Graythwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Graythwaite Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 15th century hall, set in its own grounds, in the centre of the lake district near Hawkshead. Also self catering holiday cottage available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Low Graythwaite Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Graythwaite Hall Hotel Graythwaite
Low Graythwaite Hall Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing